Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rhys

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2014
My husband and I stayed at Cabinas Manolo for 3 nights. Drake Bay is a very small community with few facilities and luxuries, but Cabinas Manolo was conveniently located just a short stroll from the town center, where there are a few restaurants and a grocery store available. It was also only about a 10 minute walk down to the nearest beach. A much nicer beach, Playa Cocolito is about a 45 minute walk down a beautiful trail - well worth the visit! The rooms are simple but very clean. There is no air conditioning, but we were able to sleep comfortably with the fan pointing at our bed even in the hot dry season. The food was alright but not amazing. We had better luck with the other restaurants in town. Ask for a room with a hammock because ours didn't have one. :( Power seems to be a bit unstable at this hotel (with regular surges) so if you have any sensitive electronic equipment, be careful (although this may be characteristic of Drake Bay as a whole).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loevly little spot on the way to Corcovado Park.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The location!
Cons: Circulation in the room?? Those that were in the fan's path were cold, and the rest stuffy...
Location: Corcovado park is a must do for ANYONE travelling to Costa Rica!
We arrived late and still the staff was very gracious about arranging a tour, allowing us to purchase a few bottles of water, etc. Our room was clean and the shower still had warm water despite the late hour. We arrived late because getting there takes THREE hours along the 4 wheel drive only road. While we saw an ocelot, and lots of bats, we'd recommend the boat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Once-in-a-lifetime experience - not to be repeated

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: The manager and her assistant try very hard to keep the guests happy. In fairness to them, they have only been there a month. The food is good.
Cons: How can I count the ways . . . ?
Location: A beach nearby, complete with riptide. Tour of Corcovado, expensive & only fair. Boat ride to park is rough, Captain Cocoanut thinks he's in #2 car.
I got a room with a "shared bath." Since I am one of six siblings and grew up in a house with only one bathroom, I figured I could handle it. I thought I would wait my turn, go into the toilet to relieve myself, shower, clean the teeth, etc. But NO! The toilet and shower are in separate rooms that open directly onto an open walkway that goes past the guests' rooms, and the lav is actually on the walkway. The shower doesn't have robe hooks or holders for the soap and shampoo. So what is a guest to do? Run down the open walkway naked? or hold the robe out of the shower with one hand while attempting to bathe with the other? And there is NO HOT WATER! I asked the manager to move me into a room with a private bath and a hot shower, and paid substantially more for that privilege. But the shower went out within hours after I moved into that room and could not be repaired for two days, minimum. Anyway, the room was already reserved by another guest for the next night. The manager moved me into another house ("my friend has a house with extra rooms he rents out"). It would have been bad enough, but the power went out in the evening and didn't come back on for several hours. No lights, no fan, no hot water. All in all, this was not fun and I will not repeat it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great and cheap place to stay!

Posted May 26, 2013
Cons: no view at the ocean
Very friendly atmosphere. Staff extremely nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and staff

Posted May 12, 2013
My four nights at Cabinos Manolo were very pleasant and an excellent value. The room was comfortable and functional, and the staff - especially Mauricio, Najer and Ingrid made my stay a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I like the hotel: it exceeded my expectations, so I would stay there again. One negative comment specifically about room #6, where we stayed: the room has two double outlets (usual USA standard), but these outlets are recessed and not parallel to the wall. So, any bigger plug would not fit there: we had a trouble with plugging our Chromebook, but eventually managed with help of a chair :^). But if you want to charge your batteries for your DSLR/camcorder with modern style chargers - without cord, with folding plugs - it will not be possible. Bring small adapter/plug multiplier as we did!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chrissie from Bournemouth UK

good value for money

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a nice place to stay, rooms were clean, food was good and lots of activities on offer. Wiring in the shower was a bit dodgy, and it would have been nice if the hotel had sent transport to the ferry to collect us. A long walk up hill to this hotel in 40 deg with cases is not fun. They did take us down the hill though the day we left. Lots of info given from the owners prior to our stay. this was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Al

Great service

Posted Mar 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
No hot water with the rooms with shared bathrooms and shared showers. There were clothes line to hang up wet clothes. Rooms had powerful fans which did keep me cool. It even felt cold in the mornings. They are useful for drying clothes also. There was only one power outlet in the room. There was one wifi router in the reception area so it was very low signal where my room was. You can book thru their website and book packages but I did not book everything together. Their on site restaurant was tasty. I enjoyed the chicken casado very much. There are other restaurants so no need to preorder your meals. Note: everything shuts down around 10pm. For the price I enjoyed the place very much. You don't spend much time in the room because you are doing tours that leave very early in the morning. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Bring a flashlight if you want to go walking at night. It wasn't far to the grocery store but there is a hill you need to climb. I would stay here again
1 out of 5
Recommended
by L Sampson

Not the best choice

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay at Cabinas Manolo was most unpleasant. The rooms are very stuffy with little air flow and in that hot humid climate it makes sleeping difficult. There were two small beds in our room. One had a plastic cover on the mattress and only a thin sheet. which was uncomfortable in the high humidity. The other bed had a thin sheet over one of the dirtiest mattresses I have ever seen. There is also no HOT water. We paid for three nights at Cabinas Manolo but left after the second night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2013 by Mauricio, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments which make us improve our service at Cabinas Manolo. We have different kind of rooms with different prices. I was checking my records and noticed that you had booked the most economic room with shared bathroom. These rooms are without hot water, information which is written on the room description. if you had let me know about this during your stay I could had helped with this issue. Mattress have been replaced and rooms are repainted. I urge you to stay with us again, so you can see the new improvements.