Ratings based on 960 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay!!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: wet bar
Cons: rooms need remodeling. They are old.
All rooms have partial view to the ocean. It is clean, service is really good. The rooms, room bedrooms need to be remodeled, but overall, it is a great hotel to stay in.
2 out of 5
by Gary from San Antonio

WAY Over Priced!!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The valet staff and front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: REMODEL!! For what you charge, the rooms at least could be repainted and comfortable.
We drove down to enjoy Beach and Bike Fest. Booked this hotel based on its location and star rating. It is a very nice looking hotel from the street. The valet staff are excellent. The front desk staff are excellent. The rooms, elevators and hallways are run down and really sad. The pool/hot tub area is OK at best. The bar served bottled beer to guests and allowed them to take those beverages out to the pool area. There were two incident that I witnessed where bottles were dropped and broken on the side of the hot tub, also going into the hot tub. Never, ever should one allow glass in the pool area, really poorly managed! There is no way I would recommend someone paying $250 per night for this hotel, no where close to worth it! Next time we will stay down the street and have just as good of a time for half the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from St. Charles IL

Relaxing

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: How clean it was, the work out room, how friendly the staff were
Location: We went to the turtle rescue center, the bird center, several great places to eat. Pier 19 super
We had a wonderful stay and the view was great. Loved the pool and the ocean. Staff very friendly Will come again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from St Paul, MN

Nice place!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Right on the beach!
Cons: Heat the pool, fix the balconies.
Location: Perfect location-you can see it as soon as you cross the bridge. Stop at Yummies for awesome breakfast and Pier 19 for dinner
We were very happy with almost everything - clean, comfy, great meals and service at the restaurant. The only issue was the main pool was very cold! Swim up bar pool was warm and hot tub perfect. Everything we asked for was brought to us right away. Would stay there again for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Houston, TX

Used to be a nice hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Good location, good beach access. Comfy beds.
Cons: Cosmetics, paint, etc.
Location: S. Padre is pretty small so everything is close by.
I stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and then again last weekend. I don't think they've done much to it in the time in between. The first night the a/c in the room went out. The maintenance man determined it couldn't be fixed, so they moved us to another room, and comped breakfast, which was cool. But the place has a lot of rusted metal, parts of the concrete facade are falling off, cosmetic things like that. The staff was very pleasant and friendly, food was pretty decent if not pricey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We liked that the hotel was walking distance from

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We had a few glitches but overall the stay was nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
It was very nice except we never had room cleaning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachelle from Houston, TX

Good Location, Great Pool

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Heated pool, Swim up bar, tile flooring in rooms, in-room balcony, great water pressure in shower
Cons: It took 4 hours for the custodians to clean the 4th floor rooms during the middle of the day. This could be significantly improved.
Location: Just off the bridge behind the gas station and near all the great restaurants. It's located right on the beach. Perfect location.
I stayed two nights in a Two Double Bed room with a balcony. The balcony was great, and even though I didn't ask for a room with a view, I could still see the ocean. The room had tile floors and was very clean and orderly. The flat screen tv and the comfy chair was a plus. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful. The pool is the best thing about the hotel. It was super cold on our end of March stay due to the breeze off the ocean, but the heated part of the pool made the trip worth it. It's only heated near the swim up bar, but that was great for us (plus no kids). When I return to the Island, I'll be happy to stay at The Pearl again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy days...

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Microwaves in every room not just in suites.
We enjoyed our weekend at Pearl South Padre tremendously
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Great experience, great place to stay, ppl were friendly, food was great.