Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for Stony Brook.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
We were not sure how clean the sheets were. Nice to have wi fi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to improve our services. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Melissa C. Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mel from Texas

Nice hotel.

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were very clean. Staff was nice and helpful. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear Mel, Thank you for honoring our property with a 5-star rating! I appreciate you taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook. Our staff works around the clock to ensure that we exceed our guests' expectations. We look forward to accommodating you the next time you're in the area! Sincerely, Melissa C. Front Desk Supvervisor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by fleming from fl

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loud doors all night could hear everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear fleming, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of our hotel for falling below your expectations of what a Holiday Inn Express should be. I have shared your feedback with our Engineering team and we will use your comments to ensure that each of our guests enjoy a pleasant, uninterrupted stay. Sincerely, Melissa C. Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to office

Posted May 7, 2014
The pool and recreation center should have been a bigger and there should be ping pong, fuseball and other types of indoor games available.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback with our team. Those are great ideas! I will be happy to mention them at our next team meeting. We have just renovated our Pool and Fitness Center and hope you were able to enjoy the changes. I hope you will choose the Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook for any future stays in our area, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you! Sincerely, Melissa C. Front Desk Supervisor
3 out of 5
by jen from s

Bed made of rocks

Posted May 7, 2014
Hotel was just OK. For the price $150 per night I should have paid a little bit extra and stayed at the Hilton garden inn on Stonybrook campus which is beautiful. This hotel is clean BUT the bed in my room was the WORST bed Ive ever had to sleep on. I did not sleep at all and woke up the next day for my school final in pain! The pillows were horrible too. On top of not being able to sleep well because of the bed the other people on tne floor doors slammed shut all night! $150 for nothing and a bad back. The only plus what that Kristopher at the front desk was very helpful the next day and gave me a room on the 6th floor for the next night which had a much better bed! The only pro for this place was the complimentary breakfast in the morning which was not bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear jen, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with our Management Team and used proactively to improve each of our guests' overall experience. I will be happy to pass along your comments to our Front Desk Agent Kristopher, I'm glad he was able to find a guestroom that better suited your requests. Our hotel is currently in process of upgrading our in-room accommodations, and I truly hope you visit with us again to give us a chance to make your stay the best it can be. Sincerely, Melissa C. Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Evan from MA

Very nice overnight.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Location: Very close to Stonybrook U for college visit.
Everything was as expected - very comfortable and the staff was very helpful. We were pleased to be able to book a room with two queens and a pull-out couch so the teenagers did not have to share a bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Dear Evan, Thank you kindly for your 5-star rating of the Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Melissa C. Front Desk Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Donna from Maryland

easy access, quiet area and not congested

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel generally fine, but debris on main hallway left for a day right by rm 104, fresh fruit ran out very early Mon morning, could do well to invest in waffle maker as the frozen ones were dry. also my bill had wrong address on it. would be nicer if the 'bar' was not right by the rooms as when we came in our room was only doors away and the small crowd was rather noisy, other wise lovey gardens and surrounding area.