Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax

Christmas visit to south shields

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Initial impression of the hotel is lovely and bar areas are clean warm and friendly. Upon finding my room I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort and furnishings. Only down side was the self catering breakfast facilities we were met with bread butter and out of date produce in the fridge so decided against eating breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PRESTON

Not a B&B

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: STAFF TO RUN THE ACTUAL HOTEL AND BREAKFAST AVAILABLE LIKE IT STATES IT ON THE DESCRIPTION.
Location: NOTHING
I STAYED HERE FOR THE WEEK WHILST WORKING AWAY. ON THE DESCRIPTION IT STATES THE HOTEL IS A B&B WITH FULL BREAKFAST INCLUDED, IT WAS A PUB. I WAS TOLD I COULD USE THE KITCHEN TO MAKE MY OWN BREAKFAST AND TEA AND MY ROOM WAS NOT CLEANED ALL WEEK. I ALSO HAD TO PUT UP WITH LOUD MUSIC TILL PAST 11PM.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was fantastic, the room was clean & well presented, had to make your own breakfast, when we got in the kitchen the people who used it before us left a mess, so we went out for breakfast. The staff was friendly and the locals really nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helga og Pederfrom DK

behagelige senge

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
pris og hotel passer fint
4 out of 5
Recommended
by guestfrom Oxford

very friendly

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, good service. But: it said "pets friendly", but dogs not allowed. Very loud music well after midnight from the pub (however, good music). "free parking" but only till 6am
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Disappointedfrom Glasgow

Not what we expected, but you get what you pay for

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was very unnerving, never had to share a toilet and shower with all the other guests in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joefrom Glasgow

Never again

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unsure if I was at right hotel as it has changed its name, Hotel in middle of being renovated and was closed when I arrived had to knock on window so the workers could let me in. Breakfast was just a non starter Nothing but a Banana.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by mick from barnsleyfrom barnsley

decoration is needed through out the hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
when i book this it was bed and breakfast i am 69 years old and this is the first time in a ban b that i have had to get my own breakfast also i book a en suite but had to share a comunial bathroom that was not con venient for me or my partner i would never book this hotel again the maids never attended the room at all through out my 3 night stay
3 out of 5
by Suziefrom West Berkshire, UK

Loud Music Until 1am, Disappointed

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Hotel was clean, staff were friendly but the booking was rather mis-leading. Good location for Metro travel as it is only a 2 minute walk away. When booking the hotel i didn't realise it was actually a pub. There was live music until 1am which prevented me sleeping which was a big disappointment and if I had known this prior to booking then i wouldn't have gone for this hotel. The room itself was clean but there wasn't any toilet or bathroom in the room. The booking said a 'shared' bathroom but i wasn't quite expecting to have to leave my room and walk down the hallway in my pjs for the toilet! The booking included breakfast but did not state that it was a self catered breakfast. There is a shared kitchen where you go in the morning to make your own breakfast. They provide cereals and toast for you to make, the kitchen was clean and tidy but again, this was not explained during the booking. I was under the impression/assumption that there would be breakfast served to you in the morning. It was okay to stay in for one night as we were literally just sleeping there and leaving first thing in the morning. I would not book this ''hotel'' if you are planning to stay there for more than one night or if you have children as the facilities are minimal and it is definitely not a peaceful nights sleep.