Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the places and friends we were

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Very friendly very helpful,spotless,comfy and lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul bfrom Newcastle training centre.

Great help

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the helpfulness from the very first minute we met.I was in South Shields and I had to be in north shield by 7.30am next day.I explained this and she was on the phone at her own cost sorting a taxi for me to be picked up next day,and not before I had the breakfast next day from them could I leave.very quiet and clean my room was neat and very clean.Would never book another guest house if I'm ever in South Shields again.Thank you all at elmswood and hope I see you both again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hilsfrom Tyne & Wear

Excellent service

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly, comfortable guest house, tasty breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

The best place we stayed

Posted Jul 18, 2014
If it was possible to increase the star rating for the Elmswood Guest House, I would. Nisha, one of the proprietors, welcomed us upon our arrival and made us feel at home right from the start. We were tired after a long day of travel and it was so pleasant to have Nisha greet us with friendly conversation show us up to our room. We were expecting a nice comfortable place to stay. What we found was a terrific family room on the top floor that immediately felt like a home away from home. Thanks Nisha for an awesome stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bjerkerotfrom Bro

Varmt välkomnande

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mycket bra mottagande och service. Nära till South Shields centrum och de romerska ruinerna. Bra kommunikationer till Newcastle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Value for money
Location: Spoilt for choice with the number of restaurant on Ocean Road. Beach is one of the best - cleaned every morning , close to Metro for access to Newcast
We booked quite late and had a room with tiny shower room and small toilet room, but for the money we paid it was very good value for money. Hosts were very helpful ,breakfast great. Would book a slightly larger room next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LPfrom Australia

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable room, spotlessly clean and pleasantly decorated. Spacious enough to allow the luxury of comfortable chairs to sit in. Breakfast excellent. Thank you Nisha.p
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidifrom Harrogate

Very smart

Posted May 31, 2014
An excellent guest house . Beautifully furnished bedroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by PLeefrom Goole

Great Owners and great Service

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nisha and Bryan are the perfect hosts, The welcome was if anything, over the top, but genuine! My single room was very well presented and the bed quite comfortable, if a little soft for me. Spotlessly clean and the linen almost new to the feel. For breakfast there was a good choice of both cooked and cold items, Tea, coffee and juice flowed unlimited and toast and condiments were ample. I did not have a cooked breakfast but other guests seemed more than satisfied with the quality and quantity. All in all a very pleasant 3 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susanfrom London

Perfect guesthouse

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The proprietor Nisha is so friendly and will really make you feel at home. This is a stylish tasteful hotel in a fantastic location in the middle of Ocean Road with all its restaurants, midway between shops/Metro in one direction and the beach in the other. Yet it's also very quiet, not a sound at night. Can't fault it!