Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom quebec. QC

Small and Clean

Posted May 22, 2015
small and clean guesthouse with all neccessary requirements, the owner is so kind and helpfull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the places and friends we were

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Very friendly very helpful,spotless,comfy and lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by COLINfrom NOTTINGHAM

GOOD B&B,WELL PLEASED WITH STAY

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
VERY FRIENDLY.GOOD SERVICE,WOULD RECOMMEND
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by karenfrom Gateshead

Should be 4* at least

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for one night on a Saturday. Completely amazed this is only 3*, should be more like 4*. Room was clean, comfortable and well thought out We normally stay in hotels however we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. This was real value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul bfrom Newcastle training centre.

Great help

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the helpfulness from the very first minute we met.I was in South Shields and I had to be in north shield by 7.30am next day.I explained this and she was on the phone at her own cost sorting a taxi for me to be picked up next day,and not before I had the breakfast next day from them could I leave.very quiet and clean my room was neat and very clean.Would never book another guest house if I'm ever in South Shields again.Thank you all at elmswood and hope I see you both again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Hilsfrom Tyne & Wear

Excellent service

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly, comfortable guest house, tasty breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

The best place we stayed

Posted Jul 18, 2014
If it was possible to increase the star rating for the Elmswood Guest House, I would. Nisha, one of the proprietors, welcomed us upon our arrival and made us feel at home right from the start. We were tired after a long day of travel and it was so pleasant to have Nisha greet us with friendly conversation show us up to our room. We were expecting a nice comfortable place to stay. What we found was a terrific family room on the top floor that immediately felt like a home away from home. Thanks Nisha for an awesome stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bjerkerotfrom Bro

Varmt välkomnande

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mycket bra mottagande och service. Nära till South Shields centrum och de romerska ruinerna. Bra kommunikationer till Newcastle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Value for money
Location: Spoilt for choice with the number of restaurant on Ocean Road. Beach is one of the best - cleaned every morning , close to Metro for access to Newcast
We booked quite late and had a room with tiny shower room and small toilet room, but for the money we paid it was very good value for money. Hosts were very helpful ,breakfast great. Would book a slightly larger room next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LPfrom Australia

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable room, spotlessly clean and pleasantly decorated. Spacious enough to allow the luxury of comfortable chairs to sit in. Breakfast excellent. Thank you Nisha.p