Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lichfield

Lovely views of both the river and the sea.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Love its situation at the end of little Haven beech, its not too big and staff make you feel welcome.
Location: Near to both Newcastle and Sunderland for shopping. plenty of sites of historic interest.
Staff lovely and friendly, made to feel very welcome. Meals served in the glass walled restaurant which meant we could watch the ships sail in and out of the Tyne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol

The Place To Stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: almost everything . Views Magnificant, Staff Brilliant
Cons: My Personal Choice borders around ( Fine Dining ) The Menu/Food Quite Good but not a WoW Factor
Location: Overlooking the Harbour/River Tyne, The Ferries, Cruise ships, Huge Liners, All pass close by, Your actually on the Beach. The walks along the beach.
Staff were brilliant,extremely helpful. Had the perfect Room (217) Hotel situated in the perfect place. Would definetly stay again when in South Shields. Food Good, but not a wow factor .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Haarlem

Very nice location, on the beach with a great view

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The location, the feel, the staff.
Cons: Curtains that are more dark. Noise isolation in the rooms.
Location: On the beach, GREAT view, close to amusement and a nice town. The new pool at haven point is superb....
Spend 2 nights with my daughter of 4. Had a lot of fun in the adventure park, the beach and the new swimming pool in South Shields, all within easy reach. The staff in the hotel is very friendly, the rooms comfortable. However the walls and floors are very thin, so the rooms are noisy. A pity.... The location of this hotel is perfect, within walkin distance of the attractions, but away from the noise. It was fun to see the DFDS ship, that we sailed from IJmuiden so close the next day. Food was good, nice selection. Breakfast is good. There is quite a selection, but no wow factor..:-). There are other people that complain about the hotel not being worth 4 stars and being over prized, if you expect a 'chain' kind of experience, no its not. If you want a hotel with its own atmosphere, yes this is a nice place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christinefrom Halifax

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Stayed here with a large family group. Staff very welcoming, location great, close to town and beach. Good value for very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sheilafrom surrey

Peaceful haven

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The hotel really is a haven, fantastic location right on the beach. So quiet at night,slept with window open, didn't hear a sound Restaurant in conservatory overlooking the sea, wonderful views of passing boats Staff very friendly, relaxed atmosphere Will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reiverfrom Northumberland

A qualty modern seaside hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The situation and views combined with cleanliness and attentive service
Location: Well placed for both business and holiday visitors
We were very impressed by this recent addition to South Shields. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff attentive and the cooking excellent. Our superior room was situated at the seaward end of a spur with fantastic views out to sea and across to Tynemouth Priory. Everything worked correctly, the room temperature was fully controllable, everything needed was to hand or could be obtained by phoning reception. Wished we could have stayed longer - would definitely use the Haven again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mattfrom norfolk

nice hotel in a quiet location

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: superb breakfast
Cons: the range of beer is limited only one type of bitter
Location: location on riverside and beach overlooking the harbour, on the end of the seafront, town centre 15 minute walk, nice walk along pier if you want to b
quiet location suits us down to the ground, restaurant very good at reasonable prices, staff are excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevefrom Oxford, UK

My lucky booking!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Breakfast is a little too 'canteen style' but the food itself was good with plenty of selection.
Location: Great position right by the sea.
You can't top this location in Shields if you're there for the seaside! I was lucky enough to get a free upgrade ... to a penthouse ... where the views and accommodations were superb so of course I loved it, but even in the expected room my 4 day stay would have been fine. I found no significant faults.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevinfrom Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Supberb location on mouth of Tyne.

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Location and quality.
Cons: None
Location: Fantastic rivermouth location.
Fantastic hotel in a great seaside/riverside location. Rooms were comfotable and spacious with great views of sea or river. Staff were friendly and helpful and meals were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anon

Good Value Hotel in Great Location

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: The views over the Tyne
Cons: The scrambled eggs!
Location: Stunning on a good day (which we had)
Staff very friendly and helpful, quality of breakfast very good, great variety, only scrambled eggs left a little to be desired, but tasted ok. room was fine' if a little noisy as wedding guests left BUT silent after midnight. Overall very good indeed. Beautiful views over the Tyne, though, sadly not from our room - perhaps next time!