Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice and clean restaurant staff friendly

Posted Mar 28, 2015
We went to the hotel for a family get together as we had a family member visiting from the USA. There were at least 18 of us in the bar area from 17:30 until around 10:30 pm. The bar staff were not very friendly or accommodating, we were buying drinks in rounds and had to walk through to the restaurant bar for 18 drinks at a time, much to the annoyance of diners. The bar in the reception area didn't open until around 10pm and the tables were not cleared we had to put glasses on a table out of the way. Considering the amount of money spent over the bar the staff could have been more accomodating. In comparison the breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Nice hotel with lovely view

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Everything was excellent and the view added to this.
Cons: Nothing worth mentioning. It was great.
Location: Newcastle city centre only twenty minutes by Metro. Great city with lots to see and do. Also Tynemouth and Whitley bay close by. Lovely golden sands
Parking was easy in very spacious car park. Lovely view of the sea with boats sailing past my room. Very pleasant having breakfast in the dining conservatory which was virtually on the beach itself. Choice of excellent sea food breakfast which I really enjoyed. Staff were all extremely friendly and room/bed very comfortable. Great location for Newcastle which is just twenty minutes away by metro. Near to lots of scenic coastal towns too. I would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Relies on Superb Views

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Brilliant views across the River Tyne and the Pier Head. Very friendly staff.
Cons: Badly fitting bottom sheet and mattress cover made for an uncomfortable night. Evening meal and breakfast 'nice' not good value for money.
Location: Good beach, funfair, new swimming pool all within walking distance. Lots of Roman sites near by. Buses and Metro provide good access to other areas.
We chose this hotel as we had often called in for coffee and lunch. The hotel has superb views across the River Tyne and the harbour entrance. However, it turns out that this hotel relies on its superb location and views, if it did not have these it would be very mediocre for the prices charged. With a little bit more effort it could be superb, [better quality food / better bedding, see below]. Evening meal was nice but breakfast was not very good, no one explained that you needed to order fried eggs and when you did they took 10 mins to arrive by which time you had eaten the rest of the meal. Staff very keen on clearing up ready for lunch, tea/coffee cleared away 45 mins before end of service, makes you feel a bit rushed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lichfield

Lovely views of both the river and the sea.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Love its situation at the end of little Haven beech, its not too big and staff make you feel welcome.
Location: Near to both Newcastle and Sunderland for shopping. plenty of sites of historic interest.
Staff lovely and friendly, made to feel very welcome. Meals served in the glass walled restaurant which meant we could watch the ships sail in and out of the Tyne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

The Place To Stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: almost everything . Views Magnificant, Staff Brilliant
Cons: My Personal Choice borders around ( Fine Dining ) The Menu/Food Quite Good but not a WoW Factor
Location: Overlooking the Harbour/River Tyne, The Ferries, Cruise ships, Huge Liners, All pass close by, Your actually on the Beach. The walks along the beach.
Staff were brilliant,extremely helpful. Had the perfect Room (217) Hotel situated in the perfect place. Would definetly stay again when in South Shields. Food Good, but not a wow factor .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Haarlem

Very nice location, on the beach with a great view

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The location, the feel, the staff.
Cons: Curtains that are more dark. Noise isolation in the rooms.
Location: On the beach, GREAT view, close to amusement and a nice town. The new pool at haven point is superb....
Spend 2 nights with my daughter of 4. Had a lot of fun in the adventure park, the beach and the new swimming pool in South Shields, all within easy reach. The staff in the hotel is very friendly, the rooms comfortable. However the walls and floors are very thin, so the rooms are noisy. A pity.... The location of this hotel is perfect, within walkin distance of the attractions, but away from the noise. It was fun to see the DFDS ship, that we sailed from IJmuiden so close the next day. Food was good, nice selection. Breakfast is good. There is quite a selection, but no wow factor..:-). There are other people that complain about the hotel not being worth 4 stars and being over prized, if you expect a 'chain' kind of experience, no its not. If you want a hotel with its own atmosphere, yes this is a nice place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Halifax

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Stayed here with a large family group. Staff very welcoming, location great, close to town and beach. Good value for very comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sheila from surrey

Peaceful haven

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The hotel really is a haven, fantastic location right on the beach. So quiet at night,slept with window open, didn't hear a sound Restaurant in conservatory overlooking the sea, wonderful views of passing boats Staff very friendly, relaxed atmosphere Will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reiver from Northumberland

A qualty modern seaside hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The situation and views combined with cleanliness and attentive service
Location: Well placed for both business and holiday visitors
We were very impressed by this recent addition to South Shields. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff attentive and the cooking excellent. Our superior room was situated at the seaward end of a spur with fantastic views out to sea and across to Tynemouth Priory. Everything worked correctly, the room temperature was fully controllable, everything needed was to hand or could be obtained by phoning reception. Wished we could have stayed longer - would definitely use the Haven again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by matt from norfolk

nice hotel in a quiet location

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: superb breakfast
Cons: the range of beer is limited only one type of bitter
Location: location on riverside and beach overlooking the harbour, on the end of the seafront, town centre 15 minute walk, nice walk along pier if you want to b
quiet location suits us down to the ground, restaurant very good at reasonable prices, staff are excellent