Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We went to wales to attend a wedding, the hotel wa

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Cons: A support handel over the bath, for older people ther is nothing to hold onto.
The Bessimer hotel is a no nonsence hotel very relaxed but not sloppy. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Olddread from London

Rugby final in Cardiff

Posted May 27, 2014
Very nice friendly hotel, enjoyed the train ride from Cardiff - I am a non meat eater and when I told the chef over breakfast he made a lovely breakfast for me. A very enjoyable time von Wales (apart from the score)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martin

Close to funtion venue

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Very good atmosphere. staff were fab. Food was superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dr Rob from Chichester

Overnight stay prior to work meeting

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, unpretentious, good evening meal
Cons: Choice of healthy items at breakfast.
Location: Didn't have time for tourism, but the mountains around the Welsh valleys are always scenic
Busy restaurant with lots of birthday parties, but good service, not too noisy, and privacy available in a booth if you were a solo traveller, as I was. Good carvery, unpretentious food. Decent clean bedroom. Breakfast fair but no muesli, you had to ask for fruit specially and the choice wasn't that wide. The yogurt was very plastic-tasting and I left half of it.
2 out of 5
by Lynfa from Glamorgan

Hotel in Dowlais

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and staff
Cons: Needs updating, hotel is surrounded by scaffold and at the top of a steep hill
Location: Lots of history in this part of the world
The room was dated could do with a make over. It was clean. Staff are helpful and welsh breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by chris p from s bucks

value

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent value for money,room clean,shower worked and food satisfactory.reception unmanned and bell rung to no effect.generator going all night below hotel room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by George from Portugal

Good service

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was comfortable and good value for money. Breakfast was excellent and staff were very helpful, especially the night porter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good overnight stop

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately someone in the next room was pacing up and down all night. The floorboards squeaked so loudly that our neighbour the other side thought it was us and banged on the wall! Not much sleep then. Otherwise good all round.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sir Lima from Suffolk

Nightmare

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Worst Hotel i have stayed for a long time. Extremelly disappointed.