Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartford

Nice, Simple hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The food, service and staff.
Cons: Turn the heating off in the restaurant in summer!
Location: Bike Park Wales, Cwmcarn
Hotel is perfectly adequate. Ok, its not going to win any awards for decor or furnishings but its was all perfectly acceptable. Staff were pleasant, no one was rude. Food was very good. We drove to the nearby Merthyr retail park with a nandos, and about 5 other restaurants in it, all were full up so we decided to eat at the hotel. And the food was far, far better than anything we would have got from the chains. The area the hotel is in is pretty shady, so I wouldn't recommend going for an evening stroll. But car park is nicely hidden and out of the way. We had several thousand pounds worth of bikes in a van, and it was all fine. We were also allowed to take our bike up to our room. The only real complaint I would have is that the restaurant and bar had the heating on full in the middle of the summer which made it very hot in some places. But apart from that, there is nothing wrong with this hotel, and for the price, it is a bargain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newport and herwuin

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Me and my had a wonderful stay, the room was excellent staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Will definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future and will be recommending it to friends.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by gonshy from London

old and poor

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Poor rooms. Old and low level. Nice restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Return Customer from Bedford

What is says on the tin

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfectly adequate. Clean and comfortable and good location. Significantly improved on previous stays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by qwerty9090 from Bolton

Satisfactory for Shirt Stay

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel was adequate for a short stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dr M L Golta from London

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice and Comfortable and would like to book again also the next time with my family
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very basic. The strong smell of curry was a bit off-putting when eating English breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt

Shocking but enjoyable

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Well I booked this knowing t was cheap and cheerful. The service was so terrible that it was actually amusing. I waited 20 minutes at reception before someone checked me in. No one showed me to my room nor offered to help me with my luggage. There was no hot water in my room. I wated over 20 minutes before someone came to take my order for breakfast. Good job I wast in a rush I suppose. Terrible hotel, but highly amusing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by emi

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice and helpful staff. Very good breakfast too. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the room wasn't great-looked like someone vacumed just the middle of the room. Very old furnitures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor

Posted Mar 30, 2012
Location: was a twon
the hotel looked dated and they didnt know we'd paid for breakfast or at all. The tv had a note telling you how to work it and the freeveiw recpiticon wasnt great and on a trolley which my one year thought was great however I did not. The cooked breakfast was greasy