Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

House hunting in Chesterfield

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, carvery, views. And price.
Cons: Room prep (half used shampoo bottles may bothef some guests). Shower pressure. Rubbery fish (especially as it was sold as fresh).
Location: Near motorway and 10min from Chesterfield.
Hotel was adequate but a bit too close to motorway (hummmmmm). Only one teacup (for 2 people). Shower was a dribble. Opted for fresh fish which was overcooked and very plain (ie just the fillet - not even seasoned!). On the plus - staff were friendly and very helpful, carvery looked good and views were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Lisa from Sheffield

Excellent

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stopped for 1 night greeted by friendly staff shown to a clean comfortable room, food looked delicious but unfortunately we had eaten earlier whilst out shopping, live band on at night with some decent real ale .. We will be going back soon for the real ale festival & to sample the food
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Ok room for the night

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
No frills ok room for the night, wouldn't really rush back to this hotel when in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Shower of......

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms at the dusty miller were fine. Clean and comfy, the landlord was a nice guy BUT our shower didn't work. Our friends were in the room next door and their shower didn't work either. The most dissapointing thing is that when I reported it in the morning they didn't seem interested and asked me if I was doing it properly. Now I'm no nuclear physiscist but I know how to turn a shower on. They didn't seen interested in apologising or offering any compensation (a complimentary breakfast would have helped matters). We were at a wedding down the road so location was great, plus the beer was really good. It's just the showers and attitude that needs sorting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamie from Suffolk

Uncomfy Bed

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very small room but for the money it was adequate. Single bed was not very comfy so did not sleep very well. The carvery was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Value, good location but let down by poor food.

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very handy for M1 but still nice and quiet. Friendly staff. Food, particularly breakfast, was awful. Told we could have 'anything we liked'. Asked for poached eggs - told we could only have scrambled. These were tasteless and the plate was awash with water. Sad really as a little effort would have made this a good recommendation if you're on a budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Manchester

Manchester

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Warm welcome Andy for motorway room ok Carvery on every night Staff friendly would stay again no problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for a night out but not for peace and quiet.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff and management
Cons: Noisy on a Saturday night
Location: nice country location, near M1 Motorway.
Kept awake till midnight by rock band playing in pub. Manager very friendly and explained in a nice way that this was a pub and not a hotel. I was very tired after a long drive so this would not suit tired travellers. But if you want a good night out and a room in which to stay then it is perfect. Really nice location in countryside and close to M1 motorway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel for a weekend stay

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Our room was clean and comfortable, the guy who we checked in with was not that helpful. Staff behind bar at night were very nice.