Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Plymouth MA July 2014

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location is its best asset.
Cons: Blinds or curtains to give some privacy and to keep the light out.
Location: Just one street back from the main waterfront which is very pretty and lots of shops and restaurants. The Mayflower replica is five minutes away.
This shouldn't be billed as a B&B as there is no breakfast but we did know this when we booked. We stayed in the top floor loft room which was hot to say the least. It was all a bit tired; the taps were loose on the sink, the bath plughole is rusty, the bathroom door handle is falling off but my main complaint is that there are NO window coverings blinds or curtains in the bedroom or bathroom! Stepping out of the shower you can look into the neighbours window. This also means that you are woken at about 5am as the daylight streams in through the windows so no holiday lay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karl from Meriden, CT

Great getaway

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very pleasant stay with clean, comfortable bed and rooms in a very convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Diana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great place..... if you don't mind stairs!

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful room, very modern updates to a historic home 1 block from the waterfront!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol &Leon from Brisbane Australia

Back in Time

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The thing that I liked most about staying here was that it was a period home and you felt like you were a part of the community.
Cons: The only thing that I would say is that maybe the layout of the room could be changed - but then being a loft this might be difficult.
Location: The room is very central to everything shops , food and also the water front which is beautiful.
We travelled to Plymouth on the spur of the moment as we really wanted to have a look at the country side. We were very surprised when we arrived at our accomodation as it set us back in time. We stayed in the attic for 2 nights and just loved it. Our hosts were very accomodating and helpful yet we still had our privacy. The room was comfortable and clean and the surrounds were very relaxing. If you wish a romantic get away for the weekend I highly recommend staying and enjoying the tranquility of The Auberge Gladstone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from UK

Ideal location to visit Plymouth

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, spotlessly clean room, good value
Location: Right in town centre with easy access to everything in Plymouth
Very friendly place to visit Plymouth with good parking and walking access to Plymouth centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Nice, but I'd choose a room other than the loft

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I met the innkeepers once during my stay, in passing. First, it's not a B&B, it's a guesthouse, so there's no breakfast. It's a nice house converted, but the loft (where I stayed) is a converted attic. If you're tall, you'll be cramped. The roof slopes down and the outlets require you to get on all fours to use. They say it has an ocean view, which technically it does, but it's a view from skylight windows. The bed is, I think, a Tempurpedic, but I wasn't impressed. I woke up stiff and sore each morning. All told, it was okay for the price but I won't be staying there again. The location is excellent, which is the best thing I can say about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Will from Boston

simply wonderful

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean...wonderc ul people..5 minites from the water...loft was cool.bathroom was incredible.quiet...best sleep ivehad in a while. Willl come back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location to downtown Plymouth!

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: It was very comfortable and close to the water.
Location: Close to a few restuarants that were great!
Amazing staff. They were so friendly and the location was key. I highly recommend the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from Carp, ON, Canada

Charming loft

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a short but very comfortable, relaxing stay at the Auberge Gladstone in The Loft. It's a cozy and warm space with great attention to detail. The bathroom was easily my favourite part -- it was adorable and larger than most hotels. I had a wonderful soak in the old-style claw-foot tub. Loved it. We would definitely stay there again!