Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from argentine

Nice needs some upgrade

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Excellent views and ubication Room very good excellent staff Super breakfast Only needs some upgrade of buildings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sitting down

A very pleasant experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014
No surprises, as expected and then some. Very nice full breakfast in a dining room with fine staffing. Our room was very well equipped and needed nothing. Excellent view of the bay and a lot facilites and activities that we did not utilize during our short three day autumn adventure. A very nice, private resort that is well presented.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Older, but comfortable for a night.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
We requested a king room, and we're told, exactly, you requested by one of the owners. The room was old, outdated, but clean as a whistle. That was the first night. Following morning brought myself a warm shower at 7, hubby a cold one at 7:30. No one cleaned the room for the remainder (3 days), although we did have the beds made, and fresh towels. I wrote on the furniture please dust as we left. Breakfast is run by a very nice gentleman, who tries to do it all. It was much bbetter than Holiday inn's, as he actually did cook eggs, frozen potatoes, frozen or canned meat, and old fruit salad. All in all, a very well kept grounds, and well preserved motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good place to stay overall!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
This place is set up like a motel. Rooms facing the water have great views and a balcony. Breakfast is included, and some activities like kayaking are available for free. It does not have a restaurant or bar. Free Wi-Fi is available but the signal is poor in many areas, making it mostly unusable. The rec room is very basic and in need of a complete renovation. It is 15 - 20 minutes from the town center. Overall, it is one of the better places available in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel in Booth Bay.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: I like all the activities that were available for families to enjoy together.
Cons: The furniture could use some updating. Also, the room had a musty smell.
Location: The location was perfect. In a secluded area, but close enough to Booth Bay.
The hotel was run down. I expected more for the price we paid. If it wasn't for the friendly staff, it would have been disappointing. I did enjoy the activities that were available. They had a small miniature golf course, tennis court, basketball court, kayaking, and fishing. The swimming pool was heated, so that made for a good experience. Breakfast was not spectacular, but sufficient to start the day. It comprised of scrambled eggs, hash brown, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, pastries, fruit, different types of juices, and coffee. Ocean Gate is located in a nice secluded area and the landscape was beautiful. Overall, it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fORT wAYNE, in

Review of Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nice view & Out standing breakfast
Cons: Stone Drive way in & Out could be asphalt.
Location: Very nice and close restaurant's
Wish I had spent more time there. Only Planed one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough, ME

Idyllic Setting Close to Boothbay Harbor

Posted Aug 8, 2014
An idyllic setting on a postcard perfect quintessential Maine harbor. My wife and I wanted a short getaway from a busy summer. We were not disappointed with our selection. It is located just 2.5 miles from the quaint (but busy) village of Boothbay Harbor and only 2 miles from the Maine Botanical Gardens. It has all the amenities you would expect from a five star resort. We only stayed two days but we were so impressed with this resort that we will be returning soon....this time for longer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

I expected better

Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price this place was disappointing. Room had strong older smell although when notified staff were right on ot and moved us no problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet, free kayaking, being away from the more crowded areas like Boothbay Harbor.
Cons: Bathrooms, rooms could be freshened.
Location: Kayaking, nature, lovely restaurant called Oliver's nearby (good luck finding it). Coastal Maine Botanical Garden is a must.
Nice location on a quiet island with very little commercial activity and few restaurants. Good views of the water and free kayaking and other activities (ping pong, pool, hot tub). On a wooded campus. Breakfast was generous but just OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Great place

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Wonderful amenities, great service, friendly staff. Wish we could have stayed longer . Thanks Bernie