Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Comfort with Style.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Just so easy to come and go, do your own thing yet have excellent staff to do whatever you require. Loved its decor etc in the rooms.
Cons: Just to be picky would prefer tea/coffee facilities in room rather than room service even if it was free and very quick.
Location: Very close to sea front and only a £4 taxi ride to Navel Dockyard which ismarvellous. Must go to The Spinnaker. Hotel is 2 mins from good restaurants
Had a delightful stay. Although our room was above a noisy air conditioner which started at 7.30 am. It's ok as an alarm call ! Finally it has a change of owner imminent although keeping excellent old / young staff, hope it stays 5 star. Don't be put off by these observation, we loved our stay even the bath in the room ! and will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Hotel was excellent in every respect from the initial welcome to departure. The facilities are first rate and nothing was to much trouble for any member of the Hotel team. The room was well equipped light, airy and individual in it décor. The choices available at breakfast covered all tastes and all ranges of appetite. I would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrewfrom Oslo

Anbefales i høyeste grad.

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kjempeflott velkomst, hotellet var meget bra, frokosten var av beste sort og det var rent og fint i rommet, informative og hjelpsom eier. Topp karakter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shrewsbury

Just as fabulous as ever

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Everything: The staff, food, complementary coffee, location, rooms..... everything!
Cons: Can't think of a single thing, not one.
Location: Look on Google maps. There's some decent bars / restaurants within walking distance.
It's been far too long since I last stayed at the Clarence and I must admit, I was slightly apprehensive as it used to be so good..... Would it still be....? The answer is YES; Some of the staff may have changed but the service is still impeccable. Special mention to Natalie, with whom I spent an evening discussing everything from music to middle Eastern politics with! This is one of the few hotels I stay in where I can be tempted with a cooked breakfast: You've got the provenance of your food all laid out on the menu and it's all cooked to order. Perfect and nearly as good as I get at home ;-) Still the best hotel I stay in in the UK!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Keynsham

Clarence Hotel Southsea

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly, welcoming nothing was too much trouble
Cons: No
Location: Portsmouth Historic Dock a must see
Attention to detail was superb. Extremely welcoming and the best breakfast in any hotel in which we have stayed. Recommend you stay there if visiting the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aileenfrom Glenrothes

A comfortable friendly small boutique hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was difficult to find this hotel as our sat nav took us down what seemed like the back entrance of the hotels on the front. However on our second run at it we stopped a passer by who gave us directions and told us we would love it! He wasn't wrong. The on street parking was a bit tight but a permit is provided by the hotel. As soon as we arrived after a long drive we were offered a very welcome glass of wine and the chance to upgrade our room. We didn't upgrade as the room only had a bath which looked lovely but as we had an early start the next day we wanted a shower. We were in the library room which was charming if a little on the small size with a large comfortable bed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful giving directions and restaurant advice. The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked to order and very quickly served in a lovely dining room with modern crockery. Wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elainefrom chelmsford

a special place to stay

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a special place to stay from the moment you check in to the moment you depart you are made to feel special . The rooms are individual comftable and spotless will definatly be staying at the Clarence again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

The 'Best' Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely, friendly hotel with the best service you will get anywhere! The staff cannot do enough to help you and everything was just perfect. The breakfast was also excellent too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Gem of a Hotel that's more like a Bed & Breakfast

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first trip to Southsea/Portsmouth, which turned out to be a delightful and interesting area of England (a great D-Day Museum, Royal Navy Museum, Submarine to tour through, old ships to explore, etc.) The Clarence is definitely the place to stay- very well located, within walking distance of some attractions and really if you enjoy walking it is walking distance to almost all of them. This is more of a Bed & Breakfast than a typical hotel, with various types of rooms throughout what appears to have been a residential home. Our room was up a few flights of stairs (no elevator), so keep that in mind if you have heavy luggage; rooms are also available on lower floors. However, the staff are very helpful and responsive and will give you a hand with the luggage if your room is up the stairs. The full breakfast was included and was excellent, especially the selection of breads. Our room was large, comfortable, and immaculate. Only drawback was that the en suite bathroom was up a short flight of stairs and there was no shower, only a tub with a hand-held sprayer. Hey, travel is all about getting out of your comfort zone, right? I believe other rooms have showers so specify if you wish. Would definitely stay there again.