Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Great value, superb food.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Food, price, position
Cons: Give advice about road to hotel on website - one way to hotel acceptable - one worrying !!.
Location: Hebden Bridge worth a visit.
Staff couldn't of been more helpful, food great and good price - if you read a bad review about this hotel - its not where we just stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

Lovely hotel gorgeous food

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Stayed here for 1 night very comfortable room however there was a party and the music was so loud that when we was in our bed we felt we was lay in the middle of the party room! The food was excellent we would love to stay again hope next time the music won't be so loud!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom dorset

Great food and fabulous views

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Fabulous food and staff
Cons: Bedding upgrade needed
Location: Amazing location with hilltop views across the town.
We stayed and dined for 2 nights. I must say the meals were first class especially the rib eye steak. I was really impressed with the bar and restaurant fitting out, very relaxed and cosy atmosphere and staff were spot on with the service. Our bedroom was very small for a double and just okay for a 2 night stay, however it was nicely decorated and very warm. Just a shame that the bedding is a mixed polyester and not 100% cotton and the pillows are quite poor quality as this resulted in a restless nights sleep. All round I found our stay to be of good value and convenient for our business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bury, Lancs

Lovely break away from it all

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Lovely room, fabulous food & lovely restaurant. Service was great and just some little touches to finish off the refurbishment. Recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all & eat great, locally sourced food. Don't use the quickest route in satnav from the village it takes you up a nightmare road, the other one is much easier :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds, UK

Great Country Hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Cons: We had an issue with the bill at the end of our stay, others had ordered on our tab. Better management on tabs would be the only improvement I suggest
Location: There are plenty of good hilltop walking routes nearby. Very picturesque
We liked the overall feel of the hotel, the bar was exactly what we expected from the pictures and live pianist (saturday night only) made it even better. Would definitely return back when next need a break from the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Weekend getaway

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Bar and restaurant staff, views across the valley and also the room rates are very reasonable.
Cons: This being a Saturday night, the bar area was extremely busy, resulting in us having to sit in a separate, more remote seating area.
Location: We stayed here as we were attending a music event in nearby Hebden Bridge, which is well worth a visit.
This hotel was booked as we were attending a music event in nearby Hebden Bridge. Although we were not that taken by the locality (Sowerby Bridge is hardly the epicentre of cultural activity), the Hobbit is placed high up with spectacular views across the Calder valley. The hotel and facilities are of a satisfactory standard and we found the staff helpful and accommodating, especially in the bar area. Rooms are clean and of a good size, although being positioned at the rear of the building, there was some noise experienced from the kitchen extractor. We ate in the bar and the food and drink on offer were of a good standard and price. If I was to return to Hebden Bridge again (and we believe we will), I would consider booking in at the Hobbit if accommodation in Hebden was unavailable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andyfrom Devon

Very welcoming

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Used whilst on business in Halifax area I found the staff welcoming and the service of a good standard. the rooms were clean and of a good size but would have liked a slightly bigger TV (small circa 20inch flat)Easy access to surrounding area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom huddersfield

Birthday celebration

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Met by friendly staff made to feel very welcome, lovely decor. Room was a little small but very cosy luvly view across the valley. First class meal in the evening not too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helgafrom Birmingham

Worth the climb!

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for New Year and included in our rate was a special 4 course meal and champagne reception. The food generally, and specifically on New Year's Eve was first-rate, with a great local folk band too. The rooms are recently refurbished, warm and comfortable. It's a great base for walking with a load of choices, around Hebden Bridge, Ogden Water and the moors immediately above the hotel. As others have noted it is an extremely steep drive up to the hotel but the reward is the views you enjoy. Not all rooms have a bath - some have showers but there is plenty of hot water and the rooms are delightfully warm, which is great after a wintery walk. We will come back, the hotel is good value with a good breakfast and high quality evening meals and well situated to explore the wonderful countryside around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stewart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com