Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fun hotel with a great view

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Pool, free breakfast, access to the sea, location, massage
Cons: Handicap accessible ramps and better elevator access to the pool area, to the reception area, and to the rooms. Elevator is small.
Location: Great access to sea swimming, to restaurants, and other attractions.
I enjoyed this hotel with its great included breakfast. The view from the reception area balcony is amazing. Our room was comfortable, though the toilet was a bit unique and I wasn't used to it. The only complaint I have about the hotel (and this is because I had an injury that prevented me from walking easily) is that there are lots of stairs to walk up and down and no easy elevator or ramp access to prevent you from using stairs--especially with luggage, this would be hard for someone with an injury. Other than that, great location to the restaurants and to the sea for swimming. The pool area is very nice, with lots of seating and cabanas for shade and eating/drinking. There is even a water slide! The spa and massage packages that are available are also nice. I would recommend to others and I would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful hotel with an excellent location!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The pool grounds were large and located right on the water. The rooms are very modern but quite small. I would definitely go back to Amfora.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Horrible

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Everything; Staff, design, comfort, colors, food, service and structure.
Location: Not too far from the main port where the life is, it is however the furthest hotel. (8-10 min walk).
The standard was bad, tiny rooms and weird toilets which were completely uncomfortable. The hotel was not that clean either and the location wasn't great. Ugly elevators, poor food and nothing special with service. At night you will hear everyone passing through the corridor, we booked a king bed and they confirmed it upon arrival but when I went to the room it was a queen, it's one of those hotels where you just know it's not worth complaining. For the money paid my partner and I were completely disappointed and I would never recommend it to anyone, look at the bright side though we are still making jokes about it at least that was worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to beach and perfect location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great stay at amfora. A walk away from Hvar town which was ideal as we were away from crowds. Amazing resort close to beaches and bars. Wouldn't consider any other resort. Rooms a bit small, but clean. Make sure you stay in ocean front room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel but not a true 5 star experience

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Cons: Hotel should offer free luggage assistance for those arriving by ferry as most guests to Hvar will arrive by ferry.
Location: Hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from ferry port. Be sure to arrange transport or you will be dragging your lugging on cobblestone. 5 min walk to Hula
Stayed in July 2014 during peak season, so the hotel was very busy. Not enough staff on hand to deliver a true 5 star experience. Hotel has beach chairs that you must pay for. Bc of this all the guests opt to stay at the pool side chairs that are free. People will wake up early to claim a spot by laying down towels. They would also get up and leave for an hour leaving their towels behind to claim a spot. Found this to be a terrible policy to allow when the hotel is so busy. Hotel is nice, clean and updated but service is lacking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in quiet area of Hvar

Posted Aug 1, 2014
I came here with my husband and 15 month old daughter. The room was nice and very clean. The hotel gave us an upgrade to a room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of fruit, made to order omlettes etc. The baby pool area was great for my daughter and she loved the water slide. The only negative things I have to say are that there are 3 sets of flights to get into the lobby which you have to go up and down everytime to get to the pool and leave the hotel. Also, the cocktails are horrible. Order beer and wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel and nice location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Nice clean room, good pool, great breakfasts (worth getting in your tariff)
Cons: Some of the buildings and footpaths are getting a bit old and could be done up - not really bad yet though
Location: Next to beach, 10 minute walk into Hvar town
Great hotel to stay at in Hvar - 10 minute easy walk into town but far enough away that you can get a decent sleep without the constant noise from Hvar town. Nice pool and bar and decent enough poolside food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Best in Hvar

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Very well located, nice pool area. Not the best hotel I've stayed, but def the best in Hvar
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, average room. Get a sea view

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Original room was dark and looked onto a tree and path, we paid to upgrade to a 'deluxe king room with sea view' which was much better although for the money a small room with no tea or coffee facilities and half the mini bar menu missing. We had to ask for towels every day as they took all towels even if they were unused without replacing, and the toiletries were missing key essentials you would expect in a 4* hotel. Bernard on reception was great, as was Petra on concierge, both very helpful. Pool freezing, although large and good for children. Bacon at breakfast and on pizzas etc has little round gristle bones throughout- disgusting! Rest of breakfast was good. Location and view from the upgraded room, along with the staff mentioned, are the best thing about this hotel; although for the money we expected a lot more from the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by rkoifman from NJ

Too big and uncomfortable

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is just too big for the location. It over promises the pool and the beach but access to the beach was closed, forcing a significant detour. The worst, though was the room - "modern" dysfunctional 80's design with white Formica. Toilet was the worst - water pouring out of the tub/shower on the floor and on top of the furniture-like toilet seat, too dark and many other unpleasant things. Hotel staff was very friendly, though.