Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great apartments in a great location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly service, reasonable room rates, cleanliness.
Location: As above, location was fantastic and one can walk to anywhere within the old city.
Our room was large and clean with air conditioning, a fridge and a good-sized shower room. The building is within the actual wall of the old city, and is therefore brilliantly located with regards to walking to the old city and harbour. The beach is also only a 15-20 minute walk away. The owners are very helpful and friendly, and offered us some advice on different places to eat while we were staying, all of which were fantastic restaurants. Overall, the Rooms & Apartments Matkovic offer large, clean rooms, friendly service and a fair price. I would definitely recommend them to others wishing to stay within the old city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel, great hotel Staff

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Very Friendly Staff
Cons: Nothing - for the price and location, the hotel does it's job very welll.
Location: 5 minutes walk are all the bars and everything!
It's a pretty basic hotel in an old part of split, so if you are after 5 stars with marble pillars you'll be disappointed. Myself and 2 friends stayed one night before moving onto Hvar. Three separate comfortable beds were provided (you'll be surprised about how difficult this seems to be for hotels!) and it had a fridge and lots of storage. As for the staff though.... the hotel e-mailed me in advance to ask if I had any special requirements such as late check in. Our flight was delayed so I emailed them from Gatwick and they responded immediately, which put the mind at ease. When we got to the hotel it was nearly midnight, and the lady was waiting outside to greet us especially. In the morning they lent us a brolly as it was chucking down and got a great deal with a exchange bureau for Kuna's. Overall very friendly hotel staff and they made this an enjoyable stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The staff were very helpful once we found the hotel. More explicit directions were needed in order to find the hotel from the train station. The map sent needed street names to accompany it. We were able to find the hotel only by a very helpful bystander who phoned the hotel and asked for directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California, USA

Great Apartment, Centrally Located

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Room had all the ammenities (see review)
Location: Split is a very active city with lots of activities you can catch (from ferries for day-trips, zipline in local canyons, or national parks to visit)
My friends (a Finnish couple ages around 33) and my wife and I (same ages) have traveled much of Europe and stayed at many places (hotels, sobe's- Apartments/Rooms for rent in Croatia, hostels, B&Bs, etc...) and this was one of the best. My wife and I stayed in the Apartment and it was a nice studio apartment with all the necessary items (spacious, comfortable double bed, AC, TV, wifi, and good sized kitchenette with full size sink, refrigerator, dishes, nice size bathroom). My friends stayed in their regular room and were surprised to have all the same items except for a kitchenette (thought there was a mini-frig and a few other items like coffee makers etc...) We all agreed the place was wonderful. The hotel staff we're extremely nice and certainly made themselves available to help whatever need or concern we might have had. The apartment is centrally located within Split itself (in the palace walls).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicki from Croatia

Home away from home

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice couple running the place...she was very helpful to make the experience wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly service and very clean apartment

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The apartment was spacious and clean, very quiet at night too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tim from London

Lovely room

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was lovely, right in the Palace. The staff could not have been more helpful. Great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Town centre

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carol from australia

Great location but a little noise

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Location for convenience and space. Very helpful owners.
Cons: Put a barrier across the small alleyway behind building so the lively crowd can't go up there and chat all night!
Location: Most restaurants nearby are quite expensive. Find Fife restaurant out of old city and down past waterfront heading away from port. Cheap and tasty.
The double room is a good sized room and bathroom. Plenty of room for luggage and a clothes airer full of washing! Washing machine was great. Has a kettle and a small fridge. Bring own tea bags and milk. Staying just inside the palace is great and everywhere is just a short walk, even from the bus station and port. However, our only annoyance was that there is a bar across the narrow street. The bar itself is quiet, but people hang around outside and in a small alley under the bedroom window. Some nights it was not very loud, so we closed the window and turned on air con and it was fine. But one night was a Saturday or maybe Friday, can't remember, and they were really loud till very late. Even with windows shut we were disturbed. Don't know if the owners can do much, as they are lovely and very helpful, and the place is really clean, convenient etc. also wifi is not real strong in the room, you need to go out in the hall way or use the computer they have setup there for the use of guests. Then it was fine. Very convenient for having a rest if you need to in the middle of the day as it was so close...or dropping off shopping so you don't have to carry it! Great restaurant outside old city is Fife....cheap, great food, simple. Go early as you have to queue up for lunch and dinner....it's worth it! Share a table with others to get seated faster and meet new people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good accommodation in heart of split

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean and comfortable room within Diocletians Palace area of split. Room basic but more than adequate for short stay in split. Short walk to bus station and port. Plenty of restaurants bars and cafes nearby. Staff were helpful and provided good recommendations for food.