Ratings based on 1,320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with high ceilings and old world charm

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Staff was ok. She wouldn't let me check in early even though we were only an hour early. Instead of telling me when a room could be ready, front desk person repeatedly said we guarantee 3pm checkin. Was kind of annoying. High ceilings. You hear lots of creeks from upstairs units. I didn't mind the sound transition from other units. No amenities but great location to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Can't judge this one by its cover!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Vintage decor and woodwork balconies and all
Cons: Parking was hard because of a concert venue close by.
This hotel was a joy to stay in! Its vintage and history were a total pleasure, and seeing the antiques and decor everywhere was a great feeling! I told my wife I wish my house was like this!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Completely wrong star rating...

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location, bath toiletries.
Cons: Almost everything (see above).
The star rating for this hotel (3.5 stars) is completely wrong. If I review this the way I'd review a 3.5 star establishment, this would get either a zero or at best a 1 out of 5. 1. The biggest problem, as other reviews have noted, is that there's no sound insulation in the windows, walls, or floors, so any and all outdoor noises make their way easily into the room. I read about this beforehand and traveled with a white noise machine and ear plugs but still heard many noises that disrupted my sleep. 2. The walls of the room had several areas where patch jobs of painting had been done but with a color that didn't match the original color, so it just looked splotchy and dirty. 3. The entire room was mainly just empty walls devoid of any decoration -- other than one framed photograph that one could buy for about $10. 4. The carpet was dirty and splotchy. 5. The floor trim and bathroom tile were dirty and grungy. On the plus side, the bed was just fine and the bath toiletries were very nice. Overall, I got the distinct feeling that the management calls this a "historic hotel" as a way to avoid spending money to maintain or remodel what's needed. This "hotel" really should be rated 2 stars (at best) and even at that level, I'd rate it a 2 or 3 out of 5.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Building - Needs to Step It Up a Bit

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Liked the Building
Cons: Coffee Shop in vacant space downstairs, insulation blown into the walls between the rooms.
Location: Walking distance to large mall, lots of chain restaurants and quite a few local bars with casual bar-food all within walking distance.
It is a wonderful building, spacious rooms (with very thin walls). No parking lot, nearby lots or metered parking on street (free from 7pm - 8am). Would be nice if there was a coffee shop or cafe downstairs to grab a quick morning meal (or room service) the free coffee in the lobby is not particularly good. Just feels like they need to pay attention to the details e.g.: large bathroom with tiny little shelf over sink, plenty of room to put a small table for guests to put their personal items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Oldest Hotel in Spokane

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The lobby/lounge areas
Cons: Window sound-proofing.
Hotel does need some updates, but is character-filled and actually a very convenient location for walking/driving anywhere in the city. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Building - Disappointing Services

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful building, great architecture and well restored.
Cons: insulate the walls to keep room-to-room sound to a minimum.
Location: Easy to walk to nearby restaurants or concerts
This is a wonderful historic building, a short walk from a large mall, with all the usual chain stores, there are also many chain restaurants as well as many local casual restaurants within a few blocks. The staff is very polite, however, the front desk staff should be educated about the neighborhood and be able to guide people (at least a little bit) about what to see, do and eat within a few blocks. There is a general lack of amenities: - No Parking (so either pay at a meter on the street or use a nearby lot). Free street parking from 7pm - 8am. - Free (stale) coffee is available in the lobby. (I only found one cool cafe for breakfast within walking distance - nothing in the building or within a couple blocks.) - Business travelers - may find the free wifi really slow, and none of the little touches that make business travel easier (no note pad or pen to jot down a note), no option for room service, no coffee pot in the room. The walls and floors are really thin - you can hear the conversations in the room next door and footsteps of the people above you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Nice historic hotel....great lounge

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Had a great stay...very quiet. Great beds and pretty good size rooms...high ceilings
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel is charming but....

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Old hotel is charming but floors are so old you can hear every movement. There is a lounge 2 doors down so heard music all night. Street noise was an issue too. Clean room though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Historic hotel in downtown Spokane

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The large rooms.
Cons: The carpets were dirty. Also, the coffee in the common room was gone by 7:30 a.m., so we had to settle for tea.
Location: The hotel is close to shopping, parks, restaurants and the Spokane Arena.
This is a very old hotel that has been remodeled. It is well maintained (except for worn, dirty carpets). It has spacious rooms and the common spaces have large antique buffets. The staff were nice and helpful. My main complaint is the noise. Our room was next to a busy street and on Friday night, there were loud trucks and bikes racing by until early morning. There was also a lot of train traffic next to the hotel that kept us awake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Noises galore!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
The facilities were nice, but the noises from the street, paired with squeaky floors, and thin walls were almost enough for me to pack my bags and find another hotel. The second floor sitting area was great and came with free tea and coffee, but a hotel that lacks the ability to provide the customer a sound night's rest is missing a crucial part to an enjoyable hotel stay. I'd avoid this place, or try and get a room away from the main road and on the top floor.