Ratings based on 1,267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Simple. A very old, seemingly historical hotel. Had charm. Rooms clean. Staff friendly. Checkin and checkout smooth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Spent two nights there. Does not have all the bells and whistles, but has a convenient location and a charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2015
Pleasant time. Staff very helpful. Location is not in the best area
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Poulsbo

Close to venues, But not only 3 stars max

Posted May 27, 2015
Quiet during the day, but noisey at night due to outdoor noise at the bar downstairs. Jets in tub were weak at best, and none of the rooms have coffee makers. Quaint common areas, but no food Available. Carpets are also in dire need of replacing, and there is no on site parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan

Comfortable old hotel on edge of downtown

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Very well located on edge of downtown area. Staff was very helpful.
Location: Right on the edge of downtown Spokane within walking distance of lots of pubs and restaurants.
Very clean hotel with decent rates, friendly staff and lots of character. Rooms are large, clean and quiet. A historical old hotel in good shape and full of interesting old furniture.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Nice Old Hotel

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: It was near the Cathedral of Our Lady of Lourdes.
Cons: The overall hotel needs some restoration. The hotel has to buy new carpets.
Location: There is Theater for live concerts at the front of the hotel.
The Hotel Building is on the list of Historic Buildings of America. This is a very old hotel. It has less than 50 rooms. The hotel rooms are spacious. It has a small flat screen TV placed in an old cabinet for old style televisions. It would have been better if the TV were placed in a console as it would be viewable in any part of the room. Hotel Check-In was VERY SLOW. The front desk Receptionist was very friendly but very slow. She said that she was having a problem with the speed of her computer. There was just ONE lady at the Check-In and we were six of us checking-in. The age of the building was showing off: very tired carpets and furniture. The sink in the room was also broken and I informed the front desk about it but nothing was done. The beds were okay. Room cleanliness was okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Spokane Business Trip

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Historical environment. Well kept. Built a good impression of the city.
Cons: Parking was across the street and pricy overnight.
Location: Very safe, no one wandering the streets. close to a performance hall. Free coffee. Fancy dining.
I checked in early. The furnisher and décor was very neat, expensive, solid, wooden. The receptionists were all very helpful. I felt it was a really good deal, and I had a great weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boise ID

New ownership has gone downhill

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Location: have to park on street and pay meters
Under new ownership this hotel has gone downhill and their website is not up to date. The restaurant attached is closed, no more room service. No more parking , you must park on the street and run a meter all day. The elevator was out of order and the sheets don't even fit the beds. Terrible will not be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2015
Great friendly staff, nice rooms clean, comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nelson, BC, Canada

Unique hotel in Spokane

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The rooms are large with high ceiling. All the rooms are on the outside of the building leaving the centre foyer open. So unique.
Cons: Some general upgrades and basic maintenance could be done. Some things in our room were a little neglected.
Location: Right downtown. Very convenient. Close to everything.
We really like this place. It offers something different from your run of the mill canned hotel that you constantly encounter these days. The Montvale is like something out of a 1930's movie and with class and flavour.