Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for the price

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: free breakfast was convenient
Cons: parking lot was a bit tough to navigate with the potholes at exit and the entrance was not clearly defined
close to UMass Amherst and other colleges. Also was convenient to restaurants, fast food, and shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay place to stay when visiting Amherst

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Close to the college for a tour and visit. There were a lot of shops near by. Free breakfast and wifii was nice.
Location: Museums at Amherst College.
We had a pretty nice stay but there were a lot of unattended, noisy kids that were staying there too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I am very sorry about the noisy kids that were here during your stay. We try our best to control noise in the hotel but unfortunately when we are sold out due to youth sports tournaments in the area it can sometimes be a difficult task! I hope you will choose to stay with us again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate, clean, just a little bit old

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Staff- see above
Cons: breakfast - see above
My stay was OK. The room was clean, the staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was minimal and crowded into two counters. I felt like I was bumping into other guests the whole time. A complimentary newspaper or local map would have been a nice touch, but these were not available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied. We do in fact offer complimentary newspapers, but on a sold out day we often run out of them quickly. I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to university

Posted May 18, 2014
Hotel very dated. Toilet did not stop running. Rugs dirty. Room dusty. Very poor condition with an astronomical cost. Absolutely ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay. Excellent service is something we strive for. I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the price

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the grout better
Comfortable beds, friendly staff. My only complaint grout in bath a little moldy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Unfortunately since our building is a bit on the older side we occassionaly have some grout issues in the bathrooms. I hope you will stay with us again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beds too small

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bedding
We stayed in a standard room with two beds(thinking they would be queen size)The beds are too small for two adults. They were doubles. The blankets were itchy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am very sorry about the confusion with what size bed your room would have. All our standard rooms have either two double beds or one king bed. We also offer Business Class Suites with one queen bed and a pull out couch. I hope you will choose to stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: I used to smoke. Should make it a non smoking hotel. Lots of potholes in parking lot. Very clean room but the hotel needs to be upgraded
Super friendly staff. Invest the money to upgrade the hotel. my room was very vlean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Howard Johnson in Hadley! I am so glad you evjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Rochester NY

Huge room close to UMass campus

Posted Apr 17, 2014
We stayed here before a visit to UMass. The room was huge and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom had a mildewy smell to it but it wasn't the shower curtain as I had first suspected. But it was clean and the water pressure was fine once the temperature regulated. Overall, the room was very nice for the price and the location was perfect for getting up the next day for our tour of the University.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Howard Johnson in Hadley! I am so glad that you were happy with your stay and that our location was convenient for your campus tour! I hope you will stay with us again next tiem you visit UMass!
1 out of 5
by Chassika from New Jersey

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Good location but needs a complete overhaul.
Location: This was just an overnighter.
Was given room with clogged bathtub drain; it had about a quarter of an inch of water in the tub. Obviously room not checked before assigning it. Mildewed tiles. Old furniture, run down and depressing. Breakfast bare bones and sad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I will be addressing the issues you expereinced with our housekeeping department to ensure that they do not continue to be problems. I hope you will choose to stay with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by justin

The tub

Posted Mar 21, 2014
The tub won't drain unless you push on the actual drain piece and it flips vertically. They should tell you this beforehand. The room had a lot of negative space, interior decorator needed. Otherwise clean, fairly comfy, nice staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'd like to let you know that we are in the process of painting some or our rooms to make them more homey. I hope you will choose to stay with us again!