Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathrooms NOT Clean.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: location
Room was in the front and noisy due to truck traffic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apology that our bathrooms did not meet your expectations. We endeavor to provide a clean and affordable accommodation and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to white water rafting

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly.
Cons: Breakfast. Serve more than sweet items.
Location: Close to UMASS, downtown Amerst and Hadley.
Even though lacrosse tournament players were staying there, it was very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Enjoyed our stay....centrally located.....affordable....clean and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2015
top notch. very friendly and helpful. they let us stay until 1 pm on sunday since we were attending the graduation at Amherst College.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by M. Crouss, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the Howard Johnson in Hadley! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to accommodate a late check-out for you! I hope you and your family will stay with us again if you come back to visit the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Comfy & Quiet

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Customer service, hands down.
Location: Close to conveniences (Target, Walmart, gas stations). Ten to fifteen minute drive to Northampton, where there are a lot of cute shops and art fairs.
Despite it being graduation weekend AND Memorial Day Weekend, it was quite a pleasant stay. The journey up was tiring and exhausting, so that their beds were top notch helped a ton in getting a GREAT night's sleep. The staff were so courteous and pleasant and very helpful. The price was kind of steep ($180/night), but seeing as it was a holiday weekend, it was fine, and the level of customer service made it worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2015 by M. Crouss, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Howard Johnson in Hadley! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our property. Excellent customer service is our top priority, especially on dates when we are in high demand! We want our guests to receive the best quality we can offer, and it seems that you received just that. I hope we will see you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Easy access to area colleges

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Easy access from where we needed to be.
Cons: Although the rooms are older in style, the breakfast was ample, and tasty. The staff was friendly and helpful.
In an area of 5 colleges, this was a great location to sleep while in the area for graduation.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by M. Crouss, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our closeness to the area colleges is definitely an added value to our service, especially on a busy graduation weekend! I hope you will stay with us again if you are ever visiting the area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of cigarette smoke

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: It was conveniently located
There are few hotels that allow smoking in any of their rooms. Howard Johnson is one of them. I missed this fact when making a reservation here. Our room was a smoking room. It had a terrible smell of cigarette smoke. Even the common areas were affected in this way. The only other issue was that we checked in as a part of three and found the pull out bed unmade. I requested linens and was brought sheets, but no blanket. Eventually a blanket was brought. The pull-out couch was situated such that when it opened it blocked access to the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2015 by Maylin C, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you mistaking reserved a smoking room. If it had not been such a busy weekend, we would have been more than happy to move you into a non-smoking room. Unfortunately we were unable to do that due to being sold out. We do keep some smoking rooms in our hotel, since we actually do have quite some demand for them. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again, and we can do our best to get you into a non-smoking room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Cons: They ran out of coffee. Only one person handling front desk, and complementary breakfast area at 8:00
They ran out of coffee. Only one person handling front desk, and complementary breakfast area at 8:00
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2015 by M. Crouss, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I'm sorry we ran out of coffee. We typically have more than one person working the desk and the breakfast area. Unfortunately, we all have experienced occasions where something happens that leaves you short-handed. We always try to work the best we can to accomplish all the task at hand! I hope you will stay with us again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: location, staff was friendly
Good location near U Mass Amherst. Lighting was dim in room, AC kept going off and on all night. About 20 of the cable TV stations did not work. Bath tub would not drain.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Maylin C., Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm sorry you had some issues. We recently had an update to our cable package through our provider, and unfortunately there were some issues with some channels that we are in the process of rectifying. I hope you will choose to stay with us again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rooms were in need of an serious update

Posted May 9, 2015
We were in Amherst for a graduation and needed a hotel close to the University.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2015 by M. Crouss, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry you found our rooms to be outdated. We have recently added some new furniture and fixtures to our rooms to give them an updated feel, and we are always looking for more ways we can improve our guest experience. I hope you will choose to give us another try in the future.