Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mundelein, IL

Hotel Near Many Historical Landmarks

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: This hotel is located within a short walking distance to many historical landmarks and sights.
Location: Nearby are the old & current State Capitol Buildings, Lincoln's home, Lincoln Museum & Library, Lincoln & Herndon Law Office, & Governor's Manson
The hotel staff was very accommodating during our stay, and this hotel chain's traditional warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in is always a nice touch. Except for the temperature being a little on the cool side, our room was very comfortable. In fact, the temperature in both our room and the hotel in general was a little too cool for total comfort for the time of year we were there. Also, the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan, which caused the mirror to fog up and didn't allow the bath towels to dry out overnight. Other than that, the restaurant connected to the hotel had a nice variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner menu items from which to choose, and the prices were reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
Madeleine, Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the cookie upon checkin and found our restaurant to be to your liking! I apologize for the temperature in your room for being a little cooler than you would like. I will relay the information to the appropriate person to make sure we are maintaining a comfortable temperature in the future. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to springfield!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Hotel was awesome. Luxurious, friendly staff. Pool was way too cold! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
Thank you for your complimentary review! I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and our awesome staff! My apologies for the pool temperature. I will pass on that information. Thanks again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Staunton IL

Near to Springfield's HIghlights

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to the places I wanted to go.
Cons: The restaurant was hidden and with a Starbucks across the street, I think not well used.
Location: Farmers' Market on Wednesday and Saturday, President LIncoln's Museum, LIncoln's Home, etc. are all close by.
This is a nice hotel, close to the capitol, Lincoln museums, convention center, etc. There is a pay parking facility adjoining the building, several restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
William, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found our location to be convenient! Please come back and see us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alabama

location perfect

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: separate parking cost
Loved the Lincoln experience, if you want a review beyond this forget it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location -- staff was wonderful!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
We had a great time in Springfield and this hotel was wonderful!! The staff was fantastic, prompt, friendly, helpful and we loved the cookies too!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate you recognizing our staff that works very hard to make our guests have the best experience possible. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Springfield.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great price and location. Room was very clean and staff attentive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Pool and hot tub. The look and feel of it (decor, etc). The accent of the guy on reception.
Cons: Not a lot. Free parking would have been nice but the multi-story next door was convenient and decent value.
Location: In two words: Abraham Lincoln. Lots and lots of Abraham Lincoln.
Room was a good size and well kept. Decor is pretty classy. Hotel restaurant and bar was very nice. Impressive reception and lobby area. The pool and gym area was well maintained and remained open late. Staff were very pleasant, polite and helpful. The Hilton next door looks like a phallus. If you like stuff that isn't Abraham Lincoln you may struggle to find things to do in Springfield but if you're into the Big Man you can fill your boots!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
Thank you for your complimentary review. I'm happy to hear about all of the amentities you enjoyed during your stay. Please return when your travels bring you back to Springfield!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Catlin, IL

Hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We didn't get the king bed I asked for- we had 2 small beds on a handicap accessible room. The pillows were very small & uncomfortable. The staff was great & the place seemed clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danville

Misleading Information

Posted Aug 12, 2014
I was specifically looking for a hotel where the minimum check-in age was 18. I went through Expedia to book my room and among the information listed about the hotel was the assurance that the minimum check-in age was 18. I arrived at the hotel to check-in, only to be told that the minimum check-in age was 21 and that I was unable to check-in, being only 20. I was understandably upset, it was late at night and I had made the reservation well in advance. It was only after much arguing on my part and pointing out that the check-in age was listed as 18 on the confirmation I had printed out that I was finally allowed to check-in. I doubt I will be using Expedia or the Abraham Lincoln Doubletree again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your troubles at check in and the misleading information you received. I will make sure that all sites show accurate information. Again, I'm very sorry for your troubles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Close to downtown yes but...

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The parking at the hotel was horribly confusing, not marked well at all in a parking deck that is shared with the towns convention center. I found it not user friendly at all. The hotel was nice itself but for what u pay it should include a free breakfast and free parking!! The bathrooms in the room are WAY to small and the room should have a fridge and a microwave in it also for what u are paying for the room!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by Miranda M, Hotel Management
Karen, Thank you for your review, we appreciate every guests comments. I apologize for the trouble you had with the parking garage. Unfortunately the garage is owned by the convention center . Next time you stay with us you can request a refridgerator for your room. We are working on getting refrigerator in all of the rooms. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make things right for you.