Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Under massive renovation

Posted May 18, 2014
Under major renovation, most room doors were standing open, mattresses piled in the hallway, paint smell horible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2014 by Janae, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay with us. We work tirelessly to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry for the problems you encountered during your visit in particular with the construction noise, smells and mattresses. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and have come to expect from us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Staybridge Suites South in Springfield for your travel needs. Sincerely, Janae Warwick -AGM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristen from Libertyville

Nice-ish place

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is nice enough. Rooms are great size with a separate bedroom from living room and kitchen. However room cleanliness is just ok. Our pullout couch still had the previous guests linens on it. When I went to front desk to tell them the lady said "that's okay, I can get you fresh linens or you can look in your closet for some"..so she handed me sheets and I changed the linens..and there were previous guests coffee drips on our counter and dishwasher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Charlene Alexander from Springfield

Inexperienced Staff

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It appears that our Hotel staff was few teenagers, when checking in we were given a key and no directions on how to find the room or where to park. Saturday morning seemed very nice and breakfast was very crowded however there as plenty of selection for all. Sunday morning early/ first thing there were no sweet rolls and shelves appeared to have crumbs from Saturday. there were a few bagels and bread along with eggs and waffles.I can understand maybe not having a full selection like Saturday, however The dirty shelves were not appropriate. Many of the tables were dirty again appearing to be left over from Saturday. As we were leaving several times we were crossing paths with the staff returning from the smoking area and not even eye contact or a hello. When we were dropping off keys to check out we couldn't find anyone at the front desk or the social area. We just left the keys on the counter. We would like to return again since we come to that part of town frequently, however would like to feel a little more welcomed and wanted. The room itself was clean however there was tape all over the room as if someone had a party and pulled down streamers but were too lazy to get a chair and pull the tape off the furniture and ceiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Southeren IL

great place for family and privacy

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: 2 tvs and separate bedroom
Cons: night shift had not picked up towels trash etc from indoor pool area and were no towels when I went down in the morning, had to go ask for some
Location: /right off the interstate with food and shopping nearby
love the set up and price of these new clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristen from Belleville

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it! Very quiet and relaxing! I would definitely come back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, but

Posted Nov 26, 2013
This would be a 5 star review except for the incompetant house keeping staff. Stayed here 8 nights and 3 times never made bed, emptied trash, or reaced towels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julie M from Springfield IL

Would definitely stay here again.

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really liked this facility. The staff at the desk were helpful and polite. However, the no-smoking room had a strong smell of cigarettes and we tried to air it out by opening the windows. This did help by the time we came back and the staff may have come in and sprayed something since I reported it before we left. Also- was it really necessary for the construction outside the hotel- on their grounds- to start at 8 am on a Sunday morning??? I would have been plenty peeved if I had had a late night out and wanted to sleep in. The issues were either temporary or something that could be dealt with and our stay overall was very pleasant. I must add, watch out for the cold gravy at breakfast:(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleased with hotel property & price.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: location
Location: Springfield has so many things to do, capitol building, Lincoln sites & other historical homes. This hotel is convenient to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Things to work on

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was friendly. This is a limited service hotel. This was however the first time that we were bombarded with requests for tips from the cleaning staff; to the point that one day our room was not cleaned (do not disturb sign was on the door) and a note was stuck into the door saying that so & so had cleaned our room that day and if we like the service he would appreciate a tip being left at the front desk for him!