Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel/friendly staff

Posted Aug 21, 2014
We chose this hotel because it was close to things we wanted to see. It was certainly comfortable and a good value. The staff was helpful with suggestions for things to see and where to dine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: I didn't know it was an historic building. Beds were comfortable. I enjoyed the morning breakfast provided. Staff was great.
Cons: I wish it had a restaurant in the facility. There were many good ones near by.
Location: I was on business.
I was concerned about staying there. I had never heard of it. It was really good. Just across the street is the Capital building. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The price is excellent. The location is nice. The retro look might not have been on purpose but I enjoyed that too.
Location: The location provides convenient access to a lot of Illinois government facilities and historical sites.
The hotel is located two blocks away from the state capital and many attractions are within walking distance. The interior of the room suggested that it hasn't been updated since the 60s but all was in good condition and very clean. In fact I enjoyed a retro look. The mattresses were firm, and I got a good night's sleep. Shower water heated up quickly and there was coffee in the room to get me started. The included breakfast wasn't 5 star but tasty and filling. The staff was personable and chatty if they weren't too busy and you want a little conversation on the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

State Room close to attractions

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Sheets would not stay on bed any night and mattress was not great
Location: Old State Capital - great view. short walk to food and short drive to attractions. Downtown has plenty of vacancy
Bed was not great but staff and location worked great. Breakfast was good. Have a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great stop in Springfield

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spacious suite and easy access with free parking, pleasant breakfast included, and overall a convenient and good choice for Springfield.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff Lightburn from Ridgefield, WA

Looking for Lincoln

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is located in a convenient setting downtown, making it easy to drive to any number of visitor destinations. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast is provided and makes your stay a good value. Rooms are comfortable, and my only slight concern was the wood bed frame. When you sit down on the comfortable mattress, you sink down a bit--leaving your legs & feet dangling over the top. Makes getting into and out of bed interesting! That said, we would stay again. One last salute goes out to the ladies staffing the breakfast bar-- they are so helpful and courteous that it starts your day off with a smile. Looking for Lincoln points of interest near by? Check out the Lincoln Museum and Lincoln home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bob from Chicago

Nice Place

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a one night stay for a conference. Room was big and clean. Bathroom was clean. Water pressure good. Staff was friendly and the location was great because my conference was in the hotel. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting the Capital and other historic places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Leah from Canton, IL

Downtown ease

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best breakfast ever. Close to everything downtown. We have stayed here at least 5 times in the last 2 years. We attend events in the downtown area and this is close enough to walk. The rooms are very clean and perfect for what we need. Not the biggest rooms you have ever seen, but since we are there for other reasons it is great. The pillows are the smallest I have ever seen, this is my only problem, they are square and they put 3 on a bed. Remember to ask for extras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance of everything .

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, great location.