Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Everyoneby A verified travelerfrom Perth West Aust
Location, Staff and FacilitiesPosted Apr 21, 2015
This hotel/resort is well located on a beautiful quite beach in a small town about half way between Colombo & Galle - an reasonable train ride from both. There is plenty to keep you occupied within a 30km radius; including a boat ride along the Bentota river and a small gem mine. It has all the facilities you could require and the staff are delightful. I can recommend the Avanti!
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Hotel mit dem schönsten Strand Sri Lankas!Posted Feb 5, 2015
Das Hotel ist in hervorsgendem Zustand. Das Frühstücks- und Abendbuffet liessen keine Wünsche offen. Der Strand und die Pools waren die besten, die wir in Sri Lanka gesehen haben.
for Couplesby Julia
Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
for Familiesby A verified travelerfrom London
Great hotel, wonderful staffPosted Dec 23, 2014
I won't comment much about the hotel itself, it is very mice, just a few meters from the beach and rooms are clean and spacious. What I would like to point out is how attentive and generally super kind the hotel staff is. We spent three nights there and out 1 year old daughter was sick, so we barely left the room. The staff has been wonderful, they were calling us to check how things were, they prepared special food, sent a doctor and even bought a doll for the little one (she is all well now). A big thank you for making our stay so lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2014 by Laksitha Wegodapola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are delighted to know that you appreciate our warm hospitality. Thank you for leaving us a review. It is great to know that your daughter is well now and that you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of her ill condition. Our interest is in making each guest stay a wonderful and memorable one; therefore we are glad to know that you appreciate the efforts of our associates in providing genuine heartfelt hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you again at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa! Yours sincerely, Thomas Barguil General Manager
for Everyoneby A verified travelerfrom London
Nice hotel, beach and pool watch out for train!Posted Dec 7, 2014
A lovely hotel and amazing staff (although hard to tell whether they are genuinely being nice or angling for a tip), location is great for the beach, but you will hear a few trains rumbling past each day who don't hold back on using the horn whatever time of day or night it is. We had a small child with us, the hotel wasn't perfectly set up for this - only one child seat between the 3 onsite restaurants and no other facilities. That said, we had a lovely time and would return given the opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2014 by Laksitha Wegodapola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a review about your recent stay at AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa! It is great to know that you had a nice stay with us and found the hotel to be lovely and our associates to be great. I’m glad to know that you found the beach stretch of our hotel to be great, many patrons of our hotel enjoy the this beach stretch to take long walks in the soft sand. I’m sorry to know that you were disturbed by the noise of the trains. However the railway line and Bentota station situated close to our hotel has been beneficial to many guests who travel by train and given some others the opportunity to experience a local train ride to towns close by. In fact, the Bentota Station was also designed by the famous architect Geoffrey Bawa who designed our hotel. I’m sorry that you felt our hotel was not too child friendly, but please be assured that we will look into ways we could improve this aspect as well. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family to our warm hospitality again next year! Yours sincerely, Thomas Barguil General Manager
by A verified travelerfrom London
Good design and location, poor managementPosted Nov 24, 2014
Location: Great beach, some watersports.
We had stayed here before and really like Sri Lanka, so wanted to come back. The positives are a good design and location - well sized rooms, overlooking the sea, a good sized pool and a nice spa. The beach at Bentota is still pretty empty for such a lovely location. However the management of the hotel is very poor compared to other hotels in Sri Lanka and particularly for the price. We waited two hours to check in, in order to get a room with a better view. We wouldn't have minded but the surly receptionist insisted there was nothing available but as it turned out there was. This seemed to be a general problem compared to the friendly experience everywhere else. The manager came to see his corporate guests but entirely ignored everyone else. Maintaince and detail were missing - we had a broken light, broken toilet seat, broken coffee machine, missing bath robes. The Internet is so slow we gave up trying. The evening buffet needs to be avoided altogether. It is overpriced (and we like good restaurants), poor quality and most of the dishes were empty early and not replaced. The other restaurant is much better although was empty, and the same with the bar. There are some lovely seafood restaurants nearby and better bars in other hotels (we went to the nearby Taj). Basically this could be a good hotel, but is being run with a focus only on cost. Given the high standards and warmth we found everywhere else during our stay I'd recommend looking elsewhere in Bentota.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Laksitha Wegodapola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a review about your recent stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the design and location of our hotel. It is great to know that you thought your room was spacious with a view overlooking the sea, a good sized pool and nice Spa. We hope you were able to enjoy a Spa treatment during your stay with us. It is disappointing to know that you felt inconvenienced during your check-in, as our aim is to ensure each guest has a smooth and quick check-in without any delays. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. The Housekeeping team regrets that you had to face inconveniences with the amenities in the room, and this was a serious lapse on our part. We conduct regular price audits on all facilities offered at a cost, especially the food and beverages. We have taken your comments regarding pricing very seriously and will pay special attention to the same at our next audit. Thank you for your comments. I sincerely hope the negative encounters at our hotel will not hold you back from visiting us again, as we will make improvements in all areas mentioned to provide a better and memorable experience the next time you visit us. Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again! Yours sincerely, Thomas Barguil General Manager
for Couplesby A verified traveler
Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Recommendedby A verified traveler
Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
for Everyoneby A verified travelerfrom Hyderabad
Overall it was very nice and comfortable.Posted Oct 2, 2014
Everything about the hotel was lovely, however we lost our room key when we went down to the beach and was charged a whopping 5000 sri Lankan rupee. Apart from that we had a wonderful holiday at Avani Bentota.
for Familiesby A verified travelerfrom Bangalore India
Great experience for a beach resort!Posted Aug 24, 2014
Great place, great location! beach just 100 meters, pool 50 meters, amazing rooms & great view, great staff ( helped us with early check-in) and always ready to help. Other attractions near by - Bentota river, water sports, great local market 10 minutes walk from hotel for small souvenirs. The only thing perhaps that can be improved is a) room service experience b) more variety in food during breakfast and dinner Bharat