Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Good hotel near to the beach and bay

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness Comfort Food Hotel staff
Cons: Rooms having interconnected door facility to open to the other room, should be sound proof through the interconnected door.
Location: Nice quiet location
Hotel is away from the busy towns and in a very quiet natural environment not far away from Colombo. Close to the beach surrounded by coconut palms with well maintained gardens. Birds and squirrels are to be seen in the area and very soothing to the eye. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent with lot of varieties in Sri Lankan and Western style. Definitely would like to go back there and recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel with nive room's view

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: it's facilities
I liked this hotel ,, every thing in it is good. you can spend your day on it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Avani Kalutara Resort

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Alles, das Essen war sehr abwechslungsreich, für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei!
Location: Land + Leute Tour mit dem Tuk Tuk
Das Hotel liegt auf einer Halbinsel. Wir hatten die Zimmer zur Lagune. Das Personal war sehr freundlich. Einzig der Strand war nicht so, wie man es sich vorstellt. Wir würden das Hotel aber empfehlen. Das Weihnachte- und Silvesterarrangement war hervorragend. Wir haben den Aufenthalt sehr genossen. Publikum war international, aber keine Russen, die sich nicht benehmen können.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Olivierfrom Lyon

Mauvais rapport qualité prix, pas un 4 étoile

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Voyage pour fin d'année 2014, 5 jours dont le nouvel an avec 3 ados. Très déçu par cet hôtel qui affiche un très mauvais rapport qualité prix. L'hôtel, la déco, la propreté la piscine et le cadre sont pourtant au rendez-vous. Les chambres sont très bruyantes : dès 8h du matin c'est un véritable hall de gare. Les personnes qui s'occupent des chambres sont très intrusifs si vous ne mettez pas vite le panneau "do not disturb". Les repas sont très moyen, en tout cas pas au niveau attendu dans un 4 étoiles. L'hôtel étant plutôt isolé, difficile de trouver refuge dans un restaurant proche. Le service est d'une lenteur affligeante : pour les repas de midi compter 45 à 60 minutes pour le premier plat ... les suivants arriveront dans les 20 minutes s'ils n'ont pas été oubliés! Coté WIFI c'est nul : partez du principe qu'il n'y en a pas : déconnexion permanente et procédure de reconnexion via un site très lent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Laksitha Wegodapola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It is disappointing to know that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and found the rooms to be noisy. Many patrons of our hotel find our associates to be very helpful and friendly. Therefore it is sad to know that you found them to be intrusive instead. The team has been advised to be more hospitable in their approach in future. Our culinary team is disappointed to know that you felt the food was average and that it did not meet your expectation. Please accept my apologies once again for your disappointment, as I mentioned to you on your review on Trip Advisor regarding the new year’s eve supplement which was collected upon arrival, as this information was indicated on the terms and conditions applicable for your booking. However, as mentioned earlier, kindly note that the new year’s eve supplement is a compulsory payment as practiced and collected by many other hotels in Sri Lanka. I sincerely hope that the negative encounters you had during your stay with us will not hold you back from returning to our hotel. Please be assured that our teams have been informed of your feedback and will improve each aspect mentioned. We are a hotel driven by the passion of our staff to make each stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. It would be great to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. We look forward to your return! Yours sincerely, Thomas Barguil General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Great facilities

Posted Dec 27, 2014
This is a wonderful place that is hiddeN away. IF you like being in a secluded place and lover massages, being lazy and meeting people from all over the world; this is it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

Nice hotel, but too commercial...

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Avani room was lovely including the sea view. The location of the hotel is good too - the building works mentioned in the Expedia write up didn't affect our stay in the slightest. The staff too were very helpful apart from being a bit slow to check us in and out. The hotel is very geared towards western tourists and families in particular. If your thing is to chill out by a pool whilst the kids occupy themselves, this is the one for you. For this though, you pay a premium, not Sri Lanka prices. Drinks and food are quite expensive. The resort is well guarded by security, but local traders are constantly trying to get business from the fencing surrounding the resort. Same is true if you venture on to the beach too. All in all, a nice enough stay, but we generally prefer something a little quieter and more authentic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John Birchallfrom China

Nice location

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very pleasant stay at Avani. Unfortunately they have this silly custom of not selling alcohol on a night of a full moon. In our case this coincided with a Saturday evening of our two night stay. I feel this should have been communicated in advance at time of booking or a discount made to the room rate to compensate for the lack of an advertised facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tor Kafrom No

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
By all means. This hotel is nice and it was nice to stay there for a few days. A few improvements would increase the total experience. Internet should be improved. Policy for where people could smoke for themselves. Training of staff should be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sivakumarfrom Coimbatore

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very relaxing and enjoyable, great location and good deal