Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amritsar, Punjab,india

Kandy a relaxation spot

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Kandy was colder place than rest of Sri Lanka , Amaya Hills apparently is the best place to stay over there , it is surrounded by very green hills . The hotel management has grown lot of flowers which complement the surroundings further
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexander from Australia

Run to the hills of Kandy

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our impressions of Amaya Hills was what I would call a "developed world traveller friendly" hotel, catering to the tourist that wants to experience a new country but not leave their creature comforts behind. The rooms may seem cozy, but considering the multitude of things to do in the hotel and also in Kandy (which was a 600 rupee tuk-tuk ride into town) the room is where you sleep. Get a package that includes a meal (breakfast), because the food buffet spread caters to every person's taste, including a very good representation of the local curries and egg hoppers. Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful during our time there. We spent a lot of time staring longingly over the amazing view from the balconies, wishing that we didn't have to leave so soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Hotel high up in the hills

Posted Dec 30, 2013
We were there as a family over Christmas. Difficult winding road up to the hotel. Great views of the surrounding area, with fantastic sunset experience. However, hotel looks old and can do with a fresh coat of paint. Meals at the restaurant were average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dipankar from Mumbai, India

A must-stay place, good enough just for staying!

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Courteous and cooperative staff, location
Cons: Check in and checkout need to be faster
Location: Up in the hills, 6km from the base. One can do nice treks starting almost immediately at the hotel. There is decent sports/recreation at the hotel.
Superb location, away from Kandy city, yet not too hard to access. Rooms are great, clean and well-serviced. So are the pool and table tennis facilities. The main restaurant has enough tables for the buffer breakfast not to become a crowded affair. What is probably less obvious is that their a la carte menus are also fabulous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful views from the rooms, weak on service

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were disappointed with the Amaya Hills. The big plus of this hotel is the view. The rooms have semi-private patios which overlook a stunning view of the surrounding hills. The rooms are nice, but are let down badly by the bathrooms which are in need of modernisation: strip lighting, a single jet for a shower and cramped. The food was fine, but service was slow and, on occasion, on the verge of being pointed and rude. The real negative of our visit were several families with loud and aggressive children who monopolised an otherwise lovely pool. This affected everyone else and the pool was surrounded by people who didn't swim. I really don't mind sharing a pool with playful children and I don't expect them to be silent, but these were being unruly: screaming and diving out in front of other swimmers. We complained to the hotel manager who showed no interest in addressing our complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebel

good location with a fantastic view of the hills.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Staff very attentive, check in was fast . No time wasted waiting for room to get ready. Room 46 was a bit far for seniors,. but it had a lovely view,and we enjoyed our stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jess from Australia

Disappointing service

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
For the prestige of the Amaya name, I was most disappointed with the service at Amaya Hills. The quality of location and buildings was fantastic but the service was often disorganised, less than professional, or downright confusing. Poor communication at the front desk resulted in our hotel-organised transport not taking us to one of our destinations that we had requested, resulting in a fair degree of disappointment. Our massage had to be cancelled because the staff had overbooked. Checking out took over 45 minutes. Poor service from an otherwise quality hotel. Recieved better service at lower star hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dave from sri lanka

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fab
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mustafa from Saudi Arabia - Riyadh

Nice hotel with very nice view

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: View and its not far rom the city
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shops and sea food
If u want to relax and enjoy ur time, this is the best place to go for, try not to take this hotel when saudi people have vacation, as they will disturb ur vacation with children sounds and radio with very loud sound