Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fleurie

Satisfactory for short stay.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The setting overlooking the river. The variety of food was good
Cons: There was a lack of enough loungers at times owing to large groups being catered for. Cafe C was disappointing and had little atmosphere.
Stayed for 3 nights in order to visit various sites around Kandy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from England

One night stay

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Location: Take some socks to wear when you visit the temples - you need to remove shoes and hats and the floors can be very hot and sometimes stony !!
Superb hotel. Nice pool, friendly staff. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view!

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Nice hotel with a beautiful view of the river. Good food and friendly staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by London Worker Bee from London

Rural Hotel - a get away from hustle and bustle

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have mixed views of this hotel, its a long way out from most places and it takes some winding roads to get there. Hotel is pleasant enough, room was clean, pool area clean. Unfortunately we had money stolen from our room - and are still waiting to hear from them on any update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M&M from TX

Beautiful hotel overlooking a river in Candy, SL

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Very competent staff, great food, clean, wonderful views and river; great landscaped areas and walking paths.
Location: Nicely located in a quite neighborhood in Kandy in a scenic road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

very nice hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2013
relaxing ,the food is nice.nice viwe and location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Satish Narayan from Dubai

You need to have a transport if you stay here.

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I am not the one to complain or take things too seriously but was more than a bit peeved when upon checking in, I was asked by the front desk Manager if I did not receive a mail from hotels.com informing me that my confirmed booking with them has been cancelled and they have moved me to another hotel not too far!!! I was told that hotels.com did not close my confirmation and hence it was double booked. I had to stand my ground and refused to move unless they gave me the room I have booked and paid which they eventually did but the drama in front of my wife left me feeling cheap, cheated and fuming! Not the best way to start a holiday you have been planning for nearly three months! A basket of fruits followed us almost automatically to the room (their way of saying sorry) and also later in the evening the front desk Manager bumped into me in the lounge and apologized but the damage was done....please don't mistKe that I mean an absolutely irreparable damage was done but the rather unpleasant start did not leave a good taste in the mind and did not set a good tone to our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from UK

The best of the big hotels

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Great bar/dining area Comfortable, well-equipped rooms Awesome pool Wonderful staff
Cons: Better buffet - value for money Robes and slippers in the room
Location: It is a little way out of Kandy (2km) so it depends whether you want to be in the thick of things or not.
We absoltuely loved our stay at Cinammon Citadel. It is based slightly outside of Kandy so you will need to use taxi or tuk tuks to explore the town. However as Kandy is a very hectic town it is quite nice to be slightly removed from the hustle and bustle. The main bar area over looks the pool which is absolutely stunning and there's a beautiful lake to the right too. The a la carte menu is great with a wide variety of foods, however watch out for the evening buffet as I found this quite over priced for what is was and they seemed to just bill us for random dishes rather than for the buffet. The staff were lovely and always very attentive and they had live music for both the nights I stayed there. The rooms were great with a large bathroom and power shower, comfy beds with proper duvets and the turning down service was a lovely touch. There was the added bonus of free wifi in the rooms, great views over the pool/garden/lake from the balcony and satellite tv in the rooms. All in all a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel, as well as the Cinammon chain in general.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Staff was great, services was great and food was amazing
Cons: Better directions to get there, or some signs along the way. Should not leave customers to their own devices to find the place.
My wife and I stayed over for a few days. We also held a lunch event for a few friends to celebrate our recent wedding. Citadel was amazing in every respect. They worked tirelessly to present an amazing lunch for us which friends and family are still complimenting us for. The food was amazing both at the event and hotel in general. The staff was courteous and most of all, went out of their way to help us and make sure we had a great experience there. We loved it so much we wanted to stay another night - but unfortunately the hotel was completely booked! A testament to the hotels quality. Thanks for an amazing stay! We'll be back.