Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, USA

Great location!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: I liked that the hotel was located in the heart of Colombo.
Location: Many shops, temples, restaurants around the hotel.
It is a really huge and nice hotel. The lobby is very elegant and the staff was friendly. The room was just ok for me--it is an older hotel overall. It is a good hotel to stay for a business meeting, convention, etc. because of its location. If you are on vacation and want to relax, I would recommend other hotels outside Colombo that are closer to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Durban, South Africa

Excellent location. Terrific service.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Should be your number one choice of hotel in Colombo! The service was great. Check in and out quick. Allowed late check out without any hassle at all. Overall highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, Perfect Location, Friendly Staff, Excellent Food!
Cons: Gym Facilities
Clean, Perfect Location, Friendly Staff, Excellent Food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

完全なる快適空間

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: レストランも何種類もあって食事がいろいろと楽しめます。
Location: ホテルの敷地から出ると別世界です。
コロンボ市内は、慣れがないと楽しみ方が難しいところ。一方でちゃんとしたホテルで先進国並みの環境を求めるならここはほぼ日本の有名ホテルのクオリティーで、値段は半分です。私は1泊あたり3万円弱の部屋に泊まりましたが都内だと7〜8万円の雰囲気ですね。ホテル内にはレストランや隣接ショップも充実しており安心して滞在できます。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

All on one hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2014
With 13 outlets in the hotel besides the spa/gym/pool n a shopping complex next door- very convenient. Staff very helpful n friendly. Thk you n will recommend yr hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Has potential

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The hotel presents well, but probably needs some maintenance work done (room door sticking, towel rail surround coming off). Staff are helpful and polite, but need more training and authority (everything had to be referred to manager, we wanted to extend our stay due to a late night flight, but the rate they offered was more than what I could get on expedia, and rather than matching or bettering the rate, the person at reception suggest I book through Expedia, so he either didn't have the authority to reduce their rate, or they could not care less that not only would they get less, the hotel would also be paying a commission). There are many staff around, but they do not seem efficient. Some examples include: - To extend our stay, we had to check out on one side of the reception, then check in on the other side. - Many waiters around the restaurant, but our glasses were never refilled. Had to ask for it to be done. - When we checked in, our paperwork was not ready, so we were asked to return in an hour to check in; when we returned, there was a "queue" (3 others checking in, with 3 reception desk staff), so after 10 minutes, we were asked to again return in an hour. We asked for someone to come up to our room to complete the paperwork, at which point they promised someone would be up in half an hour; two hours later, no one came. There is a lot of potential for the hotel, as the location is very convenient, but isn't yet up to international standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Room, Dodgy Tour Agent

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Restaurants, pool, ease of access to the mall
Cons: Staff should be more helpful
Location: Sightseeing
Hotel Room: Rooms looked like it had not been cleaned for ages - dirty and stained towels (with hair), hair in bath tub, white paste of some sort on door and drawers, dusty cupboards, dusty tables. I made a complaint, and the hotel gave me and 8th floor room with a nice view. Why didnt they do that in the first place? Hospitality lounge: Not very hospitable as there were dirty cups and glasses on table, used tissue as well. Hotel Tour agency: Dishonest and overpriced. I booked a 12 seater van and offered to pay, the agent told us to turn up at 7am and we did, but there was no van and no tour guide. They offered me an alternative option i.e. hotel cabs, which cost more than double the original quote. I was not a happy woman. We managed to get someone from another hotel for our trip to Kandy and Elephant Sanctuary. Hotel Coffee Shop: Twice they tried to overcharge me.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

スタッフに良し悪しがあるホテル。

Posted Oct 19, 2014
エクスペディアで予約すると苦労するホテル。 チェックイン時予約が入ってないと言われ、スタッフを変わってもらったらチェックインができた。 延泊する為、再予約をエクスペディアでするとまた入ってないと言われ現地の人に確認して頂いてやっとチェックインできた。 清掃係はチィップをもらいたいが為、しつこく部屋に来る。 買い物には便利だが、車が引っ切り無しに来るためドライバーを待たせて置けない。 ただ、大きい髭のドアマンは日本語で挨拶をしてくれて好感がもてる。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location and ambience
Location: The trip was for business and I didn't have time to do any sightseeing.
Great location for the business meetings I had in Colombo, very relaxing hotel, with very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Five star service as promised

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Cinnamon Grand is a good hotel, worth the money if you're looking to stay at a comfortable hotel without the hassle of dealing with budget accommodation, of which there are plenty of good options in/near Colombo. The service is good and the rooms are clean and well kept, although they are a bit on the smaller side in size. It is in walking distance to Galle Face Beach and Galle Face Green park, and has a good footrub place in Crescat Tower right next door. The hotel has a couple of good restaurants. Chutneys, the Indian restaurant, has exceptionally good Biriyani. All in all, a good place to stay in Colombo.