Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr.SSB from Riyadh, KSA

Excellent hotel in an oasis....centrally located.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Gives you the feeling of a true Srilankan /Tropical feel.
Cons: The Coffe shop...needs more seating and staff.
Location: Walking distance to the Gall Face promenade .....great location.
Beautiful , friendly and a nice hotel in Colombo. Part of Cescat Coplex with all amenities . Nice restaurants ; specially sea food and the Indian restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from London

Central Colombo Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Amongst a good buffet breakfast, the hotel has a number a good eateries and restaurants that feature local and international dishes. Recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Boston

Good hotel, service could be better

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Good hotel with nice facilities and restaraunts. The service could be better, the staff seems always too busy to help even when there is not too many people around. Almost every thing I needed I had to ask twice for. If you don't have a VIP sticker on your check in card, I don't think they care all that much. Service was much better at the Taj Down the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeya

All the requirements for a four star hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Very enjoyable ,we had a nice time,good food,excellent staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fleurie from uk

Good centrally situated hotel with 2 swimming pool

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Variety of restaurants, space & location
Cons: Ran out of Sauvignon blanc!
Location: Shopping mall nearby
As first stop in Sri Lanka it provided great ambiance, plenty of space to relax over a drink & it was well situated. Good for gourmands especially the fish restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr.SSB

Excellent location and great family hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: A bright and airy feel to the hotel with a feel of an oasis....loved the Indian Restaurant.
Cons: We were booked at the Premium suite : but, no club lounge facilities. A must for all executive rooms and suite users. Disappointed !
Location: Great location...in the heart of the financial district...walking Distance to the popular Galle-Face Promenade. Love this hotel.
Good hotel, good food food ; friendly staff. We were booked at the Premium suite . Overall.... Very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel however the main pool was closed

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The lobby and rooms were very clean. The 24-hour, on-site travel planners were great!
Cons: We should have been notified that the pool was undergoing maintenance and was closed.
Location: Shopping, beach, spa.
Staff were generally very helpful, pool was closed which was unfortunate, rooms were very clean. Service was very poor at the smaller breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Dubai

Best hotel in Colombo

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Clean hotel, beautiful... many restaurants to choose from Pool two gyms!!! Tennis court and SPA!!
Cons: Nothin. Perfect!
Location: We had a tour guide so they always came to pick us up! Easy !!!
We switched hotels while on vacation. We stayed at Pegasus Reef Hotel. It was ok, but no restaurants :( It was far from Colombo but near beach. We decided to switch to Cinnamon Grand and so happy we did!!! The hotel is beautiful! Tons of restaurants and room service was amazing as well!! I would recommend this hotel 1 million times!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by iris from london

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Location: Close and walking distance to galle face green for a early evening stroll with the locals.
Great place, great staff. Eat at the traditional village restaurant - although we didn't try all the other options as we only stayed one night. They served traditional Sri Lankan food which was delicious, outside and under lovely trees. We had a room on the top floor which had great views and you could see the sea ( a bit!). Overall would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott B from Plainview, NY

Cinnamon Grand is indeed grand.

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
When writing a review I like to take into consideration all aspects of the stay, including what country I am in. I was not sure what to expect in Sri Lanka, but I must say I was very impressed with the Cinnamon Grand. Staff is super friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable all though a bit out dated. Food was great in all of the restaurants I sampled on property. They only thing I found a bit annoying was the room service. Not matter what time of day or not the service carts and vacuums were in the hallways. With the hallways being kind of narrow I always had to navigate around them. While not horrible it did kind of take away from the elegance of the hotel itself. I am also not sure if there was a shortage of wash cloths or not but I always had to request more be put in my room. Would I stay there again….absolutely!