Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Julius from San Jose

Very big and somewhat rundown hotel quite far away

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: Management responsiveness to guest problems
Location: Not close to the main attractions
Since the hotel is large and has significant conference and salon space there seem to be frequent events. We were there for a wedding and were in the same building as the reception which was very loud and went on until very late not letting us sleep. Management were unresponsive to this issue. The room was quite nice but overall the hotel has a run down feeling to it and it not close to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen from London, UK

Great hotel, great pool, great views & balcony.

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The food, room, pool, size and location were all great
Cons: More English plugs?
Location: Kandy is great - visit the temples, and to to the cultural show in the evening (lots of traditional dancing)
We really enjoyed our stay at the Earls Regency. We think it might have been our favourite hotel from our 2 week trip. We stayed only one night, but wish it had been longer. The room was great, top floor with a great view. The pool was lovely and a good size. The food was also great - particularly the pancakes and waffles at breakfast :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carnegie from melbourne

Good location.

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Had a good atmosphere.
Cons: The rooms are a bit dated and I would recommend a face lift.
Location: Had a very short stay but it appears to be in a good location.
Great place with a good restaurant, has a good spread of breakfast. The highlight was the Indian breakfast that I enjoyed whilst I had my brief stay. If I had my time again I would recommend at least three days there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marly

Truly wonderful hotel and location!

Posted Nov 3, 2012
We had a wonderful five days at the hotel. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful location and hotel. The staff were all wonderful and made us feel very welcome. I can't recommend this hotel enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deepak

perfect place to stay

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay. We were there for just one night and were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite room. Neeru from the front office was always willing to help. She showed us around the hotel and also explained the facilities available. We had a private garden to the room. Didn't have the river view from there. However, the view from the toilet had the mountain view which was very nice. Infact we could see the reflection of the mountain in the washbasin mirror. Food at the restaurant was good too. They had live music and free wi-fi in the lounge. Strongly recommend the hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

for holiday

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
we were not happy with the our recent stay in E.r bec what shows in the internet its not there ( internet.) we booked king size bed but they provide two single beds & toilets are not clean. the room smells cigrates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Mr P from Surrey

Not quite the experience we had hoped for

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Pros: The gardens
Cons: Not being able to eat in the restaurant
Location: Excellent
The hotel is in a wonderful location with superb well maintained gardens. It is a shame that the staff were not quite as friendly as at the other hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka. We were told on arrival that we couldn't use the main restaurant until after 9p.m. and that we couldn't book for the next day. No explanation was given. There was a notice to this effect in our room so we are not sure who was allowed to eat in the restaurant at a reasonable time. The coffee shop is adequate but not the experience we would have liked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Staff and Manager

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Pros: Hotel location and room
Cons: Hotel Manager and duty staff
Hotel facility is nice but the hotel manager and staff was totally indifferent to our requests and didnt care except the money. Pathetic attitude and arrogance of the duty manager spoiled our stay at the hotel.