Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Excellent hotel.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, lots of activities, varied choice of food.
Excellent hotel with excellent facilities and friendly staff but a little difficult to find. More explicit directions would be helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good touring hotel, but not a rural retreat.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Staff service, room size and cleanliness.
Cons: Fixtures and fittings: balcony door lock was not secure, bathroom tiles a mess, floor was grubby.
Location: Its a half hour of slow traffic into Kandy where the Buddhist temple and lakeside are the first sites, and then another half hour out the other side.
We booked this hotel thinking it was a a quiet hillside retreat out of Kandy town, but found it to be a large coach-tour stopover above a noisy road. The staff were great: very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfy, although the bathroom and other furniture was jaded. WiFi worked well and it was a bonus that our driver could stay at the hotel for free. We had the standard room, a long walk from reception and there was plenty of greenery outside the balcony. There is a small lawn but accessed from the restaurant and some 'rest areas with benches and pool area. It's kinda cute that the place is built on and into a hill so that rocks appear everywhere inside the building, but not when a slab of granite, irrigation systems and chicken-wire fencing is most of your view from the window. Food was mediocre (as at other tourist stops around the area). While there was plenty of wildlife sounds outside at night there was also an intrusive amount of road noise morning and evening. We were there three nights but most others seemed to have only one night, and it was especially popular with coach parties. So, not as peaceful a retreat from the bustling city as the map location and photos might make you think.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk, England

A Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Architectural Design.
Location: Our favourite was the Botanical Gardens.
A well positioned hotel on the edge of the City superbly laid out. A lovely room and bathroom, the swimming pool perfect and dining was a pleasure as well. We will recommend to friends and hope we will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dubai

Simply Amazing !

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Excellent experience in this hotel nature surround you you feel a great peace upon you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Earl's Regency in Kandy in February, 2015. The hotel is located about 5-6km from Kandy's main street / Temple of Tooth etc., so it might be more convenient to stay here if you have your own car/van to get around. The property itself has a great location...quiet and beautiful! The room was well-appointed and clean, and service was great. We ordered in room service, and the food was delicious. Because of some confusion with the quantity, we ended up ordering less than we anticipated. The folks from the kitchen sent us some extra curry at no extra charge. In all a great stay. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Doha

Nice facilities, staff needed some help

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The views and the dinner buffet were good. The grounds were nice.
Cons: The staff training.
Location: lots!
The hotel is very nice. The room and facilities were great. However, the staff weren't very well trained and clearly accustomed to people on organized tours. When we needed a taxi for a tour of town, this seemed to be hard for them. They also made simple mistakes on two occasions regarding hotel charges. Everybody was very nice, just not the kind of service I am used to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: food
Location: very nice location
one of the best hotels and I revommended to every one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stoke-on-Trent

Beautiful setting

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant is a buffet style, the food was excellent and varied.
Cons: A second bar area. When the hotel is full as was the case during some days of our stay the main bar was really full and crowded.
Location: Location was beautiful, and the grounds were stunning. Plenty to see but transport would be required
Spent 6 nights here, the setting was fantastic, the pool area was lovely. Most rooms are a long way from the main body of the hotel, this was not a problem to us, however people with poor mobility could struggle. It is away from the town so would need transport to and from hotel, tuk-tuk's and taxis are usually available outside, and are very reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Guyfrom Canada

False start with the front desk staff

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay started on the wrong foot with the front desk people arguing that our booking did not include breakfast, although I had printed my receipt from hotel.com which was pretty clear about that. They finally changed their mind after I said that I would write my comments on TripAdvisor. After that false start, we did enjoy the hotel which has a beautiful view. Their Indian restaurant is one of the best eats that we had in Sri Lanka. I also really enjoyed their breakfast buffet!