Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judith from Durham City, UK

Quiet location

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Quiet, peaceful location and as name suggests at the top of a very, long steep hill. Would not recommend for anyone with walking difficulties. Short ride into town by tuk tuk. Room clean but a little shabby, Food very good with excellent vegetarian choice Staff very helpful especially Dulana on front desk Will stay here again next year
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice hotel with beautiful views!

Posted Feb 3, 2014
We only stayed for one night, but would come back again! The dinner buffet was good, and they had some Kandyan singers there for entertainment also. The bartenders were nice and helpful as well as room staff and waiters. Room was clean too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Satish Kumar from Chennai

Great Location, great view and good service

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great friendly service for a hotel at this price. Shame about the noisy town!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dave P from England

great value but fairly basic

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is excellent value and the staff were great. Bit let down by basic accommodation but appropriate for cost. Food pretty good and again great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan

Noisy but nice

Posted May 16, 2013
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: Soundproofing the rooms
Location: High on a hilltop (hence its name) and Kandy is a nice place to walk around. Take the train journey to Nau Oya and visit tea plantations on way back.
Lovely hotel with lovely helpful staff. Al A Carte needs fine tuning. Breakfast buffet is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Maili from London

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed in Hotel Hill Top for 2 nights. The hotel was located close to rail and bus stations and had an amazing view overlooking the town and surrounding hills. The rooms were clean and surprisingly spacious. There was a very wide selection of tasty foods offered at breakfast and dinner buffet. I found the stuff friendly and helpful. The only downside I could mention was that in order to use wifi you had to purchase a voucher and the wifi only worked in the outdoor garden area. Overall, I was pleased with my stay and would recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by KKNeelam

Good facilities & cordial staff...but overpriced.

Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
We opted this hotel as we want to go for a 'Business Hotel', and it resembles the same when reviewed on the net. 200 series rooms are newly built and are quite good & spacious, but 'under-construction' facilities. Btw, as the name indicates, this hotel is located on top the steep hill. Overall - Good facilities & cordial staff...but overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Justin

Good value for money: quiet surroundings

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Hill Top lived up to expectations for me and my partner on a recent trip to Kandy. Our room was of good size, it was clean and had a great shower! Other room amenities like the cable TV and a refrigerator were also appreciated. The pool area although the water was freezing was very nice and the bar/ restaurant had excellent views over the city. During our stay at Hill Top, the hotel was mainly full of elderly traveller's on a tour. This seemed to suit the quieter surroundings of the hotel and also the buffet style provided in the restaurant. On our first night at Hill Top we were very tired and chose to eat at the restaurant, the food was average and unless you were going to eat your own weight in BBQ chicken it was probably not the greatest value for money. Breakfast on the other hand was a great little treat that is included in your room price. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and freshly prepared omlettes by the friendly staff. The Hotel is located very close to the train station and within 10 - 15 mins walk of the city centre. The only problem with the location is that it is 3/4 of the way up a very steep hill, however this is offset by the wonderful views from the bar/restaurant and your room balcony. Overall it was a really nice visit to Hill Top Hotel and it suited our three night trip to Kandy very well. It is by no means a five star hotel but it is good value for money, has clean rooms, very friendly staff and and on the whole quite good ammenties.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by emre

Average experience

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fast check in and out. Nice staff overall (as is the case with all Sri Lankan Nationals). Rooms were not so clean. Bathroom equipment is run down. Towels were not so clean either (someone tell me how hard it is to maintain clean towels).