Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Nice location

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The pool, and the front desk staff
Cons: Menu, noise, a good clean up in general
Location: Kandy bit to far from the town, but can always use tuk tuks
Attractive looking hotel, room looked a bit tired, grubby stained rug in room, bathroom needed updating, balcony needed a lick of paint, unable to open balcony doors, woken at the crack of dawn with staff letting off rockets to get rid of the monkeys, fridge in room very noisy had to turn it off, the mini bar was a disgrace, the chocolate and drink looked like it had been in there years, hotel front desk staff very helpful, too many staff in the dinning room,who were all the men in suits, they looked liked bodyguards, were they really nescessary, hotel buffet was very nice, but meals were very bland and boring, did not like staff telling you where to sit, given no choice. Swimming pool was lovely but the recliners were filthy. Overall first impression the hotel looked very nice, but once there you began to see all the flaws, this is not a 5 star hotel,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by 王from 杭州

不错

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
离城里稍微远了一点,风景很不错。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bjarke Jakobsen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angelgal18 usfrom Mumbai

Pleasant stay

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
No complaints... good service, good location, neat and clean. Only when we went for the river cruise a horrid smell filled the air in middle of d cruise and we were told that that particular spot they dump a lot of garbage. A sad thing indeed.. but v r glad we did not opt for breakfast on that cruise. Maybe mahaweli reach can consider changing the direction of the river cruise to enable the cruisers to have a pleasant experience with the cruise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by The Travellerfrom London

Relaxing stay overlooking the river

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel located on the river. Quite away from downtown Kandy but a nice location and easy to reach the main sites such as the Temple of the Tooth. Limited local cuisine in the restaurant but then Kandy doesn't have a reputation for high quality restaurants - at least not that we could find. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samifrom SA

Recommended to stay

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Excellent hotel, very nice river view, good food. Room has nice interior
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kandy-land travelerfrom Dubai

By the river, for good or bad...

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I took my parents to and extended weekend trip to Kandy when they visited me in Dubai from the US. In Kandy, this is known as a 5-star hotel, but 5-star has a different meaning in different parts of the world - a 5-star hotel in Dubai is out of this world! This hotel was more of a 3 star. Located by the river Mahaveli, it has rooms with nice views overlooking the river. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. Tours and transportation are easy to arrange. On the down side, the colonial style property is a little old and in need of some refurbishing. Being by the river also means that there are insects and other pests especially as it gets closer to the warm season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nielsfrom Denmark

Friendly and attentive staff

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great 5 night stay at Mahaweli reach over Christmas. The Colonial style hotel at the river is beautiful and the garden with pool and restaurant is great. Most of all the staff is very helpful and attentive to ones needs. Only minus is the very limited possibilities for our 5 yo. son. The pool is too deep for him.