Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mumbai

Excellent property, amazing service

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Taj Samudra is a great property. Conveniently located , great sea views, and an imposing building. Has all that you may want in a great hotel. And to make it better the staff is extremely friendly & helpful. We stayed for three nights and can't find one thing wrong. A most enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto,Canada

Nice hotel conveniently located. Friendly staff.

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Locate your Coffee shop closer to the main Lobby.
Location: We were visiting primarily for the Pope's visit and it was an excellent location for our needs.
We had very good service from your friendly and helpful staff. Room was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, PEBBLES, your coffee shop is in an inconvenient location. Overall we were very pleased and satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anup Poddarfrom Mumbai

Great Hotel & Service

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
EXCELLENT HOTEL & FANTASTIC SERVICES
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrickfrom Strasbourg

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Chambre vieillottes qui ne reflètent en rien le luxe du hall de l'hotel. Une fois dans la chambre, on fait un retour dans le passé d'une bonne vingtaine d'année...Chambre fonctionnelles mais pas du tout à l'image du luxe que l'on peut se faire de l'hotel. Baignoire repeinte, marbre cassé, vieux WC...Sinon le personnel est à vos disposition avec gentillesse...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Frodefrom Oslo

Fantastisk service!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Etter 3 uker med reising i Sri Lanka tok vi 3 netter på Taj Samudra. Vi kunne ikke valgt et bedre hotel tror jeg! En sånn mottakelse og service har jeg/ vi aldri opplevt før. Vet ikke om det var tilfeldig men de ansatte vi hadde med å gjøre var bare helt fantastiske! Alt i fra roomservice, ved bassenget og restaurantene. Den japanske restauranten har den beste sushien jeg noen gang har spist! Litt støy på dagen pga oppussing, men det gjør at hotellet bare blir bedre til neste gang vi skal dit. Å det skal vi!! Anbefales på det varmeste
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sidfrom Newcastle, UK

Fantastic

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can't pick one think that could be improved on, it was excellent. If I'm harsh, the service one day at breakfast was slow and the eggs were overcooked in the eggs benedict. Also staying there were the Sri Lankan cricket team and the South African Vice President, so it's nice!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mumbai

Taken for a ride

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The location was ideal
Cons: They need to only offer rooms in fit condition with the basics at least. The staff shld be more helpful to Ladies travelling.
My sister and I checked in and were told that we were allotted a room on the floor that had repairs and that there would be some disturbance during the day. When we protested we were told that this was the only room available. When we were shown to our room , it looked worn out and worst of all the room door wouldn't shut properly. When we protested that we didn't feel safe in a room that didn't shut , we were again given the run around that no room available. It was only when I asked to see the Manager they relented and changed the room. The new rooms toilet facilities were faulty. Despite complaints it was not looked into . The main restaurant was under repair. For breakfast only the buffet option was available as the bake shop opened only after 9 am. Food was nothing to talk about. The room didn't even have a dine in menu placed for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kuala Lumpur

Warm and welcoming hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and accommodating although they had a full house. Keep it up.
Cons: TV size but I understand that the floor that I stayed was to be undergoing renovation as the other rooms that I booked had large tv.
Location: Location is beautiful as it was facing the sea and a walk by the beach in the night would be great.
Hotel staff were very nice and accomodating but hotel undergoing renovation works so a little noisy and our room had an old tv which was 20" so a little small though. Complained on the tv size since we had the footballs matches on and it would be great to have a larger tv and they did offer to change it for us but since we were out most of the day touring and that was the last night at that hotel, we did not want to go through the hassle of doing so. Must say though that overall it is ok; according to the staff at the hotel, they said their hotel is 5 stars but when I booked under Expedia..it was rated 4 stars and I would rate this as a 4 star hotel too. Would be great though if Expedia could include an optional breakfast (at a good price) for all the rooms booking as I would really like to have breakfast before I leave the hotel instead of running around looking for food in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NS Nathanfrom singapore

An idle location with exemplary facilities.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: A good team of well trained staff.
Cons: Could consider providing free Airport transfer in future for 5D or more stay.
Location: You can visit all the key tourist sites within the vicinity of the Hotel by your own,
This is my 3rd stay here. The last two in 2007 and 2013. There is a qualitative shift in service. The check-in and check- out is done in a very personalized manner where you are seated throughout. Free wifi service provided. Good selection of restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com