Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Very nice hotel, and excellent food.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The food and rooms.
Cons: Reception and hospitality could improve. We were given smoking room without explanation, despite asking for non smoking room.
Location: Near the sea and main shopping area.
Enjoyed our short stay. excellent facilities and food. comfortable rooms, convenient location close to beach and shopping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Don't be fooled by the fantastic pictures

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The staff in the exec floor breakfast lounge
Cons: Much. The quality of the rooms, the staff.
Location: Handy for the Dutch Hospital which has good food and shopping. All around construction work as taking place!
Very disappointing stay. Had taken my wife on a business trip and chosen the hotel as it looked like a nice place for her to spend time whilst I was working. When we arrived the hotel pool area was out of use for 3 days due to building work to erect a stage for hosting a concert. Our room overlooked the pool/stage so we had work taking place all day and ALL night. 50 plus people cutting material, hammering, spot lights, rehearsing. Curtains wouldn't close fully so difficult to block out the flashing lights which made it difficult to get any sleep. I asked to move rooms to the other side of the hotel but they could only offer a very smelly smoking room on the same floor. When I made arrangements to leave we were given a room on the executive floor (9). Unfortunately this was just underneath the Sky Lounge so had load music playing until the bar shut. Very nice bar to visit if staying at another hotel. When the stage was dismantled the pool area was very nice but the end of the infinity pool is now a pile of rubble from building projects! Don't be fooled by the lovely pictures. As a business hotel it was poor. Internet didn't work and when I asked the staff if there was anything they could do I was told the hotel was busy and they didn't have enough capacity. 2 days without internet, ended up going to Hilton and sitting in lobby. Very disappointing stay after pictures and reading good reviews. Now looking for ways to make it up to my wife!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

good 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Our one nights stay at the Kingsbury was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful, we were even upgraded on arrival. The pool and leisure facilities were lovely, and the food was good. The only criticism was that the extra bed we had requested in the room was extremely uncomfortable. Other than that a good hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha

Nice hotel in colombo

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Good quality hotel Bed was very confortable, good pizza by the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales, UK

Great hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Clean and comfortable hotel with friendly and extremely helpful staff. Next to the beach and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Suitable for business travellers and holidaymakers (couples and families) alike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai, India

Great staff made our stay!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The rooms and halls leading to the rooms need some work. The doors to the rooms had gaps, which allowed noise to come in very easily.
Location: The Dutch Hospital for Ministry of Crab is a must. Barefoot for shopping and their cafe is excellent.
We had a great experience with the staff of the hotel, including the manager of the front desk who went out of his way to make our stay comfortable, as well as the manager of the rooftop bar who handled the situation excellently when the food was not up to par. A cook from their restaurant, Antonio, was extremely helpful in directing us even when he was off shift. All around, it was the staff that made this a five star experience. The Kingsbury is undergoing renovations, I believe, so there was still some work that could be done in the rooms and halls. That being said, we had a comfortable stay. It is well situated on the sea face, boasting great views and a convenient location to explore Colombo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel but bad food

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: the food is horribly bad, me horribly sick stomach, I did not eat anywhere only hotel
Cons: Chef
The food is horribly bad, me horribly sick stomach, I did not eat anywhere only hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with bad food

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: I did not eat anywhere only hotel.The food is horribly bad, i terribly sick stomach for 3 days.
Cons: New Chef and the food the rest is perfect
I did not eat anywhere only hotel.The food is horribly bad, i terribly sick stomach for 3 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sathish from London

Fantastic service

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was looked after during the very short stay and was given good guidance and information about the things I asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JENIFER from SEYCHELLES

BEST HOTEL IN SRI LANKA

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
FANTASTIC