Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Rohit from Goel

Hotel owner attitude very bad

Posted May 29, 2014
Very bad experience in terms of attitude of the owner of wanganoo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rajeev from Indore India

A nice accommodation on the Nigeen Lake.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Nicely maintained Interior.
Cons: Toilets are having less water pressure. Location accessibility from Road is poor specially near the Gate of campus, It should be improved.
Location: A peaceful location facing Nigeen Lake. A shikara ride is advisable. Purchasing with Floating Shops is a wonderful experience.
It was a great experience to stay at Wangnoo Houseboat. The place is cozy and comfortable. We three (Me with wife and daughter) were stayed with great ease there. It was a homely atmosphere, which made an unknown place stay also comfortably. Staff was limited but suffice for our requirement. Only negative part is lot of algae in the otherwise peaceful lake and lack of heating arrangement in cold days. Room, Living Room, Dinning area are wonderful, great interior with Kashmiri furniture including false ceiling. Most promising place is deck on the front of Nigeen lake, making a awesome clear view.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nice from verma

Houseboat is peaceful than hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2014
No kitchen in houseboat food problem and noicey when anybody walk in boat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harish from Mumbai

Nice location. Courteous Staff. Bad Bathrooms

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Location, well furnished Dining and Drawing rooms in the boat.
Cons: Bathrooms, Quality and choice of Vegetarian food.
Location: Take a Shikara ride to Dal lake via Lotus farm, Floating gardens and Floating Market. Ask your Rental car driver to use the road access.
The houseboats are located at Nigeen lake that is a real quiet place with beautiful views . The houseboats also have road access to the property so one need not pay for a Shikara all the time. The care taker is very good. He also arranged for Airport Pickup and rental car for local trips.However, hotel needs to Improve the choice and quality of Vegetarian food. Also Bathrooms need to be re furbished. Provide Heated Blankets in all rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amitabha Pande from Delhi

Warm personalized service

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall a comfortable and pleasant stay primarily on account of the personal attention given to guests by Mr Wangnoo and his son. There was confusion about the category of the houseboat rooms we had booked. According to the Hotels.com confirmation we had booked two suites for four persons in the top of the line category called 'honeymoon houseboat' but on landing there we found that the Honeymoon houseboat had only one suite and two persons had been given a suite in the next lower category called 'super deluxe'. The main difference between the two is in the condition of the bathroom which in the case of 'super deluxe' requires a desperate upgrade- the plumbing is shoddy, the W.C is stained and the wall and floor tiles need a proper scrub and the bathtub floor creaks and crackles. We had hoped that the houseboat would be exclusive to our family but the 'super deluxe' in which two of us were paired off had to reckon with noisy children stomping up and down on wood floors. As we had already paid the tariff we had few options other than having to 'adjust' the way all Indians have learnt to do. However, , Mr Wangnoo made up for all these drawbacks with his very personalizes style of care and hospitality. The food was excellent although the breakfast fare could do with some more variety. The local transport for going around the city arranged by the Houseboat management was very good but the charges were very high compared to market rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raj from Pittsburgh PA, USA

Excellent boathouse experience

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: View & Staff ( Heck every thing)
Cons: Can't think of.
Location: A lot to do, but at the same perfect for quite time & relaxing environment.
View was awesome & Rashid & Ahmed was very humble & helpful, already recommended to many & will stay again in near future. Spacious rooms. Booked 1 night stayed 4 that says all. No complaint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JYOTI from NOIDA (NCR)

amazing experience

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: houseboat shopping
Cons: variety in food
it was really fascinating.me and other family member's had a great time.we did lot of shopping in the houseboat only.so whenever i will get timewill go again to explore
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rajesh from Gurgaon, India

Excellent infrastructure and asthetics

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: The property is fantastic with wooden carving and fully carpeted floors surrounded by Lake water having ultimate peace.
Cons: I had excellent experience. No room for improvement.
Location: You can visit Shahji emporium, Lal chowk, Shankracharya temple.
I visited First time in Kashmir and my friend referred this houseboat. I decided to stay in Wangnoo houseboat. It was a great pick. The property is fantastic with wooden carving and fully carpeted surrounded by Lake water having ultimate peace. Beautiful spacious rooms with stuning views of the picturesque nageen lake. Owner (Arshid) and staff (Ahmed) make you feel like- we are family and take care for all individual needs. Wangnoo Houseboat have a comfortable sitting room with cable TV. Meals were served in common dining room and food was very delicious. Shikara and taxis are readily available for commutation. I really recommend this to my friends and definitely opt again whenever i plan my next tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Santosh from Gurgaon

Option for a confortable and peaceful stay.

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Location which is quite peaceful.
Cons: Food
Location: Shikara ride and relax at the H.B.
It definitely is a good option for those looking to spend sometime at a peaceful place. But for those want to stay close to the main market, gardens and want to have some action around, Dal Lake could be a better option. So it comes down to what one wants. Overall, a pleasing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amaltas from bhopal

awesome experience of stay

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is great, the interior and environment of house boat is luxurious, services are good, attendant is very cooperative, Toilets are clean, no water shortage or hot water availability, an experience of total luxury