Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north england

Nice hotel. Good position

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Lots of nice restraunts near and harbour very attractivie. Only problem is steep hill for. Acess and steep steps to garden
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Short break

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything, felt very conmfortable
Location: Close to harbour with shops and restauransts closeby.
We have been to Jersey for amny years and this is by far the best place to stay on the island, we would definatley only stay in this hotel if we return again and would highly recommend to anyone visting Jersey. It is lovely and the staff so helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beautiful. Plenty of walking and cycling
Very nice hotel. The staff were excellent beautiful building in a beautiful location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from farnborough hants

Lovely hotel overlooking the harbour

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: I loved the views from the Sommerville a Hotel. The breakfast at the hotel was my favourite meals the whole holiday. The service was impeccable !
Cons: Personally I saw very little fault with the hotel but perhaps in places it was getting a little tired and needed some modernisation. Very clean though
Location: There is a lot to do in Jersey whether you are a family or a couple! The beaches are amazing and the views breathtaking. The jersey tunnels are a must
Our whole trip was relaxing and enjoyable from start to finish. No delays at Southampton airport although we did have to pay extra for our luggage which I strongly advise anyone to do in advance as we got stung £80! And that was just one way!! Everything ran very smoothly, the collecting of our Avis car and finding the hotel which had an idyllic view over St Aubin's Bay. The warm and friendly welcome we received as we arrived at the Sommerville Hotel prepared us for the excellent service we were to see in our weeks stay. We were disappointed we didn't have a sea view but this was our own fault for booking so late! Anyway it didn't spoil our trip! Our week was spent exploring, relaxing and lots of fantastic walks around the beautiful coastline of Jersey! The history on the island with the World War 2 German occupation was very interesting. I thoroughly recommend a visit to the Jersey Tunnels! Our stay in the Sommerville Hotel was an absolute pleasure! I don't really have a bad thing to say about it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Well trained professional staff. Quiet position with parking on site. Handy for local facilities: cafes, restaurants, bank, local services to airport
Cons: Update carpets/ flooring in public areas! Declutter the room of big furniture.
Location: Easy access to everything. Nice walk along coast to St. Helier. Lots of places in St. Aubin to chill out. Various water activities.
Good position with lovely views across the bay. All staff very friendly, very professional service. Sea view room had good outlook over the bay & harbour. Nice sized modern bathroom with good shower. Room itself slightly cluttered with furniture. Public area carpets showing their age & brown colour didn't help! Nice pool in sunny sheltered position.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol

relaxing break

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly polite staff, food was lovely and the hotel very pleasant
Location: Somerville Hotel in in the small town of St.Aubin - St Hellier is a quick bus journey around the bay but a lovely 45 minute walk if you want.
Somerville Hotel is a traditional hotel with very friendly staff who are polite and helpful, upon arrival by taxi our cases were taken from the car and into reception where we were greeted by the duty manager who called me by name. Our room was at the back of the hotel on the third floor along a few corridors next to some stairs but passed by no one, it was quiet and peaceful. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the views across the bay from the terrace restaurant in the morning were lovely - the service was efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from washington

perfectly peaceful hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: The local harbour and the miles of sandy beach, which was never crowded. Water sports also available
The hotel is set on an elevated position overlooking St Aubin bay, the staff are very efficient, and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and the bar light bites represented excellent value for money. The hotel has a sun patio which again was ideal to sit and watch the activities on the beach Would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet luxury break
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Great position and very pleasant staff
Cons: Pool water could be warmer!
Location: A great view over the bay. Easy to reach and a few restaurants nearby to choose from.
We were very pleased with the location of the hotel, over a stunning bay. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and made our stay enjoyable. We would certainly return to the hotel and tell others about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in wonderful location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable.
Cons: Our room was located at the back of the hotel (211) and there was a lot of noise from the kitchen area below.
Location: Durrell wildlife park St Brelades beach Somares Manor gardens
We spent 5 nights at The Somerville hotel earlier in the month.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from east yorkshire

A grand hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, service, food grown up environment
Cons: Excellent food but could be pricey although plenty of choice throughout the day
Location: Close to St Helier, easy access to the ferry port for a to visit to St Marlo. Plenty of restaurants.
We were given directions to the hotel but promptly got lost, but it did not matter as we were able to experience the beauty of the island as we drifted along the quiet county lanes. The hotel stood grand overlooking the harbour and bay. The welcom, service, food were grand and could not be faulted.