Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by luna from mia

Terrible !!!!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Was a Terrible place, do not stay here !! When I got to the place and I went to my room there was hair all over the bathroom and the bed sheets were stays by I don't know what, overall it was a horrible place I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Saint Augustine rocks!

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a great stay. Nice place and very affordable. Right in the heart of downtown St. Augustine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Princess2 from Punta Gorda, FL

I still need a refund

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was unable to stay due to a small pet. I called the owner, who advised me I could bring pet if it stayed only in my room. When I arrived, I could not check-in. Was given assistance by the manager to find another hotel in the area where I could bring the pet. The assistance was appreciated but I have been changed for the room and that amount has yet to be refunded to my charge card. It has been over 7days so I will have to call and find out why.This is frustrating as they know I was not allowed to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matthew from Bradenton

Simple, low-cost option

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed there only one night, but it served its purposes very well. The hostel is very close to the town center and so I could park my car and walk in with no problems. I did that several times. Also, it was off-season, so the place was largely empty. Far cheaper than any hotel/motel options but with a better location and friendlier, more personable atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shanna

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: The people I met. The cleanliness. The location, you can walk anywhere in the city. The cab price, cabs are extremely cheap if you don't want to walk.
Cons: Add screens in the window. Bring your own lock if you want to use the lockers.
Location: Eat at The Floridian. It was really great.
This was my first experience in a hostel. The staff were really great, I feel like they went out of their way to ensure everyone had a lovely stay. The rooms were all very clean. I showed up unannounced at 7 am and they still allowed me to check in. Because I was there so early I saw Charles go around with an ecofriendly bug spray to ensure the rooms don't get bugs, that was very reassuring. Everyone I met there was extremely nice. It felt very welcoming and I want to return. The only complaints I have is they should get screens for the windows. This past weekend was very cool so we slept with the windows open but because there are no screens this allowed bugs and leaves in. Also I was planning on using the lockers but you have to bring your own lock. I had read a review that said they have cats outside so beware if you have allergies. While I was there one of the cats was in the house most of the time. He stayed in the general spaces but good to know if you're allergic. Also he was not very friendly he would attack if you tried to pet him. The female cat who stayed outside was very friendly though, she kept me company and sat on my lap as I waited for someone to wake up the morning I arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura

Some day I will come back

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Great hospitality! Charles was very informative and hooked me and another guest up with chairs, towels, a cooler,& umbrella for our trip to the beach
Cons: Better AC if you are going to stay indoors all day
Location: Walking distance from most key areas. About 5 min drive to the beach. Must go back to try the worlds greatest fries..haha!
Very pleasing for my first hostel experience. All the guests got along well and willing to walk with you around town from their own experiences
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great if you just need a place to crash

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Well, this it's not often you find $20/night hostels in the US. For a hostel, this place is basically just a big house sliced up into little rooms, and for $20 it's a deal. As far as the actual place, it's not amazing but it's clean and the beds are IKEA bunks. I stayed in the dormer (which is why it was so cheap), and there was only one other person in there with me. The communal areas were a little gross, but that's sort of to be expected.. the only complaints I would have is the motocycle the revs loudly when it leaves or gets back (I think it's the manager's). Kinda hard to sleep through that. And the people who work there - they are nice but a little on the skeevy side, a couple of older men, they don't really seem to have any real interest in the guests (also understandable, so many people come through there, and I'd imagine that some of the guests aren't so courteous themselves). Overall, it's a great place if you just need a bed and a place to wash up.