Ratings based on 609 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fitchburg ma

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Nice place and a good location. Very close to the beach and maybe 5 miles from the old st Augustine The room was clean and the walk in shower was nice with good water pressure. Overall I would definitely go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Walk to Beach.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide more soap.
Room was fine, close walk to beach. No food or drink available except when restaurant open. From close at lunch to dinner at 5, no food or drink except at vending machines. Hotel charged $50 to credit card should something to be "stolen" from room. Advised it would take 7 to 10 days to remove charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Nice room, clean facility, good location and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Nice hotel right by the beach.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: The staff, the location to the beach, the restaurant.
Cons: nothing, it was great.
Location: St. Augustine Beach, Restaurants, Shops, Bars, Shopping.
This hotel is just a few steps away from St. Augustine Beach. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved our room and the restaurant on site is amazing.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Non-existent Staff & Rudest Manager you'll meet

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Everything! Start off by getting rid of the rude Manager and making sure staffs are available at all times. Treat guests how you like to be treated.
Location: There are a couple restaurants to go to, but nothing is walking distance unlike staying in Downtown St. Augustine
My husband and I cannot emphasize this enough; the staffs are non-existent and if you find one, expect rudeness because you're bothering them from either finishing their snack or talking on their cell phone. And when the Manager was questioned she was very defensive and just as rude. We were lucky enough to find a nice elderly lady at the front desk during our first night of check in, but other than that they are non-existent. Everytime we call the front desk (including the daytime hours) no one answers the phone. If you need anything they ask you to come down instead of having them supply you what you need (ex. toiletries). Don't even bother with their restaurant onsite "La Cocina" because their staffs are just as rude and the place is too compact. Don't expect an ocean view even if you're paying for one like us because the view is blocked by a bunch of beach houses. Their pool is meant for kids and not adults and this needs to be renovated too. Good luck finding parking because it's always full, thanks to the patron of the restaurant and the inconsiderate staffs who park there. Hotel Guests are obviously not important in this motel. Yes, that's right this is not a resort as they claim and they are not deserving of any of the stars they're rated. There are plenty of choices in the area that actually provide a "true ocean view" unlike this pretentious place called Castillo Real. Nothing is "Real" in this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami, fl

Great beach resort

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The resort was very clean, staff was excellent and dealt with my needs right away!! The restaurant served a amazing breakfast!! Very close to the beach as well to downtown area!! I would recommend this resort to family and friends!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ont

Great Experience

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Cons: Restaurant closes at 8:30 reflecting the St Augustine retirement demographics, later hours would be nice for us not so close to the pearly gates.
Location: Great location, wonderful history in the area
Great hotel - nice boutique atmosphere. Wonderful restaurant with wide ranging menu and wine pairing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Best accommodations in St Augustine

Posted Jan 19, 2015
We spent a night here with our daughter and her family. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We will stay here every time we visit relatives who live on the island. It's hard to find a hotel clean enough to let children play on the floor, but we felt perfectly at ease allowing our toddler to play and crawl on the carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CastilloReal

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Check in staff were efficient and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Nice experience. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

Spanish flair near Florida beach

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: colors, hot tub and pool, location
Cons: Remove and replace empty shampoo etc. incl. coffee each day; provide enough - one per person; heat pool - I like the cold but was alone in pool
Location: plenty from beach to alligator farm, and of course downtown St. Augustine.
The Castillo Real was a very pleasant place to stay, a short block from a stunning beach and a short drive from downtown St. Augustine, which was perfect, since the downtown is crowded and touristy. Overall, the hotel added to our sense of relaxation with its friendly, helpful staff, nice d├ęcor and bright color schemes and airy interior. We really enjoyed the pool area with hot tub, esp. for those several winter days when the temp dipped into the low 60s and upper 50!! Also, the street has a good number of pleasant eateries and restaurants with a local feel but high quality food (in downtown St. Augustine one sometimes has the opposite experience). The coffee in the lobby was excellent and a real plus!