Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami, fl

Great beach resort

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The resort was very clean, staff was excellent and dealt with my needs right away!! The restaurant served a amazing breakfast!! Very close to the beach as well to downtown area!! I would recommend this resort to family and friends!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ont

Great Experience

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Cons: Restaurant closes at 8:30 reflecting the St Augustine retirement demographics, later hours would be nice for us not so close to the pearly gates.
Location: Great location, wonderful history in the area
Great hotel - nice boutique atmosphere. Wonderful restaurant with wide ranging menu and wine pairing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Best accommodations in St Augustine

Posted Jan 19, 2015
We spent a night here with our daughter and her family. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. We will stay here every time we visit relatives who live on the island. It's hard to find a hotel clean enough to let children play on the floor, but we felt perfectly at ease allowing our toddler to play and crawl on the carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CastilloReal

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location
Check in staff were efficient and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Nice experience. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

Spanish flair near Florida beach

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: colors, hot tub and pool, location
Cons: Remove and replace empty shampoo etc. incl. coffee each day; provide enough - one per person; heat pool - I like the cold but was alone in pool
Location: plenty from beach to alligator farm, and of course downtown St. Augustine.
The Castillo Real was a very pleasant place to stay, a short block from a stunning beach and a short drive from downtown St. Augustine, which was perfect, since the downtown is crowded and touristy. Overall, the hotel added to our sense of relaxation with its friendly, helpful staff, nice d├ęcor and bright color schemes and airy interior. We really enjoyed the pool area with hot tub, esp. for those several winter days when the temp dipped into the low 60s and upper 50!! Also, the street has a good number of pleasant eateries and restaurants with a local feel but high quality food (in downtown St. Augustine one sometimes has the opposite experience). The coffee in the lobby was excellent and a real plus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, FL

Great last minute find

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Location: We had drinks and apps at Sunset Grill, which actually has really decent food.
We found Castillo Real at the last minute when we decided to stay in Saint Augustine for New Years Eve. The rate was good, the rooms are large and the bed is fantastic. The onsite staff were awesome and responsive, they found us a cab and called us when the cab arrived. They also arranged for another couple headed in the same direction to ride with us and split the tab. Their attention to detail and follow up with amazing! We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Saint Augustine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No ocean view

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Expedia searcg
I paid extra for an ocean view, but all I could see was condos. I inquired and they told me that the ocean view was blocked by the condos, but that was the ocean view. The ocean view is misleading. Big hot tub, that was nice. No,wifi as signal was very poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Hotel clean,nice decoration,cozy and the restaurant was amazing! Jacuzzi inside the room was a big plus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Deltona, FL

Birthday Weekend Getaway

Posted Dec 9, 2014
I give this hotel 5 stars. From the comfort, to the cleanliness of it. The decor really made it feel warm and welcoming. And it made it not feel like a hotel. This hotel was more than I had expected, and I left completely satisfied with the stay and service we received. I will definitely be staying there in the future.They really stepped up the game with the name brand toiletries, but that's the way every hotel should strive to be. Thanks Castillo Real
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampa

Nice hotel. Close to the beach. Great location.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Went for our honeymoon and absolutely had a blast. Great restaurants and the beach was around the corner. Loved the hot tub and we found it to be the nicest hotel around. Beautiful Spaniard touch.