Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely not worth what we paid.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Too far to walk to the historic district- had to drive to get to downtown.
Room smelled like they sprayed a whole can of Lysol to hide the musty smell of the room. Literally gave me a headache within 10 minutes of being in the room. Holes in the wall sloppily covered, stains in the bathtub, very dim lighting in bathroom, very small parking spaces- too close together, rust on bottom of refrigerator, frayed old carpet peeling up in several places, pool closed- with a few feet of filthy dirty water... Gross. To top it off, they charged a $20 deposit. When we asked why, they said it was in case we smoked in the room, stole their towels or the remote control. Luckily, we didn't do any of those things & did get our deposit back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was a great value for the price.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The front desk was great. The lady did not have much to say, but the man was very helpful. I could tell he have been running this hotel for years.
Cons: Parking is not great, but the staff gave me a good advice about what to do if the front lot is full.
Location: The location is great, because it is close to all the St. Augustine happenings.
My experience was much better I expected after reading prior reviews. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. He communicated with me as a great guess. I would stay at this hotel again and again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort myers

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Comfortable beds but somewhat noisy with traffic and the train. Despite the noise we slept really well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claxton, Georgia

Served its purpose

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: It was very clean despite the bad reviews of its uncleanliness.
Cons: Parking spaces and the non-existent breakfast
Location: Very close to the downtown historic district. Vilano and Jacksonville beaches very close as well as shopping centers.
After reading the reviews about this hotel, I was a little worried. I walked in the office and there was a foul odor. The hotel clerk was a lady that did not seem too inviting, but wasn't rude. She quickly found my reservation. She asked for a $20 deposit, which was not stated on the hotel information.. but I did get my $20 after checking out. As we walked into the room, the air conditioner had already been turned on, which was nice because the temperature was in the 90's that day. I smelled cleaning supplies and air re-freshener, which means someone was cleaning before we got there. It wasn't too bad. The bathroom was very clean and no stains in the bathtub. The beds were clean, they weren't that comfortable but I did sleep through the whole night. It was very close to the downtown area and beach..which was a plus. The only bad thing was the parking spaces. There was no room for us to park when we got back from the wedding we attended. We had to park a little off from our room, but it wasn't that far of a walk. The hotel information stated that there was a free continental breakfast.. which when we woke up in the morning, all they had to offer was stale coffee. The room served its purpose and was inexpensive to say the least.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gulfport,florida

Awful

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
No pool due to lack of cleaning, disruptive behaviors of adjacent visitors, no amenities, did not provide continental breakfast.(juice coffee and store bought pastry?) we were awakened in the early morning by two men drinking beer right outside our door..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Too old.. smells funny. Very old appliances..

Posted Apr 6, 2015
No shampoo, no conditionar, ugly carpet in room. Very very old. I would never stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Shelter, shower, okay location but overpriced

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Check in and check out went smoothly. The room was ready when we arrived at 1:00 PM, there was parking available. It was easy by car to get into town.
Cons: The hotel is very rundown. From towels to sheets to pillows, everything is cheap. They shouldn't ask for a $20 deposit for no reason.
Location: Don't stay here if you don't have a car. By car, it's easy to get on Ponce de Leon road which runs right into the historic district.
My friend and I stayed in a double room with two queen beds for one night. The only plus of this hotel is it's location, which is just outside of town, but right near the main road that runs into the historic downtown. It's about a 10 minute drive to the old city jail if you have a car. Otherwise, it's overpriced for what you get, which is really only a roof over your head and a hot shower. Considering the condition of the hotel, the rates should be $15-$20 cheaper than it is. The hotel staff were neither friendly nor unfriendly. We didn't ask for any help with directions so I can't say whether they would have been helpful or not. Check in and check out went smoothly. I was taken aback when the desk clerk said I had to put down a $20 deposit, but got my $20 back at check out without any problems. Not sure what that $20 deposit is supposed to cover... The hotel is older and not in good condition. The room smelled musty. The beds were just okay for comfort but the pillows were overstuffed and hard, which made sleeping difficult. The bathroom was so rundown that it didn't seem clean, even though it basically was. There was soap but no shampoo provided. If we had been staying more than one night in St. Augustine we would definitely have changed hotels.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Crystal from I will never stay here again USA

We don't need this stinking hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
This was the nastiest hotel I have ever stayed in, it stunck so bad that it left an aftertaste in your mouth. Make sure your tetnes shot is up to date before staying
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Valerie from Boston

It will do

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Just a quick "need a few to myself" overnight stay. It was ok for that purpose, but not what I would pick for a longer stay or what I would choose if my family was with me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Stinkende Zimmer , heruntergekommenes Motel . Würde es niemanden weiterempfehlen. Besser 20 $ mehr investieren .