Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful condominium project

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Cons: Upkeep on unit interior (paint, plumbing fixtures that leak, etc)
Location: Imax and Outlet malls
My family and I stayed at Laterra this past weekend. I did not want to stay in the busy touristy area that is St. Augustine. Instead we opted for a large 2-bedroom unit in the Laterra condominium project. I read the reviews and thought oh boy, am I making the right choice? There were a lot of bad reviews, but I was right to stay here. Laterra is tucked inside the beautiful and gated World of Gold community located probably 8-10 miles away from downtown St. Augustine. Our 2-bedroom unit had a nice full kitchen with all pots/pans, dishes, dishwasher and washer/dryer. It was like a home away from home. I am a property manager for a living so I did notice what some other reviewers remarked about with things not in the best condition (walls needing to be painted, plumbing fixtures leaking, tv not working) but overall we are very happy we stayed here...and will again if we return to St. Augustine.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Not good!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Appearances can be deceiving!! Condo had mold on the shower curtains and carpet had insect remains and roaches crawling on walls. Hair all over the sheets. Very unsatisfied!. We tryed contacting personnel 4 days ago through email since it appears no one works in their office location and still waiting for a response. Ruined the whole visit to st Augustine. You are better off staying in a hotel/motel they're much more cleaner. I took pictures but I can't upload here unfortunately. So not worth the $$$
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Overall nice-but a few dissapointments

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The grounds, the building's architecture, the pool area. Very quiet.
Cons: There is no service of any kind. Honestly it is a nice residential place and for owning a unit for winter stays but not vacation rentals.
Location: There is shopping and of course, golf and more golf. But this is NOT a resort in the vacation sense of the word.
I was on a short stay on business but wanted to stay in a condo type setting. The overall look of the complex is really nice. The architecture is beautiful as are the grounds and pool area. I stayed in a studio condo and it was clean and seemed well kept but there were 2 items that would have made me furious if I had been there for a longer stay or on vacation. 1-The TV was really old and was a 19in. screen! And above that it had no working channels! I read the Dish Sattelite booklet trying to figure out if I was doing something wrong, I dialed '0' as my info from the management company instruced for the front desk. There was just a dial tone beep and no answer there. So alas, I called the sattelite company. Jesse proceeded to tell me that the dish TV service had been canceled months ago. Something I would think the management compay should be aware of. Except that 2.-the "management company" is not heard from again after you get your keys. Places like this I have stayed in always call the next day to be sure you arrived safely and to check if everything is good. I arrived very late and had to pick up my keys a little ways from the complex. It seemed in the middle of nowhere for someone traveling alone. The parking lot was very dark and I was uneasy. The key and paperwork was left in a lock box for me, which was fine, I have picked up keys like that before but never in a location so poorly lit and a little scary. And the lockbox numbers were almost impossible to read.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pembroke Pine, FL

Terrible experience.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Stayed here for 2 days while attending an event. Room was dusty, my wife and daughter both got allergies attacks. TV's didn't work, Direct TV signals down. Hair dryer didn't work. When you call office all you get is an answering machine and no body calls you back. Terrible experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Everything was great....the only problem no tv and no way you contact. Anyone...also the bathroom love water. Pressure
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

Not worth the price for poorly maintained unit

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Nice view of the pool area and nice mediterranean feel.
Cons: A lot. See above comments. Very poorly kept and not clean.
This is a resort condo in a gated residential community. I rented a two bedroom condo for a wedding we were attending. When we arrived, there was no one--I mean no one--to check us in. It took us two hours to finally get in touch with the rental agent (who was very responsive once we reached her by email). When we walked in the unit, it was hot, there was a dead roach in the entryway, the lights in one of the bedrooms did not turn on and we had to search for the fuse box, one of the lighting fixture over the counter was burned out, there was a dead roach on the floor in the other bedroom, the kitchen was very poorly equipped (e.g., not even enough silverware), the silverware was filthy and had to be hand washed, no paper towels provided, no coffee filters provided, no extra garbage bag provided, very uncomfortable master bed. Certainly not worth the price we paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fl and Canada

Condo was ok not near the beach .

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: outside groungs
Cons: Every thing
Location: If you like golf thats the only thing close by.
Very bad experencethe check in is not on site, we rented the unit for 2 nights ,3adults one bed room, and sofa bed.There was no sheets or pillow for the sofa bed ,the tv did not work, blown light bulb in kitchen ,bathroom .Iwonder if any one checks the unit before they rent it out.No one on site forget about Sunday could not get any one to get sheets for the sofa bed.Iwould not want any one to go through what we went through my guest from Canada was very upset with the conditions of this condo. Just wish I could get my money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tina Dfrom Marietta, GA

Affordable Luxury!

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading several reviews I was sceptical about what to expect. This condo/hotel requires you to check in at a location about 3 miles away. When we arrived at the check in location nobody was there. There was a note on the door stating they away assisting a client and would be back shortly. I called the number on the door and she did arrive about 10 minutes later. Not a big deal but after driving 6 hours, it was not a good way to start off. The condo is in a gate community and about 1.6 miles. You do need to give the guard your ID upon arrival but make sure you ask them for a pass to put on your rear view mirror so you do not have to do thsi everytime. The community and the condo complex are prestine. There is an onsite spa in the main building which is where we stayed. The condo was great except the toilet ran contstantly. We tried to fix it but could not. There were no frying pans, so we went to the Dollar General nearby and bought a couple of cheap ones and left them there. The room is not huge but it was just the two of us. The balcony overlooked the pool. The pool is georgeous with a triple water fountain flowing into and behind the pool is a small pond. The setting was very relaxing and private. Plenty of lounge chairs. Bring your own towels!! I would go back again becuase the location was only 6 miles from the St. Augustine shops and 10 miles from downtown St. Augustine. Overall I would give it a 4. It was better than I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joannefrom New York

Lovely place to stay. We will go back.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Pool area was beautiful and so was our balcony.
Cons: TV needs an upgrade.
Location: We went into St. Augustine and up to Golf Village, both enjoyable.
We wished there was a restaurant on site but Publix was close so we were able to pick up food to prepare in our little kitchen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com