Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice hotel with a great restuarant

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Clean and well taken care of. Big rooms with great beds. Great amenities with a pool table, table tennis and game room. Plenty to do around the hotel.
Cons: Personal service and staff
Location: St. Augustine is a really great place to tour, with lots of small shops, winery tours, forts, and more. You won't get bored!
They overbooked the hotel for a very busy weekend, which apparently meant we got the wrong room (double beds instead of the king I had booked and confirmed). They were not very apologetic about that, offered us little in the way of compensation. However, the most annoying thing was being told that "I could leave if I wanted to.(!)" By the manager no less. At 9pm at night. Apart from that, the hotel itself is very nice and secluded. The restaurant staff were fantastic and the food excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice golfing hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We arrived late and were able to get a reservation for dinner at the Italian restaurant. The food was quite good. There's a lot to do at the hotel. Billiards table, bar, restaurants, gym and pool. It's a golf hotel but we didn't golf. Starbucks coffee available too! My only complaint would be there is a small gap in all the hotel room doors at the bottom - probably from remodel. It lets some noise in. If that was fixed I'd have no complaints. We had a great time and it was a beautiful property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprised

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Golf course surrounding area
The layout is confusing trying to figure out where to check in. We asked for a room with a view ahead of time and they gave us a view of the roof. Also, the location was not in the old town area as we we thought it was. For what you pay, you should get water in the room. We called down to the front desk and requested some water, they said it was on the way, and we never received any. Had to go down to the 1st floor to pay 4 dollars for two bottles of water. Next morning, we had to wait for someone to seat us for breakfast for over 20 minutes and there was no line. The staff seems to be way understaffed for the amount of people using the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Island, FL

Lovely Resort - Awesome Staff!!!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The staff is way above average. All very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Breakfast Buffet was to Die For, in a good way!!!!! The room we stayed in was a little dusty, lamp shade and curtains, it needed a good freshening. Also the commode was So noisy it could wake the dead....lol... My husband and I had a Great time. I cannot wait to go back, this time I will ask for a "Light" Flusher...lol....
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

They do not like Expedia customers.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Called two weeks ahead to request a king bed. Arrived and they gave me two double beds. Asked why they told me I would have a king but give me two double beds on VALENTINES weekend? They made it very clear any Expedia customers are the least priority to them and regardless if I requested I get the last priority over their "real" customers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Very quiet.
A very pleasant experience with all the amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clermont, Florida

A visit to St. Augustine

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: I like the fact when you came in and out of the room no walls---great ambience
Cons: need shower caps
Location: great location---easy access to the Historic sites
good experience--was gone all day and did have the time to explore the hotel facilities--but loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, Fl

Romantic Getaway to St. Augustine

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Went for a weekend getaway 1/24/15...upon arrival first at a desk to the left when you walk in was super rude and not a great first impression...however...the older lady who checked us in was absolutely amazing very friendly and made a few changes I requested and just got my stay off to a great start...entered the room and was surprised we had a balcony which we took full advantage us and had plenty of room to enjoy....the vending machines are of weak selection and had to go to 3 different floors before finding one that worked and yeah they dont take cash....credit only....did not eat there as everything was wayyyy over priced...ate in downtown St. Augustine at the Colombia House and thats a must stop at eatery if your in the area absolutely amazing food and sangria best in town by a mile! Lastly...the Starbucks on site does not take your Starbucks card...so no rewards on purchases and didnt find out that out until after I ordered and drinks being made...a little sign would be nice....and the two younger girls in there were our second dose of absolutely rude staff....terrible attitude and not a true Starbucks in my opinion! Overall hotel portion and surroundings are amazing...does not look like the pictures on the outside though roof looks really nasty! Terrible staff and horrible food prices sink this hotel and it would not be my first choice again...happy it only cost me 100 bucks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoy no matter what the weather

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Enjoyed it all
Cons: The restaurant dinner menu did not appeal to us, but the breakfast menu was pleasing ..We did go out of the property to get our dinner....
Location: Loved the golf experience at the Slammer and Squire also enjoyed the Black and Blue grill nearby
Already booked for the weekend we experienced very cold and windy weather, the convenience of the hotel to the golf on site and the area made it a very nice weekend in spite of the weather. The hotel is pleasant, convenient, clean and decorated very nicely.. The rooms and the bed afforded us a great nights sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This is a very nice resort hotel. It seems odd that less expensive hotels offer free wifi, but the Renaissance charges a daily fee. Otherwise is was a very nice stay. They offered a free shuttle into St. Augustuine.