Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Cottage a disappointment.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Pool and ocean was just a few steps from our cottage and the view was beautiful.
Cons: Driveway is in need of resurfacing. Lots of pot holes.
Location: Location not bad however you do need a rental car, too far to walk If you like history visit Fort Christensted. Boardwalk has places to eat and shop
Needs complete renovation to cottages. First cottage we were given floor was dirty, blinds were broken and windows on inside were not clean and tv did not work, also light in ceiling did not work. Other lights didn't work either. No night stand by either bed. Pool had not been cleaned. Filtration system didn't work our entire stay. Mold around edges of pool and could not see bottom, greasy film on top of water with leaves and debri. Due to poor condition of the pool we did not swim in it. We will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Excellent room, large, and comfortable. Hotel staff friendly and very helpful, right near the beach and easy access to all local attractions. Great place to vacation, and I fully recommend to anyone traveling to the Virgin Island of St. Croix
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Paradise Found

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Chwenay Bay is my version of paradise. The cottages are beautifully furnished. Make sure to get cabin by beach, they were recently refurbished. The beach is fab and snorkeling is great. Near the event beach there are all kinds of baby fish in the sea grass and a little off shore coral, I saw a turtle, lobster, sea urchins, octopus and a sting ray. The best thing about the place is the people. They really treat you like family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Once is enough!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Not much. The pool area was nice.
Cons: The whole place needs updating and staff who are more accommodating. They didn't care about the guest.
Location: Not very close to anything.
The pictures on the internet were much more beautiful than the property itself. The air conditioner unit in the window was falling out, ants in the food we purchased in the kitchen, they charge $1.00 for a packet of coffee after the first night. No beach towels were available (they were in the dryer.) No light bulbs in the lamps, toilet was broken and ran water all night. No luggage racks to set the suitcases on. It was a big disappointment. The pool area was nice, the beach was nice, the beach chairs were mostly broken. The restaurant was only open 11-7pm. No breakfast foods available. No printer to print off my boarding pass for my return trip. Overall, once was enough. Never would I go back and i would not recomment anyone else to stay at Chenay Bay Resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014
Hotel is poorly maintained and in a general state of disarray.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mrs. Rosario from Puerto Rico

Excelent romantic get away!!!

Posted Dec 2, 2013
The beach is only footsteps away. I am sure going back!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy

The location was great for the East end.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Cons: The grounds need to be brought back and the restaurant/ bar needs to remain open or its closer should be posted on the website.
Location: The Deep End Restaurant at Tamarind Reef, Port Udall, Cheeseburgers Restaurant, Tutto Bene Restaurant, Buck Island Tours, snorkeling at Cane Bay,
The Hotel was nice but the grounds have not been kept up for sometime.However, our room had a small kitchen and it was nice to make coffee and toast every morning. The staff was very nice but didn't have a lot to offer about area attractions( fortunately lots of info material available). The main problem was the bar and restaurant at the resort wasn't open and we were not inform about this before our arrival. Other guests who had inquired one week before their arrival where told it was open when it had not been the entire month of September. The best part about this resort in September is it's almost totally private!! You have the beach and pool to yourself. There are wonderful restaurants very close, but a car is a must! Check out The Deep End Restaurant at Tamarind Reef, and Tutto Bene,( the only place with AC on the island). Angry Nates is great and Port Udall is definitely worth the drive. We loved St Croix, the people were great and we would probably stay at Chenay Bay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie from Connecticut

Perfect single cottage, private and inviting!

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The private cottages, the staff, the beach in the cove was very private and warm.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Only a 30 minute drive to Pt Udall to watch the sunrise. A perfect event to see. Close to Cramers Park, nice private beach area.
A fantastic little place away from all tourists. Private cottages with very comfy beds, warm showers and inviting size. Staff was wonderful and the beach was in the bay, so it was quiet, waveless and a lot of aquatic life to see on a snorkel.