Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kalamazoo, Michigan

Beautiful belated honeymoon!

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of each and every staff member we encountered and the fantastic food and drinks!
Location: Right down the road there are 2 places to eat with great food and view...("Off the wall" and "Eat @ Cane Bay").
We were immediately impressed with the friendliness of all the resort staff and that feeling continued the duration of our stay. The beach is beautiful and even has amazing coral reefs and ample fish visible via snorkeling right off the shore! The beachside cocktail shack was a huge hit as well as the amazing cocktails provided! The 2 restaurants at the resort both offered great food, while one was a little more upscale in pricing. The more upscale restaurant served food that was WELL WORTH what you paid! The highlight of our trip was when a very sweet guy on the hotel staff cut down coconuts from the tree and gave us 2 fresh coconuts for drinking the water it produced! It was such a cool experience! We will most definitely be back in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canton, OH

St. Croix and this hotel were a dissapointment

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The beach, pool, music and the Moko jumbies.
Cons: The staff's attitude for sure! The food could be improved and they had no internet the entire week in my room.
I stayed in St. Croix for the first time to witness and celebrate my sister's wedding. The wedding was incredible and we found a nice beach for the ceremony. I stayed at the Carambola Renaissance because I heard that it and the Buccaneer were two of the best places to stay on this island. First, The hotel is tucked in a small valley at the base of some hills. It has a nice beach and pool. Those were two positives. Also, the music and the Moko jumbie dancers they have on friday nights are excellent. The rest of my rating for this hotel suffers. There was no internet during my whole 8 nights and nine days there. TV reception in my room was poor. I complained and they had their IT people try to fix things but never could. Secondly, the staff is average at best. The gift shop workers and most of the waiting staff acted as if we were an inconvenience the entire time. There just seemed to be no joy or happiness in the attitudes of the staff. The food at their restaurants is average and we waited forever for the food to arrive. I will not likely stay at this hotel ever again. I checked out the Buccaneer and it seemed to much nicer in all ways, especially with the staff. As for the island, don't expect to welcomed by the locals. They acted as if we were an inconvenience just like my hotel. There were always people begging for money, and the looks and attitude of the locals never made any of us comfortable. The island geography and ocean views are very nice, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Eight Days of Ironman, Diving, and Relaxation

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A little more lighting in the room - one desk lamp or other freestanding light would be great
Location: Carambola is removed, quiet, serene, and beautiful. It takes a little while to drive to places, but you get to see the island in the 20 min drives.
This was our second stay at Carambola - both were excellent. The staff is extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Everyone from waitresses to grounds keepers always speak with genuine care and hospitality. The rooms are large, cool, with beautiful bathrooms and comfortable beds and great flatscreen TV. The breakfasts and lunches are excellent. Service is very friendly but does take a little while for lunch. We ate our dinners at other recommended restaurants. We used the Sweetbottom Dive Center folks for all of our diving. They are excellent. Plenty of tanks, always looking to help the dive expereinece as easy and pleasurable as possible. Accommodating any request -and this was the first week of the new ownership operation - VERY IMPRESSIVE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bossier City

Beautiful Beach Resort

Posted May 6, 2015
We were very happy with our stay. When we return to St Croix, this is where we will stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Short and sweet

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe pest control can be improved a bit. There were ants in the bathroom. But that's expected due to the forestry surroundings.
Location: The location is secluded so a rental car is highly recommended. Not much nearby to do besides going to the beach.
Originally from STX and spend 3 fabulous nights at the Renaissance. Staff, Room, Food, Atmosphere, etc. All Excellent. Recommend that everyone experience a stay here at least once.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Va Beach VA

Our personnal peace

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The beach suites are beatiful( Bldg 14) is perfect. Your staff is always friendly,available and very professional.
Location: Great view/Golf Course/Great small restuarants/Minimal traffic
My wife and myself have been coming to Carambola for ten years. We just visited this time for nine days. Next year we hope to spend closer to two weeks. The most hospitable,serene and perfect place to vacation. I've traveled to most of the Carribean Islands over the past 45 years. St. Croix and The Carambola are by far the best vacations and hotel I've experienced. Thank You and your complete staff for making our stays wonderful. See you next Spring!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Awesome honeymoon!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The room and the grounds are awesome. Very clean and look exactly like the pictures on the website.
Cons: Food pricing and menu selections.
Location: We went on an ATV tour through the mountains. Also visited several shops, restaurants, and bars on the hotels list of recommendations.
We just returned from our stay at the Renaissance for our honeymoon. Just like other reviewers have mentioned it is very remote and there isn't a lot to do around the hotel. However, if you rent a car everything on the island is basically 20-30 minutes from the hotel. I would definitely recommend renting a car, it's not that bad driving on the left. The hotel staff here was good and very welcoming, especially in the reception/check-in area. The food at the hotel restaurant was good, but there wasn't a huge selection and it was very pricey. We probably spent more on food than we did anything for the entire trip. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. My expectations were exceeded and I couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkley, Ma

Outstanding Resort Experience !!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Everything !!!! Seriously the best beach Resort on the planet !! the kitchen refrigerator was such a plus to stalk up with your goodies ....
Cons: Nothing we can think of .... It was that outstanding !!
Location: We stayed at the Resort and enjoyed the gorgeous Beach , dinning , entertainment then back to the beach the next morning . LOL
We all be back to this incredible St Croix Resort !! Never saw a Resort with such a beautiful private beach that is nestled against a lush mountain .... Words can not describe the majesty of this location on the island . I love to play golf and because this resort was that incredible I never played golf LOL but plan to next time ... The rooms were so comfortable with full size refrigerators The beds were like sleeping on a cloud and the screened in patio just added to the comfort of the room. We didn't rent a car , we just took a private regular taxi from the airport to the grocery store to stalk up on liquor, chips , awesome oranges , yogurt and whatever your heart desires because the rooms have Full size refrigerators. The resort offers scuba diving and snorkeling ... Don't miss the Friday night awesome dinner buffet with entertainment at 8:30 pm / Pirate night theme ... The help is so nice and accommodating and it's obvious that the Resort Manager is doing an outstanding professional job here at this Marriott Resort !!! Also try the out of this world St Croix lobster ... Better than Maine Lobster !!! I never thought I would ever say that but it's so true. It's more tender and sweeter and baked to perfection with crab stuffing .... My wife and had it two nights in a row that's how good it was !! Book your trip , it will be a year to year destination for sure ...
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Beautiful location and nice beach

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location of the hotel was beautiful the beach is pretty. The layout of the rooms and the Screenhouse made it really cozy and gave it a nice nature feel. The staff was super friendly and nice. However, The food was mediocre and the service at the poolside restaurant was horrendous . The last time we are there was when we waited over 45 minutes for salads and when they came they didn't even have utensils for us and we had to wait another 15 minutes for those to come . We actually ate lunch and dinner outside of the hotel after that. There was also some issues with the room that were never resolved but they were minor. It's a bit unfortunate because the location and hotel are so beautiful. I believe it's managements fault and if they got it together it would make the overall experience so much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Jersey

First class accomodations

Posted Feb 21, 2015
First class all around. Look forward to goming back!