Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great hotel right on great beach.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: I loved the screened in porches and the friendly staff.
Cons: Happy with our trip to the Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa would not change a thing
Location: The Renaissance is secluded but not too secluded. A short beautiful drive to Christiansted or Frederiksted. We didn't want town so this was perfect.
The hotel was clean, the grounds was like staying in a botanical garden. This was our first trip to St Croix and we were worried about the trip. Everything could not have been better. We snorkeled right off the beach in front of the hotel and my husband scuba dived there too. He had a wonderful experience diving at Sweet Bottom Dive Shop and I treated myself to a spa day, which was so so relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venice, FL

Amazing location!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The ability to relax and enjoy nature
Cons: As with any hotel, the food can always be better.
Location: It is a remote area of the island without a lot of nightlife or excitement. If you want to stay out late, this is not the island for you.
If you want an enjoyable stay, leave your watch at home....remember this is not in the states and they run on a slower pace. It's not an issue as long as you are aware and are able to roll with it. If you can, this is a top notch resort. The staff was friendly from check-in to check-out. Each staff member we met during our week greeted us with a smile and was as pleasant as could be. The views are extraordinary and the water amazing. If you are a diver, then you cannot find a better location. This resort has an on-site dive center Sweet Bottom Dive Center that will treat you better than any dive shop I have ever visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Nice place right on the beach and good pool. Room was very nice. I had read reviews that they need updating but mine was updated, so maybe those reviews are old. Staff is on island time so don't expect anything in a hurry. We had one issue where our patio fan didn't work. On the first day I called in lathe am and never heard back. I called again in the pm and was told it will be looked at. The next day, after not hearing from anyone, I called again and was told it can't be fixed and they don't have any other fans. It was my impression that no one actually looked at it. Then the 3rd day I called again and asked to speak to the manager. She sent an engineer out and he fixed it right away and brought another fan just in case he couldn't fix it. This was the only real problem we had. Except for when my wife got tea that had gooie stuff in it. We were told its because its old and someone must have forgot to clean and replace it. Other than those two things, it was excellent and I'd recommend it. Just don't expect the Ritz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed

Posted May 30, 2015
Great experience until the last night. But this wasn't the hotels fault. The noise was new neighbors drinking, being rude and loud at all hours. The staff was great. Everything we needed was on site. We rented a car with no problem. Shuttle was available to the town and to a Cruzan Tour. Room was very clean. My husband and I wanted to order in a couple of times. Food was excellent and service was great. Food and drinks were overpriced. Cons: Drinks are watered down and expensive. I recommend bring your own voldka and dash it in your drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, Michigan

Beautiful belated honeymoon!

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of each and every staff member we encountered and the fantastic food and drinks!
Location: Right down the road there are 2 places to eat with great food and view...("Off the wall" and "Eat @ Cane Bay").
We were immediately impressed with the friendliness of all the resort staff and that feeling continued the duration of our stay. The beach is beautiful and even has amazing coral reefs and ample fish visible via snorkeling right off the shore! The beachside cocktail shack was a huge hit as well as the amazing cocktails provided! The 2 restaurants at the resort both offered great food, while one was a little more upscale in pricing. The more upscale restaurant served food that was WELL WORTH what you paid! The highlight of our trip was when a very sweet guy on the hotel staff cut down coconuts from the tree and gave us 2 fresh coconuts for drinking the water it produced! It was such a cool experience! We will most definitely be back in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canton, OH

St. Croix and this hotel were a dissapointment

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The beach, pool, music and the Moko jumbies.
Cons: The staff's attitude for sure! The food could be improved and they had no internet the entire week in my room.
I stayed in St. Croix for the first time to witness and celebrate my sister's wedding. The wedding was incredible and we found a nice beach for the ceremony. I stayed at the Carambola Renaissance because I heard that it and the Buccaneer were two of the best places to stay on this island. First, The hotel is tucked in a small valley at the base of some hills. It has a nice beach and pool. Those were two positives. Also, the music and the Moko jumbie dancers they have on friday nights are excellent. The rest of my rating for this hotel suffers. There was no internet during my whole 8 nights and nine days there. TV reception in my room was poor. I complained and they had their IT people try to fix things but never could. Secondly, the staff is average at best. The gift shop workers and most of the waiting staff acted as if we were an inconvenience the entire time. There just seemed to be no joy or happiness in the attitudes of the staff. The food at their restaurants is average and we waited forever for the food to arrive. I will not likely stay at this hotel ever again. I checked out the Buccaneer and it seemed to much nicer in all ways, especially with the staff. As for the island, don't expect to welcomed by the locals. They acted as if we were an inconvenience just like my hotel. There were always people begging for money, and the looks and attitude of the locals never made any of us comfortable. The island geography and ocean views are very nice, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Eight Days of Ironman, Diving, and Relaxation

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A little more lighting in the room - one desk lamp or other freestanding light would be great
Location: Carambola is removed, quiet, serene, and beautiful. It takes a little while to drive to places, but you get to see the island in the 20 min drives.
This was our second stay at Carambola - both were excellent. The staff is extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Everyone from waitresses to grounds keepers always speak with genuine care and hospitality. The rooms are large, cool, with beautiful bathrooms and comfortable beds and great flatscreen TV. The breakfasts and lunches are excellent. Service is very friendly but does take a little while for lunch. We ate our dinners at other recommended restaurants. We used the Sweetbottom Dive Center folks for all of our diving. They are excellent. Plenty of tanks, always looking to help the dive expereinece as easy and pleasurable as possible. Accommodating any request -and this was the first week of the new ownership operation - VERY IMPRESSIVE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bossier City

Beautiful Beach Resort

Posted May 6, 2015
We were very happy with our stay. When we return to St Croix, this is where we will stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Short and sweet

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe pest control can be improved a bit. There were ants in the bathroom. But that's expected due to the forestry surroundings.
Location: The location is secluded so a rental car is highly recommended. Not much nearby to do besides going to the beach.
Originally from STX and spend 3 fabulous nights at the Renaissance. Staff, Room, Food, Atmosphere, etc. All Excellent. Recommend that everyone experience a stay here at least once.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va Beach VA

Our personnal peace

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The beach suites are beatiful( Bldg 14) is perfect. Your staff is always friendly,available and very professional.
Location: Great view/Golf Course/Great small restuarants/Minimal traffic
My wife and myself have been coming to Carambola for ten years. We just visited this time for nine days. Next year we hope to spend closer to two weeks. The most hospitable,serene and perfect place to vacation. I've traveled to most of the Carribean Islands over the past 45 years. St. Croix and The Carambola are by far the best vacations and hotel I've experienced. Thank You and your complete staff for making our stays wonderful. See you next Spring!!