Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Awesome honeymoon!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The room and the grounds are awesome. Very clean and look exactly like the pictures on the website.
Cons: Food pricing and menu selections.
Location: We went on an ATV tour through the mountains. Also visited several shops, restaurants, and bars on the hotels list of recommendations.
We just returned from our stay at the Renaissance for our honeymoon. Just like other reviewers have mentioned it is very remote and there isn't a lot to do around the hotel. However, if you rent a car everything on the island is basically 20-30 minutes from the hotel. I would definitely recommend renting a car, it's not that bad driving on the left. The hotel staff here was good and very welcoming, especially in the reception/check-in area. The food at the hotel restaurant was good, but there wasn't a huge selection and it was very pricey. We probably spent more on food than we did anything for the entire trip. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. My expectations were exceeded and I couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkley, Ma

Outstanding Resort Experience !!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Everything !!!! Seriously the best beach Resort on the planet !! the kitchen refrigerator was such a plus to stalk up with your goodies ....
Cons: Nothing we can think of .... It was that outstanding !!
Location: We stayed at the Resort and enjoyed the gorgeous Beach , dinning , entertainment then back to the beach the next morning . LOL
We all be back to this incredible St Croix Resort !! Never saw a Resort with such a beautiful private beach that is nestled against a lush mountain .... Words can not describe the majesty of this location on the island . I love to play golf and because this resort was that incredible I never played golf LOL but plan to next time ... The rooms were so comfortable with full size refrigerators The beds were like sleeping on a cloud and the screened in patio just added to the comfort of the room. We didn't rent a car , we just took a private regular taxi from the airport to the grocery store to stalk up on liquor, chips , awesome oranges , yogurt and whatever your heart desires because the rooms have Full size refrigerators. The resort offers scuba diving and snorkeling ... Don't miss the Friday night awesome dinner buffet with entertainment at 8:30 pm / Pirate night theme ... The help is so nice and accommodating and it's obvious that the Resort Manager is doing an outstanding professional job here at this Marriott Resort !!! Also try the out of this world St Croix lobster ... Better than Maine Lobster !!! I never thought I would ever say that but it's so true. It's more tender and sweeter and baked to perfection with crab stuffing .... My wife and had it two nights in a row that's how good it was !! Book your trip , it will be a year to year destination for sure ...
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Beautiful location and nice beach

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Location of the hotel was beautiful the beach is pretty. The layout of the rooms and the Screenhouse made it really cozy and gave it a nice nature feel. The staff was super friendly and nice. However, The food was mediocre and the service at the poolside restaurant was horrendous . The last time we are there was when we waited over 45 minutes for salads and when they came they didn't even have utensils for us and we had to wait another 15 minutes for those to come . We actually ate lunch and dinner outside of the hotel after that. There was also some issues with the room that were never resolved but they were minor. It's a bit unfortunate because the location and hotel are so beautiful. I believe it's managements fault and if they got it together it would make the overall experience so much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Jersey

First class accomodations

Posted Feb 21, 2015
First class all around. Look forward to goming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plainfield, NH

On the best beach in St. Croix

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Great beach.
Cons: Clear driving directions from airport should be included with hotel confirmation. It is not easy to find. Map provided by AVIS inadequate.
Location: The hotel is quite a distance from any other restaurants or attractions. There are some nice shops in Christiansted, but downtown is quiet at night.
Unfortunately we had booked for three nights, but because flights were cancelled in Boston, we were there only one. The room was large, comfortable. Bathroom also very large, huge shower. Staff very friendly and pleasant. We ate just one dinner and breakfast there. Food was fine. All rooms are on or very close to the beach. We did struggle with getting the door to the room open, every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Perryfrom Cincinnati

great hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, food is expensive, location is away from the cities
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SC

ANNIVERSARY.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: View. Music. Clean
Cons: Choices of dining. Too expensive for shuttle. Service too slow even for carribean time
Location: Beach
Too secluded Very slow service. Needed more options for dining. Loved loved view. Bed very comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Renaissance Carambola St. Croix is great!

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our son and his family live on St. Croix, USVI. We love staying at the Renaissance when we are there. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The resort is one of the most beautiful hotels in the Caribbean. The restaurant food is good. The only bad thing is that the food service is extremely slow. We waited with an infant for 2 hours for our sandwiches. Breakfast buffet is quicker and very tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom covington tn

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Great place to stay! Be sure to rent a car.try to get a 2 floor room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Best hotel and facility on the island.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location, scenery, Sweet Bottom Diving facilities and instructors, food and rooms.
Cons: The only issue is with the speed of service. I think the management need to rethink how they organize the kitchen and wait staff to be more efficient.
The hotel is great, all rooms are on the ocean. Rooms are quiet and easy to get to. The bar and restaurants serve good food although a little pricey. The only slight grumble is the speed of service which can be slow to the point of being painful. That may have been due to the fact that we were there during Christmas week but talking to other guests it seems like an ongoing issue year on year....as long as you regard it as part of the relaxation process you will be fine! But if you need to get going in the morning do the buffet or you will be there for >1 hour!