Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ashley m. from m

Totally secluded

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The hotel is in a secluded part if the island which was good for honeymoon but if your looking to do a bunch probably not the best! The beach at the resort was a little rough for our liking but easily remedied by a visit to rainbow beach!!! BEAUTIFUL! everyone was sooo friendly, food and drinks we're priced a little steep...easy fix, buy your own bottles of rum from the cruzan rum factory...$8.00 per 1 liter bottle and make your own drinks...compared to a $12.00 mixed drink! Room was courageous and something out of a movie and newly renovated! Every room has an pitched netted, to keep the bugs out...we had the best honeymoon and it was sooo relaxing! Would stay at the hotel again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very nice and secluded

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: very pretty beach and room views
Location: a little secluded but staff very helpful about getting around the island. many water activities to chooses from.
Stayed with my two teenage sons and enjoyed St. Croix from the renaisance very much. Beaches were beautiful and the staff was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Great place. Beautiful beach . Big rooms. A place to relax
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Great resort

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The resort is beautiful and staff was super friendly and welcoming. I would go back to carambola. However, the town of Christiansted is gross, industrial, abandoned and I felt unsafe in broad daylight. We were in shock actually about how bad it was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by m from Florida

Nice hotel for St. Croix

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Secluded and quiet with nice beach! Nice band at night while eating dinner watching the sunset
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AP from Hopkinton, MA

Perfect location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The staff was very accomodating. Rooms were spacious. Beautiful, secluded, and safe. Would recommend to couples, families, or friends traveling together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave

Incredibly beautiful, remote resort w poor service

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location! Remote. Secluded. Breathtakingly beautiful. Uncrowded (yet the hotel was 80% full, couldn't tell).
Cons: The communication process is horrible. Everything is manual, written down (presumable in invisible ink). Follow up is a foreign word.
Location: The closest town is 20 minutes away. We never leftr the resort, nor did we desire to. There is a lovely golf course 10 minutes from the resort.
One of the most beautiful resorts I've visisted. Remote, uncrowded and unspoiled, this is truly paradise. Facilities are clean and adequate, and the room meets Marriott's high standards. The service, however, is another story. I registered for a hotel shuttle to the near-by golf course (beautiful course, SLOW greens) and they forgot about me. After I finished, the golf course called the hotel. An hour and a half later, I realized I had been forgotten, again. The night before we left, I watched as an associate wrote my info down in a ledger for shuttle service to the airport the next day. The following morning, worried that I would have a repeat of the golf fiasco, I called to make sure I was on the list for the shuttle to the airport. They had no record of it! There were other examples of how poor communication is at this resort. Fortunately, the beauty of the place eclipsed the horrible customer service, and I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort, loved everything but the restaurant

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Everything but the dining. it is a great Caribbean island getaway.
Cons: The food quality at the restaurant; the bar restaurant was Ok, the site for breakfast and friday nite jump up was unfriendly, and average quality
Location: We loved Eat and Rowdy Joes restaurants off site but nearby. the diving and snorkeling, swimming, hiking right on site were great. Renting a car allow
our only complaint was the restaurant, the food very expensive, but less than average quality. WE were forced to go off site for good quality food with pleasant dining atmosphere along with fun welcome feeling. The resort itself was pictureesgue, wonderful location, top quality accommodations, friendly helpful staff everywhere except dining room again. The Sweet Bottom dive center dive center on site was very professional and helpful, friendly, fun, and acommodating. Our room unit was a dream, looking out on pool, ocean with breath taking views. It was very private, safe, relaxing, and not crowded at all, perfect vacation we felt. It is best to have a car rental at this site to along taking in the offerings of the whole island as well as other restaurants. Conceriege services were quite helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maine Folks from Portland ME

Room on the beach

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Privacy and calm, even with "full house"
Cons: Some advance warning about access to second floor rooms by stairs only. Access can be tricky.
Location: Preferred to stay in house, but tempting visits were there
Paid a bit extra for a beach front room, well worth it. Calm and private even though hotel was highly booked. Good restaurant. Did not do it, but looked like a great base for activities out-of resort. Were more interested in unwinding after bad year for the family. Staff most cooperative. Great break from Maine winter, although it takes a very full day to get there from here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashlee from Saint Paul, MN

Carambola is absolutely amazing!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Everything about Carambola was incredible! I planned a week stay for my boyfriend's birthday and Valentine's Day. Needless to say, we were both so depressed when we had to leave. We relaxed on the amazing private beach, we hiked to the tide pools (quite the journey but oh so worth it!), met some fabulous people, one of which worked at the hotel. He was so unbelievably nice that he took us all around St. Croix and showed us both Christiansted and Fredricksted. Due to all the cars being rented out (which I highly recommend doing) he offered to take us around. I wouldn't have changed it for the world because we got to see the entire island! I seriously do not have a negative thing to say about Carambola! The staff was so accommodating and nice you really felt special. The food and drinks were quite pricy but I wouldn't expect anything less for a resort like this. If you can stop at a local market and get snacks and alcohol (which is very inexpensive), this makes it a little easier if you aren't trying to spend so much eating at the restaurants. Local food was also incredible, I highly recommend Harvey's in Christiansted if you aren't a picky eater. My boyfriend loves trying new things and eating odd foods (me, I am a little more reserved in that matter) but I absolutely loved it! And the people there, some of the nicest I've ever met. Shout out to Richie! Also shout out to David at Carambola, thank you from the bottom of Mark and my heart, you are the best!!! Carambola, amazing!