Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grapevine,Texas

Beautiful Gem in the Caribbean

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location and grounds. Close to downtown. The grounds are expansive and have beautiful vistas. Well known and easy to find. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Bell staff follow through. If they say they're gonna do something, they should do it. Failed in 2 of 3 occasions.
Location: Downtown Christiansted is 5 minutes away. Tour of Buck Island and snorkel the reef is a must. The Sweeney Safari Tour of the Island is very good.
Upon our arrival at 4pm, our room wasn't ready. Same thing happened on St Thomas so it must be a trend. The staff was all very friendly. The only reason I didn't give them an excellent rating was because the bell staff follow thru was terrible. When it comes to bell staff, do it yourself if it's important. All other staff were very friendly and helpful. The room view was spectacular, we were right on the water. Restaurants and food were very good. Just wished the Mermaid Cafe were open for dinner every night. Wait staff were all very good. We stayed right down on the beach so it's a "hike" up to the main lobby which sits on a high hill, but it's worth the trek and good for you to boot. If you stay more than a few days we HIGHLY recommend you rent a car. Other than driving on the left which you get used to, the island is so large and there is so much to see, a car is a necessity. The concierge staff was very helpful in getting a rental and signing up for various tours. Erin and Joel were tops. If we go back to St Croix, the Buccaneer is the only place we'd stay. There was just so much that went right, the snafu's were minor in comparison. Guarded and gated entrance to hotel grounds helps add to a sense of security.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with beach front access.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Loved the Buccaneer! Our stay was wonderful with friendly employees and beautiful room. The pool and beaches were clean and inviting. We would love to return someday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laid back and old Caribbean feel! Loved it!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The Buccaneer was exactly what we wanted! Laid back and Old Carribean feel. You can tell it is a family run hotel! Hotel was great as was the service! Snorkeling at Buck Island is a must! And recommend the deluxe beach front rooms! Big, Comfy, and Spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

Excellent and beautiful location!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: I would add that I love how the maids come in the evening and turn down the beds and close the shades. They also make sure you have plenty of towels!
Cons: The only little complaint might be that the rooms could use a good deep clean.
Location: Downtown Christiansted was fun, lots of stores. Our fav restaurants were The Brew Pub & Angry Nate's. Virgin Kayak was fun. Fredricksted was creepy.
Our first trip to the Virgin Islands and we absolutely made the right choice. The Buccaneer was a beautiful resort with three very different beaches and beautiful well cared for grounds. We golfed 3 out of 7 days because it was so fun! The spa was very nice and we did not have one bad meal! The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the different music in the lounge every night. Our favorite server was Jeremiah! Hello from Wyoming, Jeremiah :) The resort was very hilly but I quite liked it because of all of the different views. We stayed in the Luxury Ocean View rooms and I was pleased with the patios, the views and the location. I would choose those rooms again. We booked all of our activities with the concierge on the first day and they did a great job with organizing it all. I would say to definitely not be afraid to rent a jeep or car as the taxi's were just too expensive. One ride for 4 people to dinner and back a short distance away from the resort was almost as much as the meal! Driving on the left side of the road in St. Croix isn't bad at all :) Thanks for a great 22nd wedding anniversary Buccaneer! You did not disappoint :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

The place to stay in St Croix

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Womderful accommodations. Staff is amazing especially Nadia at Front desk and Oceana and Joel at concierge. France's greeted us every morning at breakfast. Excellent location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful week.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The setting is lovely. Two wonderful beaches. Grotto pool very nice.
Cons: The mattress on my bed.
Location: Christiansted is just a couple miles where you can catch the Big Beard's boat to Buck Island. Don't miss Buck Island for snorkeling!
We enjoyed our stay at the Buccaneer immensely. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Forgot your razor or toothbrush just ask for a replacement. Forgot to make a reservation. They will help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This was our third stay at TheBuccaneer in the past four years and we will certainly return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

The Reviews Are Accurate!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The staff, location and wedding package planning is top notch!
My fiancee' (now wife) chose to have our intimate beach wedding at the Buccaneer. We could not have more pleased. However, the staff is what makes this resort shine! We definitely recommend the Buccaneer to anyone choosing a resort on the island. I cannot say enough about the resort, the people, location and their wedding planning. I chose this resort based upon reviews as we had never been to St. Croix and we were pleasantly surprised. I should also note that we ran into several guests that told us this was their 2nd, 3rd or 4th visit to the Buccaneer. Some even mentioned that they had stayed at other resorts on the island that this was by far the best on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

The Best! Absolutely loved it!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Everything. Complimentary breakfast is outstanding! You will be taken care of here. Loved it.
Cons: I can't think of one thing that I would change.
Location: You can take a shuttle into town and then there is nothing you can't do. The concierge at the hotel can also help set things up for you.
This was the absolute best! Customer service is awesome! Beautiful people and location! Already planning on going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clear blue sea, charming staff.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Nothing
Clean, comfortable, great location and facilities... Excellent staff. I'd return in a heartbeat.