Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

A Pleased Pennsylvanian

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: As previously stated ...the room, convenience of restaurant ( and good food ), wonderful bartenders in lounge, very helpful front desk and concierge,
Cons: Improve business center for using computers . Try to only allow anyone under 18 only when adult present.
Location: Loved Christiansted and boardwalk. Savant an outstanding restaurant.
The ambiance of the hotel was apparent from our arrival. The room, the facilities ( restaurants, bar, ,etc.), service and staff were top notch. Mermaid Beach and the amenities ( Grille, towels, chairs , gear ) was fantastic. The beach was paradise. Concierge help in obtaining reservations for dinner, transportation was first rate. Even the taxi drivers were entertaining. Certainly hope to return someday.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Kept very pretty from the road.
Cons: The bug situation; the expense for food; the air conditioning could be tuned down.
Location: This is not an island that I would recommend. There were not that many things to do. The water was cold, the pools were cold, the beach was ok.
Had to walk up a hill to get to the Main part of the hotel. There were bugs in the bathroom. It was a very expensive hotel for food. The air conditioning unit was soooo loud that we could not sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southwest WI

Wonderful Resort in a Heavenly location!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Service and cleanliness.
Cons: Meal and drink prices were higher than we thought, but much of that is just the resort versus the local bars-- I expect it to be a bit higher.
Location: We did the Tan Tan Tour--recommend everyone do it! Also went snorkeling on Buck Island and took the Luminescent Sugar Bay Tour and shopped downtown.
The Buccaneer was a wonderfully located resort with beautiful beaches, great staff and service who catered to our every whim. The food was good, but a little pricier than we thought it would be. Overall, I would recommend the resort to anyone planning to visit St. Croix. We were told by many on the Island that its the best there is on the Island. We fell in love with St. Croix!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stewartsville, NJ

If on St. Croix, this is the place to be!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Simple check in, outstanding buffet breakfast (or order as you like). Beautiful grounds and Golf course, lovely beachside, enjoy the pool and the "grotto". Enjoy a night on the town or stay and enjoy the Terrace bar and restaurant. You will thoroughly enjoy your stay at the Buccaneer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Wonderful waterfront getaway

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: All the waterfront views, lush landscape and comfortable rooms. The staff was courteous, professional and attentive.
Cons: The menus at Kendricks and the Mermaid should reference and highlight local ingredients and dishes. T
Location: The location is perfect for beach time and relaxing. A short shuttle ride into Christeansted is nice for other dining & shopping. Try Angry Nates.
The Buccaneer is a lovely hotel. The staff is great. We were upgraded to a private room outside of the great house. Nice breakfast buffet included daily, coffee could have been a bit stronger. The beach attendants who provide towels, snorkeling gear or kayaks were so sweet. Drink the rum punch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Quaint and Modern

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: View, decor, size, cleanliness, location and privacy
Cons: Convenience of hotel shuttle
Location: We enjoyed a private tour of the island west side to include the Christiansted Broadwalk and shopping downtown. We had a tasty lunch at Rum Runner.
We truly enjoyed celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary at the Buccaneer. We enjoyed the location and the activities offered to all. Beautifully kept grounds, great golfing and walking trails. Fantastic views, quality restaurants with great food choices. The staff and services were very professional, friendly, just as we hoped for. We always had a desire to stay on the Island of St. Croix and we were not disappointed. Will highly recommend the island and a stay at the Buccaneer when discussing trip with family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando fl

Just Beautiful!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: Just minor maintenance
Location: The have a list of events to do around the island. Every morning they had a news weekly they gave the guest which listed all happenings on the island
Our stay at the Buccaneer was well worth it! The views every morning were amazing and the staff did a great job making sure we had everything we need. We recommend this hotel if your looking for tranquility on vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our room was on the water... Must book that way

Posted Dec 12, 2014
The hotel was very nice. The staff was great. Free breakfast every morning and it was wonderful. Our room. 335 was on the water with a beach not far from each side. The room was spacious was there were bugs everywhere... Bc the rooms are not sealed well from the outdoors but it was clean. The dinner at the hotel was excellent. Traveling from the hotel to the casino is not advised. No cabs go there. Even though we booked a return trip with the driver. He fell asleep and we were stranded. Not fun. Going into town is fine as long as you use the hotel shuttle (same guy who fell asleep - but it's daytime hours so he is awake then) last trip back is 5:30 pm. Hotel bar closes at 9:30-10:00 so be prepared for sleepy time. Nothing else to do. Love birds the advantage. Hotel charges a stupid fee of 6.5 for phone service whether you use it or not which is stupid. Overall .... Beautiful place for relaxed environment .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort hotel.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The location, well kept grounds, excellent service and staff, comfortable rooms, beach activities, complimentary kayaking and snorkeling gear
Location: Couple miles away from Christiansted. Unless you want to pay taxi, it's better to rent a car during the stay.
Stayed there 8 nights in November. Service was excellent. Kids loved the Mermaid beach and beach activities like volleyball and chess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In St. Croix to nicest hotel it's on the beach and

Posted Nov 30, 2014
My wife was greeted by Joel. He was very nice and upgraded our room . we had a great time in the hotel . we played golf, kids enjoyed it .