Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Beautiful hotel and grounds! Mostly great stay!

Posted May 24, 2015
Cons: The evening dining situation regarding reservations and/or selection of restaurants available at night.
Location: Sunrise at Point Udall (Easternmost point of the US) and a restaurant in town called 42 Strand are a must do! Snorkeling at Buck Is. as well!
Hotel was beautiful! Grounds were amazing and beaches were perfect. Even a great snorkeling reef right off the hotel beach. Was in town for the Ironman 70.3 race and this hotel was a great choice of stay as the run portion of the race went through the grounds. Restaurant food was good and the comp. breakfast was very good. Only 2 bad experiences....the team that works at the breakfast hour are not as pleasant as the rest of the staff at the hotel. Quite rude actually! The other is that the hotel requires reservations for all dinners but doesn't really explain that. They state reservations recommended. As it was towards the end of tourist season they would close some of the restaurants at certain hours. So even though there are 5 restaurants...only one or two are really open at a time. So if you didn't make a reservation...you are not eating at the hotel unless you order room service. What was more annoying is that after we started making reservations the restaurants were half empty all the time with tables sitting empty for 2 hours. They could fit you in...but chose to force the reservations system. If you are going for the Ironman race, it is a sketchy 2 mile ride in the dark to the starting line. Bring a headlamp or lights for your bike. Also, all roads are closed during the race so it makes a lot of walking for the spectators if they are not staying in town. All said, if I went back...I would stay only at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very spacioiys room right on beach

Posted May 23, 2015
Cons: Remove some of the hedges in front of first floor ocean view room, would have been able to enjoy view more without having to stand up to see
Location: location was good, not a whole lot of things to do on island
Staff are phenomenal, room was beautiful. 2 of the on site bars/restaurants closed at 5pm so a little inconvenient if you wanted anything after that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom germantown, MD

Fantastic hotel in St Croix

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: See above
Location: Snorkeling, excursions and restaurants.
This was our second trip to St Croix and this hotel. We spent few days for our anniversary. This is a great hotel: - Perfect location with several beaches of clear Caribbean water, - Outstanding staff trying to help and make you feel special - Great facility: golf, massage, restaurant (one of the best from the island) - Activities during the day and evening - Management with the right attitude and philosophy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted May 17, 2015
One of the best places to stay on the island. My wife and I had a great time. Great beaches golf courses and food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montpellier

Hôtel agréable, proche de la plage

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Le cadre La gentillesse du personnel
Cons: Taille des piscines Varier davantage les plats proposès au petit déjeuner.
10 excellents jours passés dans cet hôtel, calme et sympathique. Accès direct à la plage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
It was a beautiful hotel. The staff was wonderful. A few things in our room needed fixing. The electrical outlet in the bathroom was not completely adhered to the wall, The door where the refrigerator was, was off the hinge. But the bed was very comfortable and the rooms were very spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom massachusetts

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Everything!
The location was perfect to tour the island, easy two miles to town. The beaches were beautiful and clean. The food was excellent and liked having breakfast included. The staff was excellent and always friendly and helpful. This was a great island . We loved the hiking trails and recreational parks. The tennis courts were great. My only regret was the beaches had no waves at the hotel but since we had a car we were able to visit many beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grapevine,Texas

Beautiful Gem in the Caribbean

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location and grounds. Close to downtown. The grounds are expansive and have beautiful vistas. Well known and easy to find. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Bell staff follow through. If they say they're gonna do something, they should do it. Failed in 2 of 3 occasions.
Location: Downtown Christiansted is 5 minutes away. Tour of Buck Island and snorkel the reef is a must. The Sweeney Safari Tour of the Island is very good.
Upon our arrival at 4pm, our room wasn't ready. Same thing happened on St Thomas so it must be a trend. The staff was all very friendly. The only reason I didn't give them an excellent rating was because the bell staff follow thru was terrible. When it comes to bell staff, do it yourself if it's important. All other staff were very friendly and helpful. The room view was spectacular, we were right on the water. Restaurants and food were very good. Just wished the Mermaid Cafe were open for dinner every night. Wait staff were all very good. We stayed right down on the beach so it's a "hike" up to the main lobby which sits on a high hill, but it's worth the trek and good for you to boot. If you stay more than a few days we HIGHLY recommend you rent a car. Other than driving on the left which you get used to, the island is so large and there is so much to see, a car is a necessity. The concierge staff was very helpful in getting a rental and signing up for various tours. Erin and Joel were tops. If we go back to St Croix, the Buccaneer is the only place we'd stay. There was just so much that went right, the snafu's were minor in comparison. Guarded and gated entrance to hotel grounds helps add to a sense of security.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with beach front access.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Loved the Buccaneer! Our stay was wonderful with friendly employees and beautiful room. The pool and beaches were clean and inviting. We would love to return someday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laid back and old Caribbean feel! Loved it!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
The Buccaneer was exactly what we wanted! Laid back and Old Carribean feel. You can tell it is a family run hotel! Hotel was great as was the service! Snorkeling at Buck Island is a must! And recommend the deluxe beach front rooms! Big, Comfy, and Spacious.