Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque

Wonderful experience!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The location, the owner, the staff, the bed, and the room. Basically everything.
Cons: We were not blown away by the food. I think the biggest disappointment was when we ordered whole lobsters and they showed up without the pincers.
Location: The location is really ideal. Beautiful palm trees right by the ocean. The owner was right about getting a car though. It really added to our trip.
My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon in October. The owner Chuck took really great care of us. He took us night snorkeling, which was one of the coolest things I've ever done. He also gave us a lot of great tips on spots to check out on the island. I was anxious about getting a car and driving on the left. He went so far as to let us borrow his van and drive it on the back roads over to the grocery store to get a feel for driving on the left. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Pat at the front desk. The bed in the room was very comfortable, and the air conditioning and ceiling fan worked well to keep the room cool. We had the ocean right outside our back door and we enjoyed sitting on the deck and relaxing. The freshwater pool was very pleasant. We enjoyed a couples massage, as well as a yoga class that both happened under the palm trees right next to the ocean. An added touch that we enjoyed was a complimentary half-pint of rum that was provided upon our arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the Caribbean Night on Monday. The beach, pool, bar, and restaurant were all very pleasant.
Location: Christiansted is nearby and easy to get to if you have a car.
Solid hotel in a great location. The staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burke, VA

Love this place!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The personal attention. Chuck, the owner gave us a private snorkeling lesson. The front desk staff were very helpful with any kind of arrangements.
Cons: We have no complaints!
Location: Snorkeling was right out your door. Everything else was a quick taxi ride away-Tan Tan tours, boat rides, other restaurants, etc.
The Palms at Pelican Cove was a perfect place for us to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary! The staff was friendly and attentive. They quickly learned our names and were very knowledgeable about the island and were always happy to make arrangements for a special outing. The grounds were beautiful. While we were there the many coconut trees were being pruned and we were able to enjoy coconut water right out of the coconut thanks to Norbert. Our rooftop suite was spacious and had an amazing view of the beach. If you are looking for a place with lots of the typical tourists trappings this is not the place for you! It was quiet-no loud guests or jet skis out on the water. It was less than a hundred feet from our room to a beautiful beach with amazing snorkeling! It was easy to get a quick taxi ride into town, though car rentals are easy and convenient. My husband and I are already planning a trip back for next year and the year after that! My guess is that a visit to The Palms at Pelican Cove will become a new family tradition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael martinfrom LA

5 stars

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
You need to stay at this hotel it's is the best place to stay
3 out of 5
by bettefrom arizona

needs improvement

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Food and view.
Cons: almost everything.
Location: windiest part of island, not much to do unless you want to shop on boardwalk and spend a fortune.
The hotel was just ok. Beach was very windy and sand fleas ate us alive. Water was very rough with a bad rip and unable to snorkel. Had to ask to get sheets changed and then it wasn't done. Food was good and bartenders especially Mathew were very good and enjoyable to talk to. Locals unfriendly and unable to go to town at night due to crime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nkbfrom Seattle

Mellow, beachfront Caribbean hotel. Lovely staff!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Amazing snorkel guided tours and good food. Rooms were private, nice balconies, views.
Cons: Northside oceanfront--our time there it was windy and rough..not a swimmer's paradise.
This hotel had what we were looking for in terms of laid-back, well run, good food and drink easily accessible, and beachfront, easy-access rooms. We loved the feel and the fact that it was so quiet and laid back, but had activities like Monday eve Carribbean night, and snorkeling right there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracyfrom Jacksonville, FL

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Hotel is far enough away from downtown that you feel the privacy you crave, but town is just an 8 min drive away. I especially liked that I didn't feel 'nickled and dimed"; you bought what you wanted, but were not constantly pressured to buy another add-on or another package. No t-shirts for sale. Just nice people running a lovely hotel right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Drewfrom Iowa

Relaxing Trip

Posted Mar 25, 2014
My wife and I stayed here five nights in March. We booked a "Garden View" room instead of an "Ocean View" room to save some money--upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to have a patio off of our room with a great view of the ocean. Every day we enjoyed a scenic walk to the main resort building (restaurant, pool, facilities, etc.) either along the beach or through the courtyard. The restaurant was delicious for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant is right up next to the beach which created a special dinner environment especially when they had live music. At first we were a little disappointed about the beach--it was rockier than expected (just a little way into the water--there are plenty of places to lay out on nice sand with few to no rocks) but after taking a snorkeling class with Mitch (super friendly and knowledgeable) we realized the coral reef right off the shore provided a ton of adventure and fun--we saw stingrays, squid, octopus, lobster, flounder, eels and a host of other fish I can't name--I think we both have a newly discovered passion for snorkeling. Saturday night we were able to go on a night snorkel with the owner of the resort which we highly recommend. Christiansted was a short taxi ride from the hotel--spent an evening there. If you would like to have a real St. Croix experience (learn about the people, culture, wildlife), you should stay at this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindafrom Florida

Nice hotel on the beach, nice staff,good food

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Just about everything!
Location: The hotel was right on the beach, a few miles from downtown. A car was a must for us. Taxis are available.
We enjoyed the snorkel trips, day and night. Mitch and the owner, Chuck were spectacular. The food was great, and rooms nicely decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location to beach
Cons: Beds
Location: Snorkeling on Buck Island and ATV into rainforest, Location is central to everything.
Beautiful beach and snorkeling. Mich is the best!