Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 18, 2015
We went there on our honeymoon and the staff helped us have a blast in St Croix. We had a second floor ocean view and it was perfect. Very simple... bed, bathroom and view. We didn't want or need anything else! We grew to know most of the staff as they were very nice and treated us as regulars. Highly recommend and I know we will be visiting again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Menasha, WI

Perfect time at the Palms!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: A beautiful pool, breakfast in open air restaurant on the beach, great room with private patio on the beach.
Location: Location is approximately the middle of the north coast. As the island is not that large, all attractions are a short drive. Scuba, snorkel & more.
Had our 2nd visit to St. Croix and was lucky to find the Palms at Pelican Cove. Although a bit hard to find, it was well worth it. Comfortable rooms and fantastic food at restaurant. Various entertainment throughout the week. I would definitely go back to the Palms! Great diving, snorkeling, boat tours, tropical breezes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to beach

Posted May 17, 2015
Room was a little musty smelling. Television had terrible reception, so its a good thing that I wasn't in the room much. Now the awesome part is the room was 50 feet from the ocean. The food was priced well and was much better than I expected. If you want to get away from a hectic life this is the place to go. Not a lot of traffic around the resort and that gives you the feeling of not only privacy but peacefulness and serenity. I would not only recommend but I will be coming back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lale Wylie, SC

Vacation in Paradise

Posted May 17, 2015
Cons: The only suggestion would to be to provide plastic cups in the room. The paper cups wear out and were not replaced.
Location: Visit the Botanical Gardens, Frederiksted and Christiansted. Go snorkeling or scuba diving on 1 of the reefs, fishing, Buck Island and Udall Point.
The hotel and it's staff were top notch. ,The hotel is easily reached from Christiansted (4 miles). The rooms are large and airy facing the Caribbean Sea. The beach is at your doorstep. There is a nice pool if you prefer. The grounds are lush with tropical vegetation. The on site restaurant is open and on the beach. The food is generally excellent. The friendly staff did all that they could to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. There is entertainment on some nights that are popular with the hotel residents and surrounding population. We had a relaxing and fun week and would definitely stay here again on a return visit to St Croix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MIssouri

Very nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: On the beach. Nice bar and friendly staff. Equipment to borrow. Excellent ambiance.
Cons: Better signage to get there. Shower heads were weak. Kayak rental? Maybe a briefing for the new guests of what's available in the area.
Location: Boat in Christensted, Jolly Roger was fun for snorkling. SCUBA offered/ Find a beach and chill. I preferred the East End of Island for beach time.
The hotel was great, room right on the beach. The staff was very friendly, except for one clerk who was a little ambivalent to our needs, but one clerk was very helpful so it was a wash. They need better directions from the main road to get there. The maps of the island aren't very detailed and there isn't a larger sign off the main drag to turn. You can eat and drink there, good restaurant and bar, but for longer stays we just stocked up at the grocery right up the road. Borrow snorkeling equipment and a cooler from the restaurant, pack a lunch, and go find a deserted beach to chill and relax and check out the reefs our hit the reef at the hotel. Rent a jeep. You'll have access to more beaches. Almost bottomed out the small rental we had.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Lovely location

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Working hair dryer (high AND low heat) Electronic door keys or at least inform guests to use the lock in the door and not the deadbolt
Location: Beach Hotel pool Snorkeling Rum factory
St. Croix does not have many amenities, except if you want to lie on a beach, swim in a pool, or go snorkeling. The hotel is lovely and I had a private balcony with an ocean view. Keys to the room are old-fashioned keys and the staff neglected to inform me you do not use the deadbolt only the lock in the door itself. This was very frustrating as I flew all night and was very tired when I arrived. The blow dryer in the bathroom only worked on low, another fact they neglected to tell me until my hair was wet and I wondered why the dryer would not work. I ate breakfasts in the hotel and the food & service was excellent, although both times I ordered rye toast and both times I got either white toast or an English muffin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you are coming to St Croix, STAY HERE!!!!

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Everything - service, room comfort, foot, surprise guided snorkeling trip, etc.
Cons: See comment above about shampoo - really the only thing.
Location: Nice beaches around but St Croix is a quieter island so had we stayed longer, we probably would have just spent most of our time at the resort.
We liked the look of other reviews so booked this resort for a one night stay in St Croix (short trip while in St Thomas) and are so glad we did. We travel a lot and this resort would be right up there with one of the best we've experienced for comfort, quality restaurant and awesome service. Really can't say enough. Wonderfully comfortable room in every way (bed was heaven). Service was fantastic from the check-in until we left. We arrived early (as we arrived on the island in the morning) but were still made very welcome. Pat on reception was fantastic as were all the other staff we interacted with. The on-site restaurant is extremely well run and the food delicious but surprisingly affordable. My husband was amazed at the size of his lobster for dinner at which the waiter said "that one is only a baby, pity you aren't here on Friday night when we have the big ones". And the surprise treat was the free hour long snorkeling trip out on the reef included in the price - I didn't even know about this when booking. Erin, the snorkeling guide/instructor, was fantastic and really discouraged any gratuity which was a very pleasant surprise (but we still gave her one anyway as we had such a great time). My only (very very very small) con would be a richer shampoo/conditioner. The one provided was "OK" but a bit drying and I did not bring mine with me as we were only in St Croix for 2 days/1 night but at least they did provide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Friendly folks

Posted Apr 26, 2015
We enjoyed the quiet and peace...friendly folks...would have liked a king bed and a nicer bed...rooms were somewhat dated but clean...loved having a bathtub.. a rare thing in St croix...direct aces to nice beach with our room on ground floor facing ocean..food was great at the restaurant and bar...nice laid back atmosphere for our honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west virginia

S.C.U.B.A

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Great views nice staff.
Cons: Clean shower curtain.
Location: Great location not much near by but short drive to down town and very good food. The St. Croix Ultimate Blue water Adventure dive shop was awesome.
The room was large and clean. The view was incredible from our patio on the ocean side. The staff were very nice, but don't be in a hurry they are on island time " no worries". There was a coral reef that blocked us from swim water. Pool was ok but we were there to get PADI certified and that was done at our pool. The only complaint is the bar closes at 10 and the shower curtain was brown at the bottom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

The Palms is ON the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The Palm's major advantage is that it is ON the beach, not near but ON. Each room is steps away from beautiful Pelican Cove. The views are outstanding
Cons: With a tiny amount of effort, i.e. offering towels, getting beach chairs, offering drinks, they could really up their game.
Location: The Palms is located on the north side of the island. There is good snorkeling at the resort as well as scuba trips going out of Christensted.
We had a lovely time and the views and location are outstanding. We arrived at night, in the rain, which didn't provide a great first impression. Dinner wasn't available, although it wasn't late, the pub finally was able to provide "chicken fingers and fries" but the bar tender kept complaining he was "coming down with something". The nighttime front desk staff was unimpressive, not being concerned at all that the wedding party's "private pick up" didn't happen. The room, however, was very clean, just as pictured and steps from the utterly uncrowded beach. We stayed for a week, would definitely go back.