Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice enough...

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Wife and I visited for four days in February. Weather was great. Experience was nice. Truly, I would not write many negatives nor add many superlatives. Beach - right out your door and immediately proximate to the main building. Exceptional coral reefs and snorkeling. Highlight of our time there. Bar - nice staff and generous pours, interesting array of drinks. Dinners - specials each night, modest restaurant menu, always bar fare available Breakfast - fine assortment Rooms - clean, adequate but dated layout and furnishings, not all in great repair Staff - all very kind, helpful, ready to assist. Location - not really in a commercial area so a local cab (van) ride is required to get anywhere unless you rent a car. Limited dinner options if you are not mobile. I would recommend for a getaway. I would not recommend for a truly special event as it is not a truly wonderful facility anymore. Fit, finish, upkeep needs attention. The staff was uniformly wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and comfortable motel right on the beach

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The room, beach, snorkeling, pool, staff, location, quiet, and low-key inform feel.
Cons: General maintenance inside and out, the food, having a shuttle to town.
Location: Minutes from the main village, many other beaches, horseback riding, botanical garden, and a short boat ride to Buck Island for the best snorkeling.
The Palms at Pelican Cove is a moderately priced, convenient, quiet, small motel with forty rooms right on a palm-covered, safe beach in a beautiful cove, where you can swim and snorkel right from your room and drive within ten minutes to a quaint village (Christiansted) with good restaurants and shops. If you want a perfectly kept, high-end resort with gourmet food and spa services there are many other places on the Island where you can spend three times as much. You really need a car to get around this beautiful Island unless you really want to just rest at the beach and pool, read, and catch a cab to go to the village. Check just before you go to see if the beach free from seaweed so you can swim (it was when we went but people who have been there before told us of other times when it was not). If you have snorkeled before you will enjoy the ease of daily exploring the reef right off their beach. Almost all nights they have good live music at the pool. The rooms are nice but a few years since updated and daily room cleaning inconsistently left adequate towels, coffee etc. until we called. We needed several repairs to our room and they got them done within a couple days. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We stayed a week and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: All of the above as well as our room with its balcony and sea view.
Cons: All resorts on the beach need constant upkeep. This one as well, but it was obviously being maintained
Location: It was near Christenstad. We rented a car.
We are a couple in our 60s. The Palms is a laid-back, comfortable resort. It has a pool. Beach access, restauran and bar. We used them all. The service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Okay hotel right on the beach.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Low-key and laid back atmosphere.
Cons: Hotel is a little run-down. Pool and amenities are minimal.
Owner was on-site, friendly, and very knowledgeable. He spent a long time with us going over the highlights not to miss on the island. He even offered to take us out for a guided snorkel tour. Staff was very welcoming and accomodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by richardfrom nc

fast trip to vi

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fast trip but stay was nice room clean and comfortable and grounds was clean to the view was awesome the beach could have been larger it was a small beach but overall its was nice to visit the palms..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque

Wonderful experience!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The location, the owner, the staff, the bed, and the room. Basically everything.
Cons: We were not blown away by the food. I think the biggest disappointment was when we ordered whole lobsters and they showed up without the pincers.
Location: The location is really ideal. Beautiful palm trees right by the ocean. The owner was right about getting a car though. It really added to our trip.
My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon in October. The owner Chuck took really great care of us. He took us night snorkeling, which was one of the coolest things I've ever done. He also gave us a lot of great tips on spots to check out on the island. I was anxious about getting a car and driving on the left. He went so far as to let us borrow his van and drive it on the back roads over to the grocery store to get a feel for driving on the left. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Pat at the front desk. The bed in the room was very comfortable, and the air conditioning and ceiling fan worked well to keep the room cool. We had the ocean right outside our back door and we enjoyed sitting on the deck and relaxing. The freshwater pool was very pleasant. We enjoyed a couples massage, as well as a yoga class that both happened under the palm trees right next to the ocean. An added touch that we enjoyed was a complimentary half-pint of rum that was provided upon our arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the Caribbean Night on Monday. The beach, pool, bar, and restaurant were all very pleasant.
Location: Christiansted is nearby and easy to get to if you have a car.
Solid hotel in a great location. The staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burke, VA

Love this place!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The personal attention. Chuck, the owner gave us a private snorkeling lesson. The front desk staff were very helpful with any kind of arrangements.
Cons: We have no complaints!
Location: Snorkeling was right out your door. Everything else was a quick taxi ride away-Tan Tan tours, boat rides, other restaurants, etc.
The Palms at Pelican Cove was a perfect place for us to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary! The staff was friendly and attentive. They quickly learned our names and were very knowledgeable about the island and were always happy to make arrangements for a special outing. The grounds were beautiful. While we were there the many coconut trees were being pruned and we were able to enjoy coconut water right out of the coconut thanks to Norbert. Our rooftop suite was spacious and had an amazing view of the beach. If you are looking for a place with lots of the typical tourists trappings this is not the place for you! It was quiet-no loud guests or jet skis out on the water. It was less than a hundred feet from our room to a beautiful beach with amazing snorkeling! It was easy to get a quick taxi ride into town, though car rentals are easy and convenient. My husband and I are already planning a trip back for next year and the year after that! My guess is that a visit to The Palms at Pelican Cove will become a new family tradition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael martinfrom LA

5 stars

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
You need to stay at this hotel it's is the best place to stay
3 out of 5
by bettefrom arizona

needs improvement

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Food and view.
Cons: almost everything.
Location: windiest part of island, not much to do unless you want to shop on boardwalk and spend a fortune.
The hotel was just ok. Beach was very windy and sand fleas ate us alive. Water was very rough with a bad rip and unable to snorkel. Had to ask to get sheets changed and then it wasn't done. Food was good and bartenders especially Mathew were very good and enjoyable to talk to. Locals unfriendly and unable to go to town at night due to crime.