Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Got a better room than booked, almost an apartment. Smelled a bit weird. Clean bathroom. Cockroach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing........

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Facility was badly in need of repairs: bed lights didn't work; chair arm broken; TV remote didn't work Finishes were below expectation for this economy-level room: hole in bathroom wall; bathroom tile not fit to water closet
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Quite the dive

Posted Sep 15, 2014
I don't recommend staying in this motel. It's clean enough, but it's really quite the dive. It's worth it to spend $5-10 more in the surrounding options.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom wyoming

If Your Not Picky, it's OK

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: replace some of the furniture (stuffed chair with broken arm), add weather stripping to the door!
Location: location was easy enough to find
For the price and just for an overnight stay it was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Peterfrom Colorado Springs

I like old style motels

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Since i travel heavy I like motels that you can park right in front of the door to off load my items unlike larger hotels that you have to load on carts. I always travel in cheaper hotels when I stay one night on a road trip giving me more monies to eat out. Why pay 3 times more when you only need a bed for 8 hour sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Jordan, UT

Save Your Trip - Drive on By!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The location. Close to the freeway, quiet, close to restaurants and services.
Cons: Everything. Customer service, cleanliness, they need to provide a continental breakfast when they include it in the price.
Location: Right in the heart of St. George. Perfect location.
It is very common for us to stay in the older motels. We're in the rooms such a short time that as long as they are clean, safe and comfortable, we're usually OK with it, and it saves us money. But the Sand Motel in St. George was a mess. We arrived at around 9:30 p.m. The hotel clerk was in the back (probably where they live). We stood in the front lobby (an area the size of a large bathroom), and waited. The little lobby is packed with crap - supplies, storage, etc. Very dark and dingy, and it stinks. When he came out, he rushed us through the check-in process - it was obvious that we had interrupted him from something. We got to our room, and the key didn't work, so we had to go back and repeat the process to get our keys. The room was very dark and dingy, and smelled very dirty and stale. Just a little effort on the owner's part could fix much of this - fix the curtains, clean the carpets, clean around the edges of the carpeting and the tile in the bathroom area. The closet was really scary - we didn't put our clothes in there. In fact, we didn't unpack at all. It's common practice to pull the bedspread off the bed - you're never safe using the bedspread. But once we did that, there was no blanket - only a sheet. There was no clock, and no phone, so you couldn't set an alarm or ask for wake-up service. When the dim light was turned off, it was absolutely pitch black. They promised a continental breakfast. When we left at 7:30, the lobby was still locked up tight and dark.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

It couldn't get much worse

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I knew that this location wasn't going to be great. When I got there at midnight I arrived there were two women fighting in the parking lot. Also there were two guys sitting in there truck watching the parking lot for hours. The rooms were not awesome, but the beds were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AMRfrom Tempe, AZ

It's a cheap, decent motel

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall the motel was decent, not great but for the price I would likely stay again if I ever visit St. George again. The man at the counter was polite, though the reservation was missing, he was happy to take down the information from the email confirmation on my phone and gave us a room key with no issues. Did not try the breakfast (I think they now jointly do it with the hotel next door, at least that is what it sounded like he said). The only issue is the parking, there is plenty, it's just awkward and cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience for the low price

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Given the reviews I'd read before arriving, I was preparing for a pretty low-quality motel experience- but I was pleasantly surprised! I loved the neon sign out front, the room was decently clean and had everything we needed. My only complaint would be that there was no padlock or extra chain lock besides turning the automatic lock. There were people just sitting in their cars in the parking lot, and as a young female I would have felt a bit uncomfortable staying in a room by myself, but for our small group it was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jerald DeGrawfrom West Jordan

Very convenient - Very satisfied

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good price, and We especially liked the remodel ( tile, seat in the shower, etc.). Everything was just fine, with the one exception of the outlet near the sink didn't work.