Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Jordan, UT

Save Your Trip - Drive on By!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The location. Close to the freeway, quiet, close to restaurants and services.
Cons: Everything. Customer service, cleanliness, they need to provide a continental breakfast when they include it in the price.
Location: Right in the heart of St. George. Perfect location.
It is very common for us to stay in the older motels. We're in the rooms such a short time that as long as they are clean, safe and comfortable, we're usually OK with it, and it saves us money. But the Sand Motel in St. George was a mess. We arrived at around 9:30 p.m. The hotel clerk was in the back (probably where they live). We stood in the front lobby (an area the size of a large bathroom), and waited. The little lobby is packed with crap - supplies, storage, etc. Very dark and dingy, and it stinks. When he came out, he rushed us through the check-in process - it was obvious that we had interrupted him from something. We got to our room, and the key didn't work, so we had to go back and repeat the process to get our keys. The room was very dark and dingy, and smelled very dirty and stale. Just a little effort on the owner's part could fix much of this - fix the curtains, clean the carpets, clean around the edges of the carpeting and the tile in the bathroom area. The closet was really scary - we didn't put our clothes in there. In fact, we didn't unpack at all. It's common practice to pull the bedspread off the bed - you're never safe using the bedspread. But once we did that, there was no blanket - only a sheet. There was no clock, and no phone, so you couldn't set an alarm or ask for wake-up service. When the dim light was turned off, it was absolutely pitch black. They promised a continental breakfast. When we left at 7:30, the lobby was still locked up tight and dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience for the low price

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Given the reviews I'd read before arriving, I was preparing for a pretty low-quality motel experience- but I was pleasantly surprised! I loved the neon sign out front, the room was decently clean and had everything we needed. My only complaint would be that there was no padlock or extra chain lock besides turning the automatic lock. There were people just sitting in their cars in the parking lot, and as a young female I would have felt a bit uncomfortable staying in a room by myself, but for our small group it was perfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Would never stay there agen it was a bad stay the shower did not work
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great deal for the price. Room was large and clean. I would recommend it if you are looking for a good price and not something fancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Good for us

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location. Good wifi. Good price.
Cons: Proper free breakfast
Location: Everything! Good jumping off point for all the great national parks.
Perfectly fine for our trip. They had guest laundry outside so we could wash our own clothes. Swimming pool feels like you're swimming way out in the middle of the intersection, but still a must in st. George 107 degree heat. Rooms we're clean. I did not see any free breakfast though she said there was. ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, Ca

Great Price

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Price and pool
Cons: Tile floors should be checked for sticky spots
Location: Zions is within 40 miles
We just needed a bed for the night. The room met our needs well for a great price. It was also nice to have access to two different pools. The floor was tiles not carpet and did have a couple of gooey spots. The staff at the office check in was are congenial, but there was no one in the office at 7 am to check out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was OK for the price

Posted Jul 16, 2014
It was about what you would expect in this price range. It is fairly close to lots of restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The only upside was that they DID have a very nice complimentary breakfast that consisted of fresh waffles, toast, cereal & pretty decent coffee.
Location: Children's museum was AMAZING, The Temple, Brigham Young House, Various historic sites, Dixie College, Dinosaur Museum.
Took 4 trips to the front desk to get a key that worked. The woman there is absolutely awful and completely RUDE! It is very hot in St George so we turned the air down and ventured out to the childrens museum for a few hours. We get back for a nap and it was HOT!! Go to the front desk and a very polite young man came in and tinkered with the a/c unit. Kind of cooled down. Took an hour nap and all of us including my 2 y/o son woke up drenched in sweat. Another trip to the front desk and an older man came in looked at and said "its hot outside so a/c isnt supposed to work". My finace stated well we are from Las Vegas we are no strangers to heat and our a/c unit works at home. Can you please just switch our room? The gentleman says oh well youre fine youre used to heat. Brought a DINKY fan that was falling apart and said here this will do. We ended up going to Target and buying a fan. The TV didnt work. Wouldnt even turn on which honestly wasnt a big deal to us as we arent big tv watchers and I brought my laptop for our son to watch something. Their advertised heated indoor pool was SKETCHY! No lights, not heated and not really indoors. The door did not close all of the way which we pointed out to the staff and they said oh well thats every room. A drunk man was harassing people in the parking lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
It was run down and had old dirty mattress piled out side! Lots of shady ppl around hanging out!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Larger room than I expected

Posted Jun 26, 2014
This is a very affordable hotel with larger grams and I expected. Even though it's not one of the top hotels in the city, it was clean and well worth the price if all you're looking for is an overnight stay. The bed was large, the TV was large with many cable channels, there was a desk and table, a sofa and a full kitchen with a large regular sized fridge. The air conditioning works perfectly fine and also the bathroom level: can't see it was clean and up to standard. Not the nicest looking hotel, but I had a great nights sleep after a three day road trip.