Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster UK

Excellent Town Centre Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
This hotel has previously been a Hilton Hotel and is about to be taken over by Holiday Inn. The rooms are very spacious with good air-con, free WIFI and have been recently refurbished to a high standard. The gym is currently undergoing refurbishment and no doubt the reception area will follow. Drinks at the bar are not expensive, £3-20 for a pint of lager. The hotel car parking is free and the town centre is minutes away by foot. I was staying there on business, and the hotels position and comfort was excellent. I would stay again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Chalon Court Hotel. Give this one a miss!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Bedroom
Cons: Everything apart from the bedroom!
Location: Situated in the centre of St. Helens shopping centre. Nothing to do outside of hotel unless you like shopping.
Broken entrance doors,very dated tired decor, scratched wood paneling, litter on foyer floor, on stairwells, dirty dishes from the night before outside bedrooms. Stained carpets throughout corridors and stairwells. Staff tried to give us 'bedroom only' and we had booked b&b. Receptionist went away to check even though I had it on my booking confirmation slip! Bedroom was better than expected, clean and modern. On return after our night out we tried to get a drink in the bar @ 11pm but there was no bar staff to be seen! Ended up going to bed. Breakfast next morning: Not one 'Good Morning' from any member of staff, breakfast room was filthy, no windows, nails in walls where perhaps a picture should be, tinned fruit, cold serve yourself 'English breakfast' which I tied then decided not to chance, odd pieces of crockery on the tables, tea and coffee not served by staff but help yourself out of a flask! Staff looked untidy, long hair not tied back on waiter. We told the receptionist that the place was a dump, to which she did apologise but tended to agree. She explained that the hotel is slowly being revamped. Perhaps they would be better shutting it down to revamp. How this hotel has ever been given a 4 rating is beyond us, I have been in better 3 rating hotels. Please if you are thinking of booking here, be advised and give it a miss!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lesley from Kent

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room air conditioning was not working but we were offered an alternate room although we did not take up the offer as it was only a short stay. Staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel is under going refurbishment but this did not detract from the service or cleanliness. The hotel is a little too far out of the city centre and it did cost us £45 each way for the taxi to our sons graduation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrow in Furness

Close to town centre and motorway links

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The room and staff
Cons: The foyer seems a bit shabby
Location: Shops nearby
Stayed here with my daughter as we had a family party to attend, the room was great it had everything that we needed, the staff were lovely, would definitely stay again in the future really good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin from London

A mixed hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms have been recently upgraded and are well done and a good size. They come with everything you would expect, safe, free wifi etc. The common parts of the hotel leave a bit to be desired. A refresh of the décor and some maintenance are required to bring it back up to an excellent standard. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, especially a wonderful lady in the bar from Canada. the hotel is on the link road with a free car park so easy to get about. It is 10 minutes walk from the main station.
3 out of 5
by Regula from Basel

Hotel seems to be closed soon.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Hotel seems to get closed soon. Elevator since six months out of order. Only a few guests.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Advertised as to have a pool......but failed to inform that they have gone into administration so no pool/gym/sauna/steam room available. The restaurant was also getting refurbished, so I had to go and search for a different restaurant in town (10min walk). No TV remote in my room, had to as reception twice to get one brought up.