Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet haven

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Condos right on the ocean with beautiful tropical landscaping, and an easy walk to town for food and music. Couldn't be better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland

Great hotel with good views and easy town-access

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location and size of room
Cons: Room maintenance
Location: Very close to Cruz Bay. Can also swim in pool or bay.
Had a great experience with this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Holland, MI

Excellent alternative to hotels or all-inclusives

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Great location, well kept, spacious rooms, beautiful grounds, excellent snorkeling, choice of either ocean or harbor view, no small children.
Location: Short walk down the hill to Cruz Bay for shopping and dining, or ferry over to Charlotte Amalie for a day. Taxi to any beach.
We love staying at Gallows Point. The condos are beautiful, spacious, and perfectly located just a short walk up from Cruz Bay. After staying in all-inclusive Caneel Bay a couple of times, we found that we prefer the greater independence of staying at Gallows. You can go to Dolphin or Starfish market, stock up the fridge for breakfast and lunch, then choose a different place for dinner each night from among the many great dining choices in Cruz Bay. Getting there is convenient since you can fly major airlines into St. Thomas, and Gallows will send their driver to meet you at the ferry from either Red Hook or Charlotte Amalie. Hotel grounds are beautiful, filled with gorgeous plantings, birds and iguana. Although the shoreline is rocky, there is a small sandy area with hammocks, and several platforms for sunning around the pool and down the hill to the ocean. Snorkeling around the resort is excellent. After numerous stays at Gallows Point we have found the quality of accommodation and service to be consistently excellent. We look forward to our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Gallows Point is the best

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Everything
Gallows Point is hands down one of the nicest places I ever stayed. There is nothing bad to say about the place--beautiful grounds, top accommodation, the best, friendliest staff. Can't go wrong here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great place to relax!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The Gallows Point Resort is a lovely place to visit! It's centrally located to several restaurants and bars. Our condo had a beautiful ocean view. The surroundings were quiet. I would highly recommend staying at Gallows Point in St. John if you desire a relaxing place to get away from it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: accomodations very beautiful
Cons: The dining room- dinner was disappointing.Music from town until very late at night
Location: not much,few restaurants and bars
only problem one hast take a taxi to go to any beach and also often to go to town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Great hotel, amenities and unbeatable location

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We stayed on cruz bay side in an upstairs unit. View was spectacular and unit itself was well appointed, super comfy bed, newly renovated kitchen and bath. Grounds are gorgeous and a very short walk puts you in cruz bay. On site convenience/gift shop with concierge services to book excursions. Will stay here again next time for sure. Restaurant on site is good but only open for dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Great spot to go for a quiet getaway.

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros : 1.) Concierge guide, Mano, is one of the most professional and friendly hosts I've ever met. Incredibly helpful and happy. 2.) Unbeatable views of sunset. 3.) Josh, the resort restaurant bartender - could easily compete with some of the best bartenders in the world. Cons : 1.) None.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Overland Park, KS

Outdated & Overpriced

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The view of the sunsets were definitely beautiful!
Cons: Temperature in unit 5D, waterproof skylights, maintenance on units, furniture and decor, disclose fees from scheduling excursions through gift shops!
Location: Cruz Bay is within a couple minute walk down the hill with everything you will need for your stay! No need for a rental car.
This was our first trip to St. John, deciding to stay at Gallows Point after researching and reading reviews. We were under the assumption that it was one of the best places on the island. We booked an “Upper Ocean” for $545 per night. Upon checking into Unit 5D we were disappointed. The place was outdated with low budget furniture and décor compared to what we had viewed on the Gallows Point website. We walked into 5D to find the air conditioner “off” and the temperature at 87 degrees. For $545 per night I don’t think it’s too much to ask to have the air conditioner “on” prior to our arrival. We quickly discovered that if the blow dryer was used in the upper bathroom, the circuit trips. My husband put on his mechanic cap and had to reset the breaker multiple times. During a rainstorm, the skylight above our bed began leaking on my husband’s chest and head. Unbelievable! We moved the bed and contacted the office in the morning. The staff offered to move us but we declined since we were at the mid-point of our trip and didn’t feel like packing and unpacking again. We made the most of it each night giggling while moving our bed in anticipation of nightly storms. The management did comp a dinner in the restaurant to make up for it. The final straw was when the hot water heater broke. The maintenance man did a nice job of fixing it, but obviously took away from our romantic 1st anniversary vacation we were seeking. To say we're disappointed would be an understatement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location! Awesome staff!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The convenient location, the friendliness of the staff, the onsite pool and hot tub with their panoramic view, the onsite mini-store, the hammocks.
Cons: Housekeeping is inconsistent. When we finally had housekeeping, as we don't require it daily, didn't replenish coffee supplies or clean dining table.
Location: Right on Gallows Point that overlooks the harbor and the ferries coming in and out. Downtown is a short 5 minute walk.
Units are individually owned and not energy efficient regarding air conditioning. Very cold in the bedroom due to the lack of energy efficient windows/doors in living area, so raise the temp on thermostat before going to bed to compensate and make it comfortable for sleeping. The meet and greet at the dock was wonderful! Great location; walk to downtown, however very, very noisy with music from downtown at night, especially if you stay in a unit closer to the downtown location.